Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Terriffic read
I had seen the movie several times and enjoyed it enough to read the book. The book is better. Hard to believe. The main character has charm and yet is cynical and sarcastic. My favorite type of character. He's Paul Brenner and a wonderful character to get to know. The General's daughter is killed on post and the story resolves around her hidden life and the desire...
Published on April 13 2004 by T. C Gerlach

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lust and vengeance at Fort Hadley
The always entertaining DeMille takes us to a fictional army base called Fort Hadley. We meet up Paul Brenner (who appears in a couple of other books) and of course, he gets assigned to the murder of Ann Campbell - the General's Daughter.
Was it a rape and murder? A tryst that got out of hand? Something a little more serious? Or was General's recruiting poster...
Published on July 6 2003 by A Customer


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Terriffic read, April 13 2004
By 
T. C Gerlach "pootiboo" (Altoona, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had seen the movie several times and enjoyed it enough to read the book. The book is better. Hard to believe. The main character has charm and yet is cynical and sarcastic. My favorite type of character. He's Paul Brenner and a wonderful character to get to know. The General's daughter is killed on post and the story resolves around her hidden life and the desire to find her killer. All the while dealing with Army regulations and rules. This book is full of mystery and lies. Amazing to see how they solve it. A definite five star recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nelson DeMille is great!, April 12 2004
I'm a non-fiction writer (author of "Love Is Not A Game") but I enjoy a good mystery. Every Nelson DeMille book I've read has been great. I look for his name when I go to the bookstore. He is insightful, funny, and not afraid of high sexual fantasy. I read "The General's Daughter" recently on a long plane flight, and it made the time go quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put the book down.....,, Sept. 11 2007
By 
Melanie (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
I am so glad that I read this book before I saw the movie, as it was so much better. The story is about the body of a girl who is found bound and naked on the firing range of an army base. To make matters worse she is the daughter of The General. The case is passed on to Paul Brenner and Cynthia Sunhill who have to try and solve it without going outside of the armies rules and regulations. This becomes quite difficult when they stumble across corruption and the daughters secret life. The book moves at a fast pace after the initial character building and kept me hanging on every word. Great mystery Novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read. Suspenseful and Fast Moving!, Oct. 6 2003
By 
J. Lockie "Teacher Jay" (San Miguel de Allende Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story is about a general's daughter found dead on the practice range of an Army Base. The intrigue and behind-the-scenes capers going on at this base are incredible. Investigator Paul Brenner (Up Country) opens up a hornet's nest with his intelligent snooping and sarcastic humor.
The action is continuous as always and this is another
'can't put it down book'. Again DeMille's characters leap out at you from the printed page. The piecing together of what REALLY happened is a work of art. The mixture of power, intrigue, back-stabbing etc. make this a great story. The sexual detail is a bit much in spots, but DeMille blends this in fairly well. Any negatives about this book are greatly outweighed by the overall quality of this book. The writing is superb and as usual DeMille shows that he is a great story-teller.
I wish Nelson Demille could write as fast as I can read.
He is among the FEW authors whose books I keep to read
again later.
My second read will be right before I watch the movie.
Enjoy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A loveless General., Nov. 12 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mystery at it's finest,love DeMille's sense of humour and his quips.A great read for having an understanding of sexual depravity I think. A General that put his title before his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING IS AS IT SEEMS..., June 28 2009
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
As usual, the author provides the reader with a good yarn and snappy dialogue. This is a suspenseful mystery by a master storyteller. It is no surprise that is was made into a blockbuster film starring John Travolta in the role of Criminal Investigation Division Warrant Officer Paul Brenner, a member of the Army's elite investigative unit. Having seen the movies first, the book is as good as the movie, which was a pretty good film.

Brenner is assigned to investigate a politically sensitive case, the bizarre rape-murder of Captain Ann Campbell, a graduate of West Point, the army's poster girl, and the daughter of a legendary and highly regarded general. Brenner's assigned partner on this case turns out to be none other than his former lover, rape specialist Cynthia Sunhill. As they begin their investigation, information that does not jive with the image of the deceased keeps popping up. Moreover, they run into some stonewalling that does not sit well with Brenner. Clearly, something is wrong with the facts as originally presented. Intrigue and deception seem to be everywhere.

Brenner, however, is determined to solve the case before it is taken away from him by the FBI. He smells something fishy and he doesn't much like it. Moreover, he senses that there is something corrupt that permeates the surrounding facade of honor on that Army base, based upon what has come to light about the apparent double life Ann Campbell led. Brenner is convinced that this corruption is at the heart of Ann Campbell's murder.

Though not one of my favorite Demille books, it is still an enjoyable read. The main protagonist, Paul Brenner, is a well-fleshed character and likable. The mystery, however, seems a little forced, and the tawdriness of the life led by the deceased is depressing. Notwithstanding this, it is still a pretty good read from a master storyteller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put the book down...., March 1 2007
By 
Melanie (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
I am so glad that I read this book before I saw the movie, as it was so much better. The story is about the body of a girl who is found bound and naked on the firing range of an army base. To make matters worse she is the daughter of The General. The case is passed on to Paul Brenner and Cynthia Sunhill who have to try and solve it without going outside of the armies rules and regulations. This becomes quite difficult when they stumble across corruption and the daughters secret life. The book moves at a fast pace after the initial character building and kept me hanging on every word. Great mystery Novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Starts slow but builds nicely, Feb. 11 2004
By A Customer
The first Demille book I read was "The Charm School," which I loved. "The General's Daughter" is a terrific whodunit, though I must admit it dragged a bit in the beginning. Also, the arrogance and glibness of Demille's characters can be tiresome at times, but I like the fast pacing that emerges after the first few chapters. It's a good, fun, titillating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murder Mystery with a Dash of Psy-Ops, Jan. 10 2004
By 
Dr. Rodney Myers (Tulsa, Oklahoma USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The psychological warfare equivalent of a thermonuclear weapon has detonated and Fort Handley, Georgia is at ground zero. Captain Ann Campbell, the daughter of the fort's commanding general, is the first causualty. It is up to warrant officer Paul Brenner, a smartass, wisecracking Army criminal investigator to stop "Operation Trojan Horse" before the body count mushrooms. Nelson Demille delivers a furiosly fast, intellectually stimulating and emotionally revving package that will keep readers glued to its pages into the wee hours of the morning. It is a psy-ops tour-de-force
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great who done it, Oct. 20 2003
By 
William D. Tompkins (New York, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
a great who done it
demille writes with a style that keeps you interested in the plot and a flow that makes the reading faced paced
a great book for the beach or on the plane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb00a6780)

This product

The General's Daughter
The General's Daughter by Nelson Demille (Audio Cassette - May 28 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews