Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Young Adult Fantasy at its best...
"Brave the Betrayal" is the eighth book in K.A. Applegate's "Everworld" saga. Jalil, Christopher, David, April and Senna are still trapped in Everworld and their lives are about to be turned upside-down. Literally.
After a meeting with the Goddess Athena, the five main characters are sent on a mission to Egypt to find Senna's mother. The Coo-Hatch have used the...
Published on April 21 2001 by Alaria

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the rest
I read the first book of the series and was drawn into buying the rest. However I didn't really enjoy this book as I did the rest, Personally I think the Coo-hatch are just weird... I kinda think its been dragged out too long, 8 books is a lot.
Published on June 11 2000 by amy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Young Adult Fantasy at its best..., April 21 2001
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal (Mass Market Paperback)
"Brave the Betrayal" is the eighth book in K.A. Applegate's "Everworld" saga. Jalil, Christopher, David, April and Senna are still trapped in Everworld and their lives are about to be turned upside-down. Literally.
After a meeting with the Goddess Athena, the five main characters are sent on a mission to Egypt to find Senna's mother. The Coo-Hatch have used the information from April's chemistry book to make gunpowder and this could become a deadly weapon that they will use against Olympus unless they are sent home to their universe. However, the only person who can do this is Senna's mother who is thought to be in Egypt. To find her and avert catastrophe, Jalil and the others must cross the perilous African continent.
During the journey, they encounter Eshu, a mysterious being who demands that a sacrifice is made to please the African Gods. Despite Senna's pleading, the other characters refuse either due to general principals or religious beliefs, and Eshu responds by sending them into the mirror world where the grass is blue, the water purple and everything is upside-down...
This book was amazing. The descriptions of Everworld are amazingly vivid and colourful and you can really imagine actually being there. I love mythology so I found the information on the Ancient Gods and cultures interesting. I expected something a lot more like Animorphs and this is completely different. The plot and characters are far more complex, in keeping with the older target audience, and although I love animorphs, I have to say that this is far superior. My only fault with the book is that not much history or character information is given and the events can become very confusing at times. Overall, five stars and I can't wait to read the remaining books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KAA has outdone herself YET AGAIN!, July 7 2000
Ce commentaire est de: Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal (Mass Market Paperback)
Jeez, how much longer can the trend continue? Each book is constantly better than the last! In this one they get into a totally bizarre upside-down world. Senna reveals a really, really cool new power she has.. ~is squirming in her seat from trying not to spoiler the book~ David.. is himself. The Coo-Hatch are also themselves- they coincidentally run into some other Coo-Hatch, and arbitrarily decide to make a cannon. Crazy world. Oh, and Thorolf (remember? That Viking?) makes a repeat appearance! And.. ~deep breath~ Jalil's got a GIRLFRIEND! I'm soo looking forward to EW9, as it has Senna narrating, AND Amazons, and cats! Ooooo.. cats.. Oh, I disagree with the person who said the series had gone on too long. What do you MEAN eight books is a lot! The Baby-Sitters Club was past a hundred last count! It should be let out and shot! And Animorphs, a wonderful series which, contrary to popular belief, is NOT nearing death.. ~glares around the room at nobody in particular~ is nearing fifty! How can you say eight books is too much? GOOD morning, it's past lunchtime, I think I'll get some food now..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start but got interesting, Feb. 2 2001
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal (Mass Market Paperback)
Four normal teenagers, Christopher, April, David, and Jalil, are trapped in a world unknown to mankind and themselves. Where dreams and nightmares are put together to make a another world. Creatures are there that shouldn't exist and places that shouldn't be there. The place is Everworld. Christopher, Jalil, April, and David are here because of Senna, the witch, and they cannot get out without her. They face new dangers each day, the Gods, Dragons and creatures never even heard of. All they have to protect themselves is a little pocketknife and Galahad's sword. Now they have made a mistake. They traded their chemistry book for a pocketknife, not knowing the Coo-Hatch could read. Now the Coo-hatch have made guns. They soon start a war with the Gods and they use weapons unbelievably sharp and dangerous. Will they get out of everworld alive or be stuck there forever?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellant addition to the series., July 23 2000
By 
Rebecca Herman (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal (Mass Market Paperback)
Ever since they became trapped in Everworld, David, Christopher, April, and Jalil have encountered a lot of weird things. But their newest adventure is their oddest yet. They're trapped in an area totally messed up even by Everworld standards - it's a place that's upside down! Why are they there? Well, they angered a bunch of African gods by refusing to offer up an animal sacrifice. But the four teens refuse to give in to the gods, even though Senna, the witch who got them trapped in Everworld, urges them to do so. David, Christopher, April, and Jalil may not be on the good side of the gods, but they have their real world smarts - so they have one advantage on their side. Now they just have to find a way out. I highly reccomend this book if you enjoyed the first seven Everworld books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another fine installment, June 25 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal (Mass Market Paperback)
In this book, Jalil tells it all as he, Christopher, David, April, and Senna travel across a seemingly African plain, on a mission for the Goddess Athena: find Senna's mother, a witch who supposedly has enough power to open gateways between the universes. Along the way they have plenty of problems of their own, mostly revolving around Senna, who we're pretty sure now is at least a partial enemy. Jalil has a few real world difficulties as well (such as getting a date, hee hee). The characters are real as ever, and the discriptions vivid as always, but as a warning to those younger than fourteen or so, this one is also exceptionally gory, even more so than usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This almost broke my four-star limit!, July 11 2000
Ce commentaire est de: Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal (Mass Market Paperback)
This has got to be, by far, the best of the EVERWORLD series. We are introduced into lesser known myths, and Applegate continues to dive into the controversial religion topic recently brought up in the series. It's absolutely fascinating.
Jalil narrates this addition where the group enters into Africa, where they meet a rather annoying Orisha, or African minor god. Also, they meet up with some old characters...
It's the longest EVERWORLD book I've seen for awhile. The description and emotion is excellent, and I'm quite happy with the new cover artist. I like him better than Greg (sorry, Greg fans) This is a worthy addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reader from U.S., July 3 2000
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal (Mass Market Paperback)
This book, Brave the Betrayel got really interesting with Senna's blood and the crazy old minor god in Africa. This book adds on another part of the adventure in Everworld. It must be hard living in a place full of fear and dreams. And then also living in the Real World. The search to go to Egypt to Senna's mother for the Coo-Hatch is dangerous but the Coo-Hatch (creatures excellent with medal) could create more worse and dangerous tools. Brave the Betrayel will leave you at the tip of your chair and wanting to learn what then happens in the next book of: Inside the Illusion Book #9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best books ever, Aug. 12 2000
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal (Mass Market Paperback)
These books are so awesome. When I started reading them I couldn't put them down. The whole series is addicting. I read each book as soon as it comes out and then I sit around a wait for the next one. This book was wonderful but I expected nothing less from an author who has written a great series so far. I recomend these books to anyone and everyone. They are truly un-forgetable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All these books are great, Oct. 28 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal (Mass Market Paperback)
I love all of these books but since Jalil is my least favorite character except for Senna. I didn't really like this one as much as the others. It had some pretty interesting twists though. Eshu was a real pain in the butt. I love what they did to Senna. She deserves it. Everone that loves Science Fiction has got to love this series. I can't wait till I can read number 9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a pretty cool book., June 10 2000
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal (Mass Market Paperback)
This book happens after the heroes' conflict with Ka Anor (#6) and with Olympus (#7). In this one, they somehow go to an African-like place in which they encouter many strange jungle beings and the alien metal-smiths the "Coo-hatch," one of which is featured on the cover of this book. I say read the other Everworlds before this, but this one is cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal
Everworld #8: Brave The Betrayal by K A Applegate (Mass Market Paperback - July 1 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews