Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$27.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on May 15, 2006
Steven Eriksson continues what has become the greatest fantasy series ever! There is nothing else like it. The Malazan series has everything you could possibly want. The most important aspect though is that he has loads of great characters in every book and he expands them brilliantly. And its not just 3 or 4 great characters, more like 10 at least.
I read in one review that book 6 was supposed to finish some of the stories, but to be honest i found that it asked new questions whilst answering some old ones.
Every chapter is captivating and i couldnt wait to see what would happen to Karsa Orlong, Mappo Trell and Icarium, Apsalar, Quick Ben and Kalam. Lets not forget the gods that have come into play as well.
You have to read this book. But first make sure that you buy all the others and read them first. I am very jealous of all those who are reading this series for the first time.
Enjoy it, i know you will
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on June 24, 2006
Steven Erikson is the first fantasy writer that, after six installments, seems to be able to escape the pitfall into which numerous others (i.e. and foremost Robert Jordan) have fallen. This is probably due to the fact that he knows where his story is leading and that he does not write anything that substracts from the plot and from the prose needed to unfurl his so intricately woven world, which by the way is one of the most epic and large-scaled fantasy worlds up-to-date, barring perhaps Tolkien's Middle-Earth.

The Bonehunters, now , is a perfect example of two of the best traits Erikson, as a writer, has in store for us. Namely dialogue and convergence. The dialogue is not only very natural it's also extremely witty and an excellent way to transfer meaning. Sarcasm, irony, wit, indeed every feeling ever conveyed, it's all in the dialogue. As for convergence, Erikson is a master of it; within each novel but what's more important, and what becomes especially clear in The Bonehunters, within the overall arc of the entire series. It's not for nothing that part 10 is called The Crippled God!

So is there nothing to remark upon? Well, yes there is, but that particular complaint might cease to exist when the entire series has come to an end and things that now seem to have the aura of a Deus Ex Machina might then be entirely self-explanatory (although the term 'self-explanatory' does not really befit the Malazan Book of the Fallen).

So from me nothing but praise for The Bonehunters and as we are returning to the continent of Lether in the next installment, I'll say "Roll on Reaper's Gale!"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2006
I have sympathy with the first reviewer; the book does seem flatter than the previous ones. That being said, there are a large number of stories being extended here from previous volumes; some of the problem is keeping them all straight. The layout of the text could have been improved.

There is only one truly new character (Karsa's companion); all others have appeared in previously in this series.

I find that concentrating on one story line at a time is an aid... once you've read the book completely at least once.

The crack another reviewer made concerning Robert Jordan is apt. It was possible to pick up any volume in the first five volumes of the series and enjoy the read, unlike 'The Wheel of Time' series. It is not the case here though; you really do need to read the second and fourth.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
Its a great book but sometimes a little overwelming of characters to remember. If you start reading make sure to read the books close together or you'll forget some characters. I got lost in some parts but dont worry about it, its still a great read.

The mystery and plot twists and the foretelling are a delight in these series. Some very epic characters that you wish he wrote a little more on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
Although the style is a little... simple, I find the world and the portrayal of the characters to be intensely engaging. It is no Wheel of Time but I just cannot put this down, definitely a great read and well worth recommending.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2015
Many parts of this book had to be highlighted to be re-read because they were so charged with powerful writing. Maybe the most enjoyable of the series so far
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Another great addition to the ongoing Malazan fantasy/adventure from Steven Erikson.

This is the sixth in the " Malazan Book of the Fallen" series; and as with the previous books there are several different story lines developed early on that continue throughout the novel. Most of these individual tales begin in an area called "The Seven Cities" and then most (but not all) come together towards the end of the book at Malaz City (capital of the Malazian Empire).

This book introduces some new characters e.g. Heboric Ghost Hands, Greyfrog and others, as well as reacquainting us with several favorites from the 1st five books; e.g. Fiddler, Bottle, Kalam, Quick Ben, Apsalar, Mappo and Icarium just to mention a few. This book has all the components for a great fantasy read; there are creatures and people with magical abilities, demons, intrigue/betrayals, some great battles, harrowing journeys and even a sprinkling of humor here and there.

This novel is a daunting 884 pages long (including 3 maps of areas involved); but once I'd start reading, the time just seemed to fly by. If you enjoyed the other books in this series (and you really need to read the previous 5 books for this one to make any sense) you will be pleased with this latest effort by the author. Erikson's greatest skill is his story telling abilities and then being able to transpose his vivid imagination onto paper via the written word.

All in all a wonderful addition to complement the previous books in this addicting, epic series. I was sorry to see this novel end, and I can hardly wait for book 7. Highly recommended. 5 stars (more if I could)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2014
The best book in the series IMO.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Midnight Tides: Book Five of The Malazan Book of the Fallen
Midnight Tides: Book Five of The Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 28 2007)
CDN$ 10.31

House of Chains (Malazan Book 4)
House of Chains (Malazan Book 4) by Steven Erikson (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 20 2003)
CDN$ 12.33

Memories of Ice (Malazan Book of the Fallen, Book 3)
Memories of Ice (Malazan Book of the Fallen, Book 3) by Steven Erikson (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 14 2003)
CDN$ 12.99