Customer Reviews


254 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff
I can't really understand why this didn't win the newbery medal. Do the people who give out the medal enjoy torchering Nancy Farmer by giving the medal to books that aren't as good? Thid book was great, yet walk two moons won, which was okay, and then a 2002 honer, The House of the Scorpian, which is even better than this lost to a single shard, which was also okay but...
Published on March 27 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dont think i wrote this review because i wanted to
Hmmm... Now what can I say about this Nancy Farmer novel "The Ear, The Eye, and The Arm." Well, for starters, its a book. A science Fiction Book. Yep, nice summary there. But youre not here for the summary, you want my opinion. And if you dont, I dont care, just keep scrolling down.
Well, truth be told, reading is not my passion, and to go through a three hundred...
Published on May 8 2004 by Esteban


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Dont think i wrote this review because i wanted to, May 8 2004
By 
Esteban (wellignton, florida) - See all my reviews
Hmmm... Now what can I say about this Nancy Farmer novel "The Ear, The Eye, and The Arm." Well, for starters, its a book. A science Fiction Book. Yep, nice summary there. But youre not here for the summary, you want my opinion. And if you dont, I dont care, just keep scrolling down.
Well, truth be told, reading is not my passion, and to go through a three hundred plus page book isnt my personal idea of fun, but this book wasnt half bad. So you've got your three rich children in the future who dont get out much, so they want to go to the city, alright, why not. But that wasn't why I decided to read it, how many times do you find a book set in the future thats not placed in New York City. I mean c'mon, seriously now you know its true. At least N.Farmer decided to put it in Zimbabwe, Africa in 2194. And how about those detectives, mutants, and not some guy in a trenchcoat. Sounds good already, doesn't it? But sadly, besides those points and a few others, this book follows the line of kids runaway, kids get kidnapped, kids miss mommy, daddy sends for help, hero saves the day. We're living in the future now for goodness sake, couldnt the kids at least have been abducted by aliens or something?
But don't think that it gets so much better after that. This book ran on, and on, and well, on. And I'm not just saying that because im too lazy to read an entire book or something along those lines. Read the book for yourself and youll see what I mean, the kids get so close to home, but darn, something just pops up out of nowhere and messes it up all over. Sure, you call them "super, duper, exciting twists and turns!", but alas, I can only take so much.
I must admit, there are the good details and ideas, a couple funny lines, and a talking monkey. So maybe I was being to Harsh on the General Matsika's little kiddies, but maybe I'm to harsh on everything. I really didn't mind the length all that much, but It did take awhile for the action to get going. But a slow beginning doesn't stop most people from continuing, so don't let it get to you. There will be plenty of mutants, robots, and plastic mines ahead. So be patient Young Grasshopper. Of Course, the settings and characters stand out too. Waste dumps to mansions, this book takes you there. Not to mention those character designs, although I thought if you were born with a huge disfiguring ear it would just get in the way, but no! Use it to solve mysteries! I was referring to The Ear, The Eye, and The Arm obviously, the title and our detectives, my kind of mutants.
So should you read this? The real question is, are you that bored? Just kidding, I'd call this a prime candidate for book report material and good catch for just something to read (if you're in to that sort of thing, that is.) Now sit back, pop open a cold one, and let the reading begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, March 27 2004
By A Customer
I can't really understand why this didn't win the newbery medal. Do the people who give out the medal enjoy torchering Nancy Farmer by giving the medal to books that aren't as good? Thid book was great, yet walk two moons won, which was okay, and then a 2002 honer, The House of the Scorpian, which is even better than this lost to a single shard, which was also okay but not great like these two books. The book has its ups and its downs. It follows young children Tendai, Rita, and Kuda, three children of a general of Zimbabwe who are never really aloud to go anywhere. The steal out of the house and vanish. Their parents call in the strange detectives the ear, the eye, and the arm who are mutants to find the children, but the three kids stay one step out of their reach. The only complaint I have of this book is that it spend way too much time on the kids, who are pretty stupid and no matter how hard you try, you can never really like them. The ear the eye and the arm part of the story is far more interesting. These three characters are instantly likable and I wish the book spent more time on them. Kuda is one of the most annoying characters I have ever encountered in a book, but the futuristic parts of the story, and the storyline of these three detectives more than make up for the flaws. Be warned however that in the book about a hundred pages through the children will come to a place called resthaven which is like africa now, and is the most boring part of the book. You might get stuck on that part for a while. It's still a fantastic book which is the mark of a truly great author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nancy Farmer: Sci-fi children's author extraordinaire, Jan. 1 2004
By 
E. R. Bird "Ramseelbird" (Manhattan, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The best futuristic sci-fi tale for children set in Zimbabwe I've ever read. Which is unfair backhanded praise for a book that, in my opinion, should've been awarded the Newberry Award without question. Sometimes I like to pretend that I'm at a party and a savvy Hollywood producer comes up to me and asks for the number one children's book that should be optioned for a movie. Batta bing, I recommend this book. In it, you have a well-developed plot containing characters of amazing depth. No two-dimensional stick figures for this children's novel. The setting is more than unique. It is unparalleled. Farmer's ingenuity has created a book that speaks volumes. Not only is it an enjoyable edge-of-your-seat mystery, but there's a distinctly moral core to the book. It's the rare story that can make a person actually enjoy a section on (believe it or not) "courage". If your children can read, give them this book. If your children cannot read, give them this book anyway and teach them to do so with it. There is no higher praise I can give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, June 15 2003
By 
Marla (Salvisa, KY United States) - See all my reviews
Tendai, Rita and Kuda live in the year 2194, where everything in their home depends on technology. Tendai is a scout and wants to earn his last badge. In order to do so he must travel across the large city of Harare, Zimbabwe. Rita and Kuda talk him into taking them with him. As they leave their safe environment, they determine not everyone can be trusted. They are soon kidnapped. Tendai realizes that this is only the beginning of a long journey, which he hopes will take them back home.
General Masika and his wife are distraut because the Mellower has tricked them into giving their children permission to leave their safe home. They are afraid that the Mask will get the children and hold them for ransom. Mrs. Masika hires the Ear, Eye and Arm detectives to find the children. As the detectives search they are always one step behind the children.
The detectives reveal to the Masikas that the children were kidnapped and escape. Then they become kidnapped again. By who? I'll not tell. If you want to know what happens next read the book.
If you like sci-fi books, you will love The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm. The title alone is what intrigued me to choose this book to read for a college course. The author does an excellent job of creating a plot that keeps you on your toes. Just when you think you know what's going to happen, IT DOESN'T. The setting is always changing and the plot is ongoing. I just love the characters from Kudo, the little brother to the waiter in the Mile High Restaurant. This story is full of emotions from sorrow to anger and excitement. I would definitely recommend this book to young adults that enjoy sci-fi, action books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm, June 2 2003
By A Customer
The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm is a book chock-full of catchy phrases, words from languages other than our own, and a sense of creativity. Imagine yourself in Harare, Zimbabwe, in the year 2194. Automatic Dobermans are scattered about the streets. You live in a house, a home-away-from-home, with barred windows and everything shut tight and secure. You want to get away, but you can't...
This is the story of three young children who go out on a Scout trip across the city. They get kidnapped and are taken to a place where everything blends in with the trash-covered earth. The children run away soon after, and get stuck in a place they've dreamed of, but now suddenly dread.
The people of this place believe that the children are witches, and when proven not guilty, send them out onto the streets. The three look for a place to get help, as one of them is sick. Before they can find shelter and care, another of the three goes off, headed towards the subway...
The two others trail behind, and when they arrive at the station, awaiting them is quite an unpleasant surprise. They make it aboard a train, and are taken to Borrowdale. Here they meet a woman who will only send them home if she can greedily steal a reward in return.
This, however, doesn't happen. An unkindly woman who stole them once before, snatches the three children up and shoves them into a cab... What happens next? Buy the book or read a sample page and see!
The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm is amazingly well-written. Seeming childish at first glance, when you open it up, you soon find out otherwise... The details are apparent and well researched. A mystery in itself, an unfolded tale, a book for one and all... A story showing reality, with just a hint of imagination...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To earn the badge, April 4 2003
By A Customer
A Review by Ryan
Tendia and his two younger siblings are three kids in Africa. But they are about to find out what it´¿ like to survive in a world they have never seen. Follow them as they embark on an adventure that they will never forget. Such as when they spend more than half a year in a toxic waste dump. Or as they fight off old world diseases such as Chicken Poxs. It´¿s a very enchanting page turner that will have you on the edge of your seat.
Some things that I liked about this book are the ability to relate to the characters. Like when Tendia is struggling to find his purpose in life, or as they´¿re trying to survive in a modern day world. Also I like the dramatic point of view as it goes back and forth to the kids and to the detectives. Like when the detectives are arguing next to the subway entrance as the kids are boarding the subway. Most of the vocab is confusing but at the end of the book you can look up its meaning. I really liked that.
I say that any one who like to read adventure or sci fi books would like to read it. It´¿s a real page turner and I would not recommend it to non serious readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN AMAZING BOOK, March 19 2003
By 
Sarah Bussmann (Gillespie, IL USA) - See all my reviews
THIS BOOK IS GREAT!! IT IS ABOUT A BOY NAMED TENDAI AND A GIRL NAMED RITA AND A BOY NAMED KUDA. THEY RUN AWAY AND THEIR FATHER GENERAL MATISKA SENDS THE EAR THE EYE, AND THE ARM TO FIND THEM. THIS BOOK TAKES PLACE IN AFRICA. IN THE YEAR 2194. THE CHILDREN GET KIDNAPPED BY THE SHE-ELEPHANT.THEY HAVE TO WORK ON THE PLASTIC MINE IN DEAD MANS VLEI. THE CHILDREN GET AWAY. THE TOWN OF RESTHAVEN RESCUES THEM BUT NOT FOR LONG. THE CITIZENS OF RESTHAVEN CLAME THEM TO BE A WITCH. TRASHMAN,AND THE CHILDREN BARELY ESCAPE! OH I FORGOT TRASH MAN IS ONE OF KUDAS FRIENDS THAT HANGS OUT WITH THEM.
ONCE THE KIDS ESCAPED THE WENT TO THE MELLOWERS MOTHERS HOUSE. THE MELLOWER IS A PERSON THAT PRAISE SINGS TO YOU KIND OF WEIRD. BUT THE SHE-ELEPHANT KIDNAPS THEM AGAIN. SHE TAKES THEM TO THE MASKS AND THE MASKS IS A TERRIBLE GANG THAT TERORIES THE TOWN.
THE MASKS WERE GOING TO KILL THEM!! BUT THE DETECTIVES GET THERE JUST IN TIME. YOU WILL HAVE TO READ THE REST TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENS NEXT. IF YOU LIKED THE GIVER YOU WILL LIKE THIS BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Ear the Eye and the Arm, Nov. 18 2002
This is a great book that takes place in Africa. It takes place in the near future. It is about a gang who were very powerful in Africa and were very deadly and scary. They kidnapped the General Masika's sons who went out on a forbidden adventure outside of their house. He hired the best detectives in Africa, they were the Ear, the Eye, and the Arm. There is something special about the detecitevs though, they all have special abilites. The Ear a incredible sence of hearing, the Eye can see very far and very well, and the Arm can extend all parts of his body out. These talents are what make this charcters intresting and unique. They also save them and help them throught there quest to find the kids. This book was written by Nancy Farmer. "The Eat the Eye and the Arm" takes place in the future and is set in a country name Zimbabwe, in Africa.
I give this book a 9/10 for it's exciting thrills and the book makes you just want to keep on reading. I recommend this book to 9th graders for its intense vocabulary and the images this book might give you. I hope you go out and get this book for your future reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Book - Read All About It!, Aug. 18 2002
By 
Amanda (New York, USA - ( New York Rules! )) - See all my reviews
"The Ear the Eye and the Arm" is an exciting book,and I would recommend it to people of all ages and tastes. It's a mixture of adventure and mystery.
It takes place in a Zimbabwe of the future (2194 to be exact). It is about 3 siblings named Tendai, Rita, and Kuda who have spent their whole lives stuck in their house, without ever seeing the outside world. General Matsika,their own father has never showed any affection towards them, but only treated them as if they were his soldiers.
One day Tendai, Rita, and Kuda run away from home in order to see the "outside world" but end up having an adventure they would never had expected to experience in a thousand years!
They go from living in a place where you don't have to lift a finger, to working in dead man's Vlei to stay alive. Many more frightful experiences follow this. During these adventures, Tendai also learns about the culture and heritage of Zimbabwe
While this is all happening, the Ear, the Eye, and the Arm (3 out of work detectives, each with a special gift) are hired to help find the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a thrilling adventure, March 31 2002
By A Customer
"The Ear the Eye and the Arm" is an exciting book,and I would recommend it to people of all ages and tastes. It's a mixture of adventure and mystery.
It takes place in a Zimbabwe of the future (2194 to be exact). It is about 3 siblings named Tendai, Rita, and Kuda who have spent their whole lives stuck in their house, without ever seeing the outside world. General Matsika,their own father has never showed any affection towards them, but only treated them as if they were his soldiers.
One day Tendai, Rita, and Kuda run away from home in order to see the "outside world" but end up having an adventure they would never had expected to experience in a thousand years!
They go from living in a place where you don't have to lift a finger, to working in dead man's Vlei to stay alive. Many more frightful experiences follow this. During these adventures, Tendai also learns about the culture and heritage of Zimbabwe
While this is all happening, the Ear, the Eye, and the Arm (3 out of work detectives, each with a special gift) are hired to help find the children.
Where are the children? Will they find them? If so, how?
I guess you'll have to read the book to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ear, the Eye and the Arm
The Ear, the Eye and the Arm by Nancy Farmer (Paperback - 1994)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews