Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Review by 3 Fifth Graders (BA, ZZ, YCG), Jan. 23 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind (Paperback)
We 3 Fifth Graders, read a book about Louis Braille, by Margaret Davidson. This book is about a boy named Louis Braille. He was the boy who invented books for the blind. Louis lived in Coupvray,in France. He is blind. He became blind by playing with his father's awl. The awl slid right into Louis' eye and it got injured and it got infected. One day, a new priest came to a church on the hillside. The priest was named Father Jacques Palluy. Father Palluy knew that Louis was blind so, he sent Louis to a new school for blind children in Paris. He liked every school subjects there.One day, a Captain called Charles Barbier came to Louis' school. Captain Barbier taught Louis about nightwriting. Nightwriting are raised dots that stands for sounds. Louis invented his own alphabet dots and he spread the news by making books. When Louis died, everyone started to call his dots Braille. Will Louis' popularty ever be extraordinary? Why did some people dislike his invention at first? Will the Braille be used forever?
Our opinion about this book is that this is an outstanding book because Louis made up a way for blind people to read. Why would Louis want to make books for blind people? We gave this book 5 star because we think it is a fantastic book. This book can teach blind people how to read and write. People that are not blind can also learn Braille.The back of the book also has braille dots so, we can practice. We even learned how to spell our names in Braille. We think that Louis' idea was excellent.
We should recommend this book to 4,5,and 6 graders because it teaches a lesson about not playing with sharp tools, and it also teaches you how to read the Braille alphabet. Another lesson we learned is that if you want to get something done you have to do it yourself. If you want to learn more about Louis Braille, try reading: Louis Braille: the Boy who Invented Books for the Blind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Louis Braille, April 3 2006
This review is from: Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind (Paperback)
Braille is the language that helps our blind people function in society but have you ever wondered where it came from. Louis Braille takes place in the early 1800's in France and tells about the amazing Louis Braille, the boy who invented books for the blind. He became blind when he was about three years old in the town of Coupvray and then started going to a blind school in Paris. The book follows Louis's quest to make a way for blind people to read and write all the way until his death. This was not a normal book I would read. I prefer to read more adventurous books but it was a good informational book. I think that this is an easy read for grade four and five but they might not completely get the whole concept so I would recommend this book for grades six or seven. I learned a lot from it about what its really like to be blind. I wouldn't really change it because I think that the author did really well for what she was trying to write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Louis Braille the book for the blind!, April 4 2006
This review is from: Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind (Paperback)
Louis Braille is a good book for people that want to learn about blind people and how they live. This books setting is in Paris, France. If u are wondering how Louis became blind, he was playing with a sharp tool called an awl, it slipped and got stuck in his eye. He was only blind in one eye at first, but then his other eye got infected. Then he became blind in both eyes! He goes to school in Paris and goes back a few years later to teach at a school for the blind. He thinks it is hard to read the books for the blind. Louis starts trying to make his own alphabet that is easier to read. It takes him many years, but he makes an alphabet that is easier for blind people to read.
This is a good book for people 10 years and older because I don't think anyone under 10 would understand it. I like thins book because it has lots of facts and details about the blind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Louis Braille the book of the blind, April 3 2006
This review is from: Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind (Paperback)
Louis Braille is a good book for people that want to learn about blind people and how they live. This books setting is in Paris, France. If u are wondering how Louis became blind, he was playing with a sharp tool called an awl, it slipped and got stuck in his eye. He was only blind in one eye at first, but then his other eye got infected. Then he became blind in both eyes! He goes to school in Paris and goes back a few years later to teach at a school for the blind. He thinks it is hard to read the books for the blind. Louis starts trying to make his own alphabet that is easier to read. It takes him many years, but he makes an alphabet that is easier for blind people to read.
This is a good book for people 10 years and older because I don't think anyone under 10 would understand it. I like thins book because it has lots of facts and details about the blind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Introduction to Louis Braille For Children, Feb. 10 2004
By 
M. Katayama (Santa Monica, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind (Paperback)
First off, I would like to warn customers that this is definitely a children's book and geared for a very young audience (readers between maybe 1st and 4th grade). I didn't realize it at the time when I bought it so I thought I would mention it to other customers so they are aware of it. However, I read the book anyways and I must say as an adult reader I still enjoyed reading this book very much! It took me a little over an hour to read the whole thing, but in the end I still enjoyed learning about Louis Braille and his amazing, inspirational life. This book has definitely inspired me to go on and try to find more books about his incredible life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Homework I've Ever Read, March 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind (Paperback)
I thought it was a good book. I like the way Maragret Davidson listed a bunch of things that Louis couldn't see when he was five. She included lots of detail. It made me think a lot differently about blind people. It was interesting because I've never read a book about blind people before. Louis was very brave. He really wanted a way for blind people to be able to read and never gave-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, April 13 2000
This review is from: Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind (Paperback)
Of all the biography's I've read in my life, I think this is the best one! I thought it was so neat how Louis suddenly thought of how we could use dots like that. Everyday when I got to scool I couldn't wait to start reading. So I think you should buy this book and start reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed books about inventors.(especially Louis Braille), July 25 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind (Paperback)
Louis Braille was very good because it was fun knowing how he got blind. It was also great because you get to know how braille was invented. So I think you should go out get this book and start reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Louis Braille, March 6 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind (Paperback)
I read this book in my advanced reading class.We did lots of cool projects on it!It was a learning experience.We wrote letters to each other in Braille!!!!!One of the best books I ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, a great book, Aug. 4 2001
By 
This review is from: Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. I actually was reading the braille version for my braille class. I would recommend this book to practically anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind
Louis Braille, The Boy Who Invented Books For The Blind by Margaret Davidson (Paperback - June 1 1991)
CDN$ 6.99 CDN$ 6.64
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews