Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job
As an experienced programmer in languages such as C, C++, Python I found the first 6 chapters of this book to be a good review, and very well done.
Further chapters describing Javascripts framework for objects, functions, etc. are fairly well done. However, at times the explanations are long-winded and repeated too often. Also, very important points are mentioned,...
Published on Sept. 19 2005 by Yasir

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners
This is not a book for beginners. It is more for someone who already knows JavaScript and would like to use as a reference. There is too much theory and not enough examples. There are snippets of code here and there and the ocasional full example but that is just not enough. You have to learn by doing. A better book to buy would be JavaScript by Example or...
Published on Aug. 10 2005


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners, Aug. 10 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition (Paperback)
This is not a book for beginners. It is more for someone who already knows JavaScript and would like to use as a reference. There is too much theory and not enough examples. There are snippets of code here and there and the ocasional full example but that is just not enough. You have to learn by doing. A better book to buy would be JavaScript by Example or JavaScript: A beginner's guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job, Sept. 19 2005
By 
Yasir (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition (Paperback)
As an experienced programmer in languages such as C, C++, Python I found the first 6 chapters of this book to be a good review, and very well done.
Further chapters describing Javascripts framework for objects, functions, etc. are fairly well done. However, at times the explanations are long-winded and repeated too often. Also, very important points are mentioned, but I felt at times they were not highlighted in anyway. With long explanations and flat text, is easy to miss on key points and be forced to re-read and search back to find them again.
Nonetheless, a good book and useful reference in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best reference on JavaScript I have ever seen, June 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition (Paperback)
I have read many books on JavaScript before but this is by far the most comprehansive guide to the scripting language. This book is not for beginners.
I use it as a reference guide. If you know the object's name or the method's name on either client side or server side, you can just look it up in this book's index section and it will reference you to a particular page with detailed explonations and more often then not with examples.
Absolutely love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for learning and reference, April 15 2004
By 
Mitchel J. Haas "mitcheljh" (Midwest USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition (Paperback)
As a long time C++ programmer, I found this book to be neither too hard or too easy. Readers with no programming experience at all might have a harder time with the text, but if you have any kind of programming background, the text will serve you well. As a reference, the text is second to none. Even the DOM reference is one of the best out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Definitive Guide, Feb. 12 2004
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition (Paperback)
This a very decent reference and so-so tutorial of JavaScript. If you're doing JavaScript you definitely need this definitive guide, definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This book has to be better, Jan. 12 2004
By 
Hajri Rachid (Enschede, Overijsel Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition (Paperback)
Reading this book will help you to understand what javascript is and how to use it. Most of all the different concepts of Javascript are explained with examples. That's I rate it 3 stars. But 40% of the interesting examples are not working properly(the most of time seeking where the fault in the given example is). This book is half worth its money, thus I'm half satisfied, and I'm keeping looking for beter book. For beginners this book is not yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The classic reference guide..., Jan. 10 2004
By 
Thomas Duff "Duffbert" (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition (Paperback)
If you can only afford to get one book to help you with JavaScript coding, this would be the one to consider...
This book is a good mixture between raw reference material (Parts 3 - 6) and explanatory material to tell you how it all works together (Parts 1 - 2). While I don't think I'd want to try and learn JavaScript from scratch using this book, I'd definitely want it once I had learned how to do the basics. If you are learning JavaScript for the first time, perhaps O'Reilly's book Designing With JavaScript might be a good introduction into the topic.
Parts 1 and 2, while they look similar, present a complete look at JavaScript as used in web browsers. Part 1 tells you the how the language works, while part 2 tells you how it works within the framework of the web browser. Unless you understand how to manipulate the object model of the browser, you won't be able to harness the full value and power the JavaScript language in your web pages.
The reference sections of the book will quickly become bookmarked and dog-eared as you move forward. For each reference item, you have the method/property, a brief one line description, the earliest language level where it is first supported, whether it is deprecated or not, a synopsis of the syntax, the arguments to the method, a description of the method/property, an example (if applicable), any known bugs in the method/property, and a reference to any similar methods/properties that may relate to the item. Needless to say, a VERY complete set of information that you will come to rely on.
For a Notes/Domino developer, you will need a reference manual such as this. None of the Lotus/IBM documentation will cover the full depth of the language. This book will serve you well as you implement web applications with Domino. I would also suggest a book called Domino 5 Web Programming With XML, Java, and JavaScript by Randall Tamura. It will fill in some of the gaps as to how the DOM is implemented by Domino.
Conclusion
There's a reason why this book is in the fourth edition spanning 1996 through 2002. It gives you all the information you need to be effective with JavaScript. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Javascript Book, Dec 13 2003
By 
Jack D. Herrington "engineer and author" (Silicon Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition (Paperback)
This is the best book on Javascript. If you are doing serious amounts of Javascript on the front end, or in some scripting environment, this is worth getting. If you are doing something small, like data validation, you can probably get by with the Dynamic HTML book instead. I gave it five stars because it is such an excellent book on Javascript alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitve Guide is a modest description, Dec 7 2003
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition (Paperback)
The O'Reilly books, for the most part, are some of the best written. But this book in particular, is an essential for any web developer or programmer and in my opinion, the best book ever written on Javascript.
This book covers a massive range of material in the Javascript language using realistic examples and clear explanations. It can be used both as a learning tool and an important resource which I refer back to often for my Javascript needs.
Items I found to be especially useful about this book were the Appendix areas, the way that just about any term is included in the index, and the listings of implicit objects with their properties, methods,arguments, and the accompanying explanations and examples. The book also incorporates how to concatenate JS with Java and with HTML for forms validation, one of the most important uses of the language.
Definitely a true treasure amongst a sea of programming books!
Val Fahey
E-Commerce Analyst
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a Definitive Guide - But Is That What You Want?, Aug. 27 2003
By 
Warren J. Dew (Somerville, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition (Paperback)
If you're looking for a complete reference on the JavaScript programming language, this is it. This book teaches the JavaScript language from the ground up and includes a very complete reference section.
On the other hand, if all you want is to write or understand JavaScript in its most common use - providing a little more dynamic content in web pages than can be done with html alone - the book may be overkill. For example, in addition to the useful sections on client side JavaScript - the JavaScript that you include in your web pages to be run in the client's browser - there are even larger sections that are really only useful for server side JavaScript - as if anyone uses JavaScript on the server side. As an experienced C, C++, and Java programmer, I had to wade through quite a bit of redundant material before I could effectively use the book to answer the simple questions I had.
In addition, some critical issues about using client side JavaScript are omitted from the book. For example, there is a chapter on security, but it only covers security issues applicable to the user - that with modern browsers, it's pretty safe for the user to allow JavaScripts to run. Issues pertaining to the security of the web site and the server it runs on - far more important to someone writing JavaScript code - are omitted. The book even provides a very unsafe example of allowing a client side script to calculate sales tax, which if used would make it easy for someone to tell your site he owed less tax than he really did, leaving the website owner holding the bag. It would have been better to include these server security issues and omit the client security issues.
Still, this book will let you find the answers to your questions, even if it does take longer than it seems like it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition
JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition by David Flanagan (Paperback - Nov. 29 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews