Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book
Mindsight is another brilliant book from Daniel Siegel. I have learned so much from his work on the integration of the lessons from the new brain science and ancient mindfulness techniques. For anyone who wants a deep appreciation of the way in which human brain works best when it is in an integrated, mindful state, this is the book for you.
Published on April 4 2010 by Mark Simkin

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mindsight
it took a long time to get this book. it as in decent condition. ould not order again if I wanted it within a certain period of time.
Published on Dec 26 2011 by Amy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, April 4 2010
By 
Mark Simkin (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindsight: The New Science of Personal Transformation (Hardcover)
Mindsight is another brilliant book from Daniel Siegel. I have learned so much from his work on the integration of the lessons from the new brain science and ancient mindfulness techniques. For anyone who wants a deep appreciation of the way in which human brain works best when it is in an integrated, mindful state, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, integrative, and accessible, Oct. 1 2011
By 
B. Keith (Kingston, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dr. Siegel accomplishes quite a feat here; integration of principles of neuroscience, interpersonal psychology/therapy, and Eastern mindfulness mostly through engaging clinical cases. While not perfect, it is eons beyond the typical prescriptive "self-help" genre.

Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How and why the mind uses the brain to create itself in order "to promote physical, psychological, and interpersonal well-being", Oct. 5 2012
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
In Shakespeare's play, Hamlet, Polonius offers this advice to his son Laertes before his departure for college:

"This above all: to thine own self be true,
And it must follow, as the night the day,

Thou canst not then be false to any man."

Urging the young man to be true to himself is sound advice but presupposes that Laertes knows who he is. For most of us, self-knowledge is immensely difficult to obtain and even more difficult to accept. However, Socrates insists that the unexamined life is not worth living. All this is relevant to Daniel Siegel's latest book, Mindsight, in which he discusses the core principles and potential significance of "the new science of personal transformation," a process during which the brain creates itself or increases its capabilities "to promote physical, psychological, and interpersonal well-being."

As Daniel Goleman correctly observes in an uncommonly enlightening Foreword, "Daniel Siegel's theory of mindsight -- the brain's capacity for both insight and empathy...makes sense for us out of the cluttered confusions of our sometimes maddening and messy emotions...Self-awareness and empathy are (along with self-mastery and social skills) domains of human ability essential for success in life...Of these four skills, self-awareness lays the foundation for the rest."

There are several concepts or themes central to Siegel's narrative. For example, "The Triangle of Well-Being" reveals three aspects of our lives (i.e. relationships, mind, and brain) that "form the three mutual influencing points of the Triangle of Well-Bring." Mindsight enables us to become aware of, indeed monitor and modify "the flow of energy and information within the Triangle of Well-Being." Two others are "A Window of Tolerance" (see Pages 137-139 and 269-270) and "The Wheel of Awareness" (91-93 and 95-96). Siegel explains why Goleman is dead-on: "self-awareness lays the foundation for the rest." That is not to suggest, however, that one's self-awareness must be total before the expanded and enlightened mindsight can be applied. There are several reasons why I think this is so. Here are the two I think are most important: first, all human beings change (for better or worse) as does the potential self-knowledge to be obtained; the process of self-examination to which Socrates refers is endless until death. My second reason is that, over time, during our personal transformation, others will interact with us differently as will we with them and adjustments must be made, thereby increasing the number and quality of opportunities for gaining new, valuable insights about ourselves, of course, but also about human nature.

These are among the dozens of passages that caught my eye:

o "Hand Model of the Brain" (Pages 14-22)
o "The Mechanism of Mindlessness" (26-30)
o "What Fires Together, Wires Together" (40-43)
o "A healthy Mind: Complexity and Self-Organization (68-69)
o "A Mindful Approach to Changing the Mind" (83-84)
o "Awareness Training and Stabilizing the Mind" (93-98)
o "Building Inner Resources" (135-137)
o "Patterns of Attachment" (167-171)
o "An Unresolved and Disorganized Mind" (182-188)
o "Top-Down and Bottom-Up" (200-203)
o "Making Sense of the Past to Free the Present" (217-220)

Then in the Appendix, I especially appreciate the provision of "a dozen basic concepts and related terms and ideas that form a foundation for our approach of mindsight, integration, and well-being" (267-270) followed by extensively annotated Notes (271-300). When reviewing key points later, I would begin with these two sections.

No brief commentary such as mind can possibly do full justice to the scope and depth of material that Siegel provides in this volume. I conclude with three points that are of special importance to me and will be, perhaps, to many others who read this brilliant book. First, our mind is what the brain does and the brain (viewed as a muscle) can be expanded and strengthened, with that process limited only by the nature and extent of our commitment to it. Second, the material Siegel provides has compelling and substantial importance to improving child development within and beyond their schools. Finally, I agree with Daniel Siegel that mindsight can allow us to "see the internal workings of our own minds," to be sure, but it can also help us to increase our understanding and appreciation others and -- through meaningful interaction with them -- increase their understanding and appreciation of us. That is indeed a compelling vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, May 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I borrowed this book from the library, then bought 2 copies from Amazon, 1 to keep, 1 to give away. It's an excellent book, I'll keep reading more by Dan Siegel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pioneering work, Oct. 24 2013
By 
Ardis (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another reviewer got it right -- This is a brilliant work! It deserves more positive comments than are here! Visit amazon.com for more. I highly recommend the audio (read by the author). If you are interested in changing entrenched patterns of thinking and gaining a better understanding of your own mind, this is a splendid resource. Daniel Siegel is truly ahead of his time or at least right on the cusp of a new way of perceiving the mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life 101, Feb. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What's there left to say about Daniel Siegel? This is such an important book for therapists wanting to really understand the current mind/body approach to therapy. He makes the mind understandable in a straight forward way. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Writing, Feb. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
No matter what ails you, the mind is the best place to start, this teaching takes issues which are often confusing nd mystical and enlightenns the reafder to a higher degree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mindsight, Dec 26 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindsight: The New Science of Personal Transformation (Hardcover)
it took a long time to get this book. it as in decent condition. ould not order again if I wanted it within a certain period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars doesn't play on CD or mp3 players..., March 12 2011
By 
Joanna (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindsight(MP3)(Unabr.) (MP3 CD)
The CD does not play on my car CD player. The effort of putting it in -- the grand total of 2 or 3 attempts :) -- scraped the CD to the extend that the silver coating looks distressed. Tried it then on my computer at home, thinking that maybe the mp3 will at least work, but no success there either... could be the scraping though.

And although I've ordered CDs from amazon in the past (and they worked as advertised), I am going to be downloading audio directly from the downloading sites from now on, as they seem to work significantly more reliably.

As to the above cd, I will try returning it to amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mindsight: The New Science of Personal Transformation
Mindsight: The New Science of Personal Transformation by Daniel J. Siegel (Hardcover - Jan. 12 2010)
CDN$ 33.00 CDN$ 20.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews