Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars "Going Deep"
Thunder In the Deep by Joe Buff is a fasinating fast pased undersea military techno thriller.The is the second installment of the WWIII battle started by the new axis powers of South Africa and Germany. In this installment France has fallen,the British are starving and the world's hopes are pinned on U.S.military. The charecters are vividly portrayed and the plot...
Published on Aug. 2 2003 by James Ross

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Grim,puerile fantasy
What a pity that so talented a writer reaches so deep into his imagination and comes up with only crumbs of credible narrative. Technologically and militarily,it's typical,excellent Joe Buff,but the scenario is in every sense unbelievable and, thus, the reader tends to become increasingly cynical as the story develops.6 million casualties in a month in this war, with huge...
Published on July 7 2003 by lrrosen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars "Going Deep", Aug. 2 2003
By 
James Ross (Tobyhanna Penn.) - See all my reviews
Thunder In the Deep by Joe Buff is a fasinating fast pased undersea military techno thriller.The is the second installment of the WWIII battle started by the new axis powers of South Africa and Germany. In this installment France has fallen,the British are starving and the world's hopes are pinned on U.S.military. The charecters are vividly portrayed and the plot brilliantly carried out.The action level is high and the weapons high tech and very interesting.This novel makes one realize war is no joke. It also makes me glad this one is only within the pages of this novel.Kudos once again to Joe Buff who keeps me wating for each new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Grim,puerile fantasy, July 7 2003
What a pity that so talented a writer reaches so deep into his imagination and comes up with only crumbs of credible narrative. Technologically and militarily,it's typical,excellent Joe Buff,but the scenario is in every sense unbelievable and, thus, the reader tends to become increasingly cynical as the story develops.6 million casualties in a month in this war, with huge physical damage to all combatant countries and our heroes are reacting and responding to it all as if it were just another PacFleet exercise. Give us a break,Joe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story!, April 26 2003
By 
Neme Kizer (Brooklyn, New York, USA) - See all my reviews
This writer is without doubt one of my favorite writers! I enjoy all of his great stories and I know you will too! This is one book you won't want to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the Fun -- but captains leading raids??, Nov. 8 2002
'Thunder In The Deep' is Joe Buff's 2nd novel of undersea submarine warfare after 'Deep Sound Channel' -- which was superb, by the way. I so much enjoyed his first book that I just could NOT wait for the sequel -- but lucky for me, I hadn't discovered Buff until just before 'Thunder' was released, so my wait wasn't long.
Captain Jeffrey Fuller, Now in charge of the Challenger, the United States most sophisticated undersea weapon, we get a more detailed 'insiders view' of what life in a sub is like. Although I MUST admit that the plausibility of sending the Captain out on a raid is far from acceptable fiction -- it might work for Jim Kirk in the science fiction world of Star Trek, but a REAL Navy sub captain? Sorry, but I'm not gonna swallow that one. Now this may seem overly critical of Mr. Buff, but hear me out on this: his novels have the ring of authenticity to them SO MUCH that when I come across something SO off the beaten path of reality (yes, even in a fictional novel), well I can't help but scream FOUL. However, all that aside, this is simply put a fantastic adventure yarn. If you were hooked on submarine warfare because of Tom Clancy or Michael DiMercurio, give in and pick up 'Deep Sound Channel' and 'Thunder In The Deep' today. Exceptional thrills and chills in a near-future war with a brand new threat provided by Germany and South Africa. I echo another reviewers worry about the trivial love story jammed in between a classic war story -- it didn't work for the movie 'Pearl Harbor' and it doesn't work too well here, either. But again, I enjoyed the overall novel SO much that I was able to overlook these small problems in favor of the all around 'thriller factor' that the book gave me. Can't wait to read 'Crush Depth'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars good yarn with an unlikely premise, Nov. 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Thunder in the Deep: A Novel of Undersea Nuclear War (Hardcover)
This book is fast-paced action stuff, quite suitable for a Hollywood movie or for feeding the fantasies of would-be soldiers of fortune. But it's extremely improbable that a Navy SEAL would be an effective nuc-boat skipper. Even Navy fighter pilots selected for a path to commanding a nuclear powered aircraft carrier find mastering the intense math, chemistry and physics necessary to understand nuclear propulsion to be a nearly impossible task. God help the ground-pounder/swimmer who tries to do the same in the nuclear submarine force. Nuc boat skippers have to understand everything about the boat and its power plant, 'way down into the nitty, gritty, quantum-mechanical detail, thermo-goddammics and all, so they know what risks they can take with the boat and what risks it won't survive. It isn't enough just to know what test depth is, believe me. There are lots and lots of other subtle mistakes that will also let gobs of water into the people tank and keep the ship from making it through a mission. And--believe it or not--the Navy tends to select nuc boat skippers chiefly for their ability to accomplish the mission without loss and bring that extremely expensive chunk of cold iron (or titanium) home in one piece, so it can be used again for another mission, even in wartime. Which is why there are SEAL Team Leaders and there are nuc-boat captains, and the Nav isn't about to let the the same individuals try to be both. Pure pragmatism.
Being a SEAL and being a nuc boat skipper demand two very different--and nearly incompatible--skill sets. Trying to mix them in the same character undermines this book's credibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Reads Like an Arcade Game!, Oct. 3 2002
By 
007Magnum (Orlando, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thunder in the Deep: A Novel of Undersea Nuclear War (Hardcover)
This was my first (and last) Joe Buff read. Picture yourself playing a submarine "shoot 'em up" arcade game. Now put that game into print and this is the final product. Mildly entertaining.....if you played this on an Xbox or PC. Virtually no submarine warfare tactics and lets not forget that we all KNOW the US Navy makes it a habit of dispatching sub captains to go ashore in Seal raids. What a farce. Skip the read and find yourself a good game if this is your style. Don't buy the book if you think you are getting a good novel on sub warfare and naval tactics! The story line was thin as well. Purely Duke Nukem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting and frightening, Sept. 14 2002
By 
david e. meadows (Frederick, MD United States) - See all my reviews
In the world of the 21st Century where warfare can erupt anywhere and in many different forms, Joe Buff brings a frightening scenario of undersea nuclear warfare to the reader. The book captures you on the first page and rivets you to your seat as the fast-paced story keeps a never-ending river of excitement roaring across the pages. Great characters, outstanding plot, an exciting story of a future we hope never occurs. But, then we never expected 9/11.
CAPT David E. Meadows, USN...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hate to read, but I had the time, happy I did., Aug. 22 2002
By 
Vincent M Toney (Littleton, Co USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thunder in the Deep: A Novel of Undersea Nuclear War (Hardcover)
I was at a supermarket looking for a book to eat up some extra hours before I fell asleep. Im not a big one to read war books. I love war movies, but have never been able to finish any war book... until this one. Though the book was incredible I have one complaint: It almost got me into trouble. How? I was so into the book that while I was up working for my neighbors at their ranch (why I had time to kill) I kept disappearing to read another chapter, and another chapter. The book just kept goin, the excitement was always there. Around page 200 I thought the book was gonna wind down, but Joe was able to keep the excitement nonstop for 200 more pages. I was very pleased with this book. Enough so, that Im gonna buy the other 2 right now.
Oh yea, review...
Read it, you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Credible Thriller of a future Undersea War, May 7 2002
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thunder in the Deep: A Novel of Undersea Nuclear War (Hardcover)
Joe Buff is a worthy successor to the young Tom Clancy in his second novel forecasting an undersea war between a resurgent militaristic Germany and the United States. Much to his credit, the characters are credible, and in many instances, quite likeable, including those serving in the Imperial German navy. I was greatly impressed with Buff's knowledge of underwater terrain, as well as weapons and sea battles. This is a fast-paced, well written page turner that nearly kept me up an entire night to finish reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Secret Weapons of the Kriegsmarine, March 31 2002
This review is from: Thunder in the Deep: A Novel of Undersea Nuclear War (Hardcover)
"Thunder in the Deep" is the sequel to "Deep Sound Channel", the first of a series about nuclear submarine warfare in the near future.. Both books follow the adventures (and sometime misadventures) of Jeff Fuller, the commander of the next-generation submarine "Challenger". Composed of a new age ceramic hull (something like the chobham armor they use on tanks), blessed with high tech sensors that can detect submarines because they are quieter than the surrounding waters, and armed with nuclear torpedoes, Challenger fights an undersea war against incredible odds. Only, the enemies aren't Russians, but a German-dominated Axis that seems to borrow the worst traits of the Nazis and the Kaiser eras, and seems to posess the technical know-how to hold the future. United with South Africa (where the war began in "Channel") and ruled by Kaiser Wilhelm IV, the new German empire dispatches fleets of U-boats into the Atlantic to cut off England. Now possessing nukes, and not afraid to use them, the 21st century Kriegsmarine turns whole convoys into irradiated dust on the sea. While most of the new U-boats are either merely potent but otherwise disposable (much like the ones in WWII - they all but insure death for their prey and crew alike) or ships stolen from fallen European nations (mostly France) "Deutchland" possesses the weapons, sensors, ceramic hull and reserve of the Challenger, and is commanded by the thoroughly ambitious, brilliant and evil Eberhard. Fuller, not entirely comfortable with his ship, finds himself tasked with one seemingly impossible mission after another. A rescue mission for a crippled sub turns into a covert deep-strike mission on a Baltic coast research facility. Between Fuller and his objectives are fleets of U-boats unleashing swarms of nuclear-tipped torpedoes. (A complex set of ROE limits use of nukes to warfare out in the open ocean, never dealing with the importance of the seas in the terrestrial food-chain.)
I wasn't set to like this book, but enjoyed it anyway. Though there's something missing - the new German regime doesn't seem as fleshed as the one in "Fatherland"; what's going in other theaters of war? - the action is non-stop and the plot turns rise above the technobabble and not-quite deep characters. This isn't the clean and sterile submarine combat of other books. A lot of the book reads like a movie, but it's a movie you'd probably want to see , offering everything from sub-warfare to hand-to-hand combat once the heroes make it to that hidden weapons lab. While the new type of submarine warfare - with its high-tech hulls and nuclear weapons - may not be realistic, the author crafts a complex science with all of its limits making it quite convincing without slowing down the plot. Also, for those who don't consider submarine technothrillers there chosen form of action, "Thunder" has our heroes embarking on all sorts of impossible missions. (Sure, some of it seems to read like an elaborate video game, but most books compare poorly to games; "Thunder" does not). I kept waiting for this book to lose me, but it never did. In short, "Thunder" is a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9aa82f4)

This product

Thunder in the Deep: A Novel of Undersea Nuclear War
Thunder in the Deep: A Novel of Undersea Nuclear War by Joe Buff (Hardcover - July 31 2001)
CDN$ 35.95 CDN$ 28.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews