Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Like the title says Java & XML
Requires moderate knowledge of both subjects. Does a really nice job discussing the uses of Java and XML combined.
Published on May 16 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall, an Okay book
Sometimes you come across a technical book that you can't put down, the language is clear, the examples are useful and the author keeps you focused. Well, this is NOT an example of such book.
The author covers the subject, but it was a hard book to read and stay interested in.
Published on July 22 2002 by Gus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Overall, an Okay book, July 22 2002
By 
This review is from: Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems (Paperback)
Sometimes you come across a technical book that you can't put down, the language is clear, the examples are useful and the author keeps you focused. Well, this is NOT an example of such book.
The author covers the subject, but it was a hard book to read and stay interested in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be more., May 6 2004
By 
Robert Simmons Jr. "kraythe" (Broomfield, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems (Paperback)
Second editions are always great. However, I find that I dont like all of the API reference in the book. I would rather look at APIs electronically and talk concepts in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, a little diffuse, March 13 2004
By 
Jack D. Herrington "engineer and author" (Silicon Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems (Paperback)
Compared with .NET and XML this book tends to wander and rat hole a little. The book covers the basics. The SAX and DOM approaches. It also covers XSLT and serving XML. It also covers advanced topics like Castor, JDOM, and web services. But most of the subjects are covered at a cursory level and do not serve as a complete introduction.
There is a small reference at the end of the book which is not as easy to read as the APIs described in the Nutshell style.
I gave this book four stars because, while it does lack focus, it is a good introduction to the XML APIs for Java. In the third release they should concentrate a little harder editing in some focus and a better reference section at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like the title says Java & XML, May 16 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Yucaipa, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems (Paperback)
Requires moderate knowledge of both subjects. Does a really nice job discussing the uses of Java and XML combined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No XML Security, March 31 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems (Paperback)
This book doesn't have anything I couldn't find by just looking at samples on Sun's site.
Most of all, it's missing security like XML Signatures, and XML encryption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, but flakey, March 27 2003
By 
Pace Ripley (Somerville, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems (Paperback)
This book is great if you know something about XML and Java. For true beginners, well, it's a stretch. It also starts to show its age, and furthermore, its supporting website - both on the author's web server and O'Reilly's own servers, is sketchy. You will rely on both to use the code mentioned in the book.
Otherwise, it is just an unremarkable information piece about Java and XML.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Another poorly written Computer Science book, March 1 2003
By 
"stukeybug" (Bethesda, Maryland USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems (Paperback)
While not the worst computer book that I have read; this one straddles the fence quite nicely. The author seems to know his subject, but is a bit scatter brained in places. In some instances I have to re-read paragraphs as if it were code itself. It only gets two stars, because grammar seems to be as important as content. It's an okay book otherwise, but the could have left out the xml primer, as it wasn't very meaningful. The overall content of the book is good, but nothing really seems to stand out here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad book to read, Jan. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems (Paperback)
If you looking for a book with good grammer and easy to understand setences, this is not a book for you. Simply reading the first chapter would frustrate me; the author would should some complex example and then would mislead the reader that he would be explaining the example thorough. Instead, he would mention a small portion of the example and claimed that it would take too long to explain the example. For goodness sake, if the example is too complex to explain, then please use a simpler example - don;t try to impress the reader with a complex example only to refer to some other Oreilly books. Do you notice that he does not refer books other than those published by Oreilly?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good Intentions, but not a good learning book., July 23 2002
By 
This review is from: Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems (Paperback)
This is a very hard book to read. Not because of the subject, but because of the author's writing style and the fact that he introduces subjects and then referring them to the upcoming chapters.
Overall, it covers the essential subjects, like the interaction between Java and XML and covers DOM, SAX, JAXP, but I wouldn't use this book as a learning tool. Might be a good reference.
I would recommend XML Development With Java 2 by Michael Daconta, SAMS Publishing. To learn XML in detail, I would recommend the Professioanl XML, Wrox Publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too tough for a starter, July 6 2002
This review is from: Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems (Paperback)
This book is no doubt good, but is not really worth your money if you dont know a lot of Java and a little bit of XML. I have started with it and I already need a couple of other reference books. If you are a newcomer get a good reference book. This book is a little bit too tough.
There are examples, but they are scarce and too tough to grasp. O'Reilly is surely known for its quality books and it sure is but definetely not for someone new to Java and XML.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems
Java and XML: Solutions to Real-World Problems by Brett McLaughlin (Paperback - Sept. 1 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews