Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
Dan Siegel's Whole-Brain Child is a truly practical parenting guide. The title does NOT say it all! Although the techniques in the book are based on solid brain science, that is not the book's greatest appeal. Rather, the book is excellent because it offers parents specific, easy-to-use strategies that they will be able to immediately apply - strategies that will help...
Published on Jan. 22 2012 by Sarah Chana Radcliffe

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average quality
This book is well organized. Throughout, I clearly see that it was written with the good intention of helping parents and their children. The authors made an honest attempt to write a practical and useful book.

Nevertheless, I am in doubt about its practicability. I was drawn to this book because I read that the authors were doing research in brain science...
Published on June 30 2012 by Kristina Sendova, London, Ontario


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Jan. 22 2012
By 
Sarah Chana Radcliffe - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Whole-Brain Child: 12 Revolutionary Strategies to Nurture Your Child's Developing Mind (Hardcover)
Dan Siegel's Whole-Brain Child is a truly practical parenting guide. The title does NOT say it all! Although the techniques in the book are based on solid brain science, that is not the book's greatest appeal. Rather, the book is excellent because it offers parents specific, easy-to-use strategies that they will be able to immediately apply - strategies that will help elicit their child's cooperation while simultaneously helping to build the child's "emotional intelligence." The cartoon instructions are a big bonus, helping to clarify the intervention for both parents and kids. In fact, Siegel has taken a unique approach of explaining the techniques to both adult readers and their children - something rarely (ever?) seen in parenting books. I particularly like the way Siegel shows us both what NOT to do and then what TO do. He makes the material easy and fun to learn. Siegel's techniques give parents tools to help their kids think and feel better. This is a wonderful book that I will be recommending to my own clients and students.
Sarah Chana Radcliffe, author "Raise Your Kids without Raising Your Voice." Raise Your Kids Without Raising Your Voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole Brain Child, Jan. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A terrific book full of concrete suggestions to help you develop your childs brain. East to read even the technical info. Loved the illustrations and explanations.
A great resource for any family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole Brain Child, Sept. 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Whole-Brain Child: 12 Revolutionary Strategies to Nurture Your Child's Developing Mind (Hardcover)
I would highly recommend this book for anyone. It offers practical, easy to read information about brain development and how it impacts behaviour. I am anxious for the one on teen brain development to be published.The Whole-Brain Child: 12 Revolutionary Strategies to Nurture Your Child's Developing Mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for anyone caring for children (and themselves), March 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the simplicity and easy strategies for helping kids use their "upper" and "lower" brains! There is great information on helping adults help children to integrate memories, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Siegels information helps to meet the needs, Feb. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like Siegels way of opening the needs of the children and helping the parents to understand their own emotions that easily block their ability to help the child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, Dec 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very interesing. It is a book I will read more than once. I'm glad I bought the book. Quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Bookish Thoughts..., Sept. 20 2013
By 
Reader Writer Runner (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Siegel and Bryson's "The Whole-Brain Child" offers an insightful, useful parenting resource that provides tools to ensure well-rounded development. The authors reveal 12 “whole-brain” strategies, suggesting that, the more we know about how the human brain operates, the more we can do to shape and direct it in difficult times.

Most readers will have familiarity with the concept of “right brain” vs. “left brain” but the book also distinguishes between the “upstairs” (cognition) and the “downstairs" (automation). Ideally, all of these parts work together harmoniously; tantrums and meltdowns occur when one part of the brain temporarily takes over, causing “dis-integration.” The book thus aims to help both children and adults re-intigrate their brains.

The authors accessibly include a fair amount of brain science, presenting it for both adult and child audiences. They summarize each strategy into comics form at the end of each chapter and include an appendix, which serves as a handy reference guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole-Brain Child, Sept. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked how Dan Siegel speaks to parents in a direct way. As if he is connected to them personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its Got It All, Feb. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book not only has reader friendly explanations of the latest brain research, it also tells parents/teachers how to apply this knowledge with practical strategies to help nurture and guide our children. Is a must read for parents to be and adults of all ages. I'll be using and teaching these strategies to my students to help them manage anxiety, feel good about themselves and improve attention and learning. We are using MindUp in my classroom and not only do teachers and students "love it", it has truly helped children feel calmer and be more attentive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whole-Brain Child review, Dec 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For all people regardless of child rearing status. Great interpersonal communications techniques. Simple and clear directions and graphics. Easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Whole-Brain Child: 12 Revolutionary Strategies to Nurture Your Child's Developing Mind
CDN$ 27.00 CDN$ 16.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews