Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT
Never done a site before and I purchased Dreamweaver MX hearing that it was the way to go but maybe a little complicated for someone new to building sites. Well, after several evenings with Dreamweaver going through all the tutorials I thought I had gotten in over my head. I figured I'd give it one more shot after getting a manual.
This book made all the difference...
Published on Dec 7 2002

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A Lazy Sloppy Writer
You know the writer who doesn't bother checking the correct path, the correct titles of the choices, leaves out steps? You know the "author" who is blatantlyly inflating the number of words in the book with the same nerdy jokes repeated thousands of times? It seems the "author" is "new" to dynamic procedures and can't tell the steps he...
Published on June 30 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, Dec 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
Never done a site before and I purchased Dreamweaver MX hearing that it was the way to go but maybe a little complicated for someone new to building sites. Well, after several evenings with Dreamweaver going through all the tutorials I thought I had gotten in over my head. I figured I'd give it one more shot after getting a manual.
This book made all the difference. The problem wasn't that the software was too complicated, the problem was the lack of clear documentation. This book clarified all the confusions I had and with a few more hours I was able to get a nice site up and running. It's really a crime the manufacturers don't include real manuals any more. Because of this book, I now think Dreamweaver is the greatest (with the exception of their decision not to include a real manual in the first place).
Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intuitive, insightful, full of practical information., March 31 2003
By 
prodesma (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
There are really two types of people in this world. Those that WANT to read a user's manual cover to cover prior to tackling something new (and do so). And those that want to learn by doing and not spend hours reading how to learn. I, uh, have a laptop with a luscious fruit emblem sitting on a titanium casing-needless to say I fall into the latter category by nature.
I feel comfortable knowing my way around design programs (Illustrator, Photoshop, Streamline), but NEVER touch code. I knew the basic ideas of HTML (tags, headlines, body, title, line breaks) but not much more before purchasing this book.
After only a few hours reading the first 140 pages (easy reading), and following the tutorials (very clear and concise), I started developing my desired website. Within a few hours I had the semblance of the components all functioning in a "Preview in Browser" mode. And I'd say 70% of that time was actually designing and saving the files for each nav button, graphic box, and typing the text.
As many other reviews state, this book clearly explains the benefits as well as limitations of web design in general and to Dreamweaver specifically. There are plenty of references to Dreamweaver 4 for those who are upgrading. There are plenty of basic explanations of HTML, how to best utilize Dreamweaver AND HTML, and the perspective of end use (designing a cool web page) is never forgotten in this book.
McFarland and Progue hit the mark in almost every way with their organizational style, intuitive writing, simplistic tutorials, informative Figures and "Workaround Workshops", and understanding of HOW people want to USE an application like Dreamweaver MX. From building a site, to using dynamic pages with forms, to frames, to tables, to uploading your site, to Flash, to Customizing Dreamweaver and hotkeys; it's pretty much all covered.
A nearly 800 page book intimidate you? Don't worry, many sections are not applicable to a basic website. I feel confident that I can continue to add new features and redevelop my site using only this one book in the future. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written, Comprehensive, Simply the Best, March 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
I've had a bit of experience with Dreamweaver, but this book rounded out my education. It contains all the information I needed (and more), has clear & well-written text, and an excellent structure that allowed me to access the information very quickly (they even made the binding in such a way that the pages lie flat). Not only is book accessible, but it continues to be a valuable resource on my bookshelf. As others have mentioned, one of the great things about this book is the fact that it also talks about Dreamweaver's limitations; options (such as frames) that could lead to problems later on. By the time I've gone through computer manuals, I usually riddle them with post-its in an effort to organize the information; this book is so well thought-out that so far I haven't needed to.
Earlier I'd bought the Visual Quickstart Guide's Dreamweaver MX manual (filled with post-it tabs in response to poor organization and because the information was so difficult to extract), but ever since I bought the McFarland book, the Quickstart Guide been collecting dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A BRILLIANTLY SCULPTURED MANUAL, Jan. 23 2003
By 
reviewer (Zurich, Switzerland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
This "Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual" is one brilliantly sculpture text, which provides authoritative reader-friendly information on the fine software.
With this book, any new user of 'Dreamweaver MX' would find his or her feet in a very short time. In the same vein, experienced users will appreciate its in-depth analysis of every aspect of the software, including the occassional highlights it made concerning its limitations. The outlook of this book is refined, and authoritative. Its versatility is superb. It has every important information that users of 'Dreamweaver MX' would need.
Indeed, it is a shame that profit-minded software manufacturers have consistently refused to include any sort of comprehensive users' manual in their packages. But, don't let this opportunity elude you, if you own (or use) 'Dreamweaver MX'. It is worth the asking price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Lazy Sloppy Writer, June 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
You know the writer who doesn't bother checking the correct path, the correct titles of the choices, leaves out steps? You know the "author" who is blatantlyly inflating the number of words in the book with the same nerdy jokes repeated thousands of times? It seems the "author" is "new" to dynamic procedures and can't tell the steps he outlines are slipshod (and didn't bother following his steps to see if they're correct). Maybe he ran out of time and rushed the last part on Dynamic, Database-Driven Websites. And, of course, the editor also didn't actually check if any steps are missing in the explanations, etc. So everybody saved time and money at the customer's expense. Now that you are forewarned don't be a customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hands Down The Best!, Dec 5 2002
By 
Adrian Severynen (Emeryville, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual is hands-down the best tutorial and reference available on this complex, deep program. Dreamweaver 4: The Missing Manual was already an excellent book, but Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual improves upon it in almost every way.
McFarland has almost doubled the amount of content in this book while maintaining his clear, accessible style. The presentation is clear and easy to read, but there is great depth here (the tips on database integration alone are worth the price of admission). It's one of the few computer books I've seen that I'd feel comfortable recommending to absolute beginners as well as seasoned experts.
Great job, and well worthy of the O'Reilly mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beginner's dream come true!, Feb. 11 2003
By 
Matthew Williams (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. It covers all major functions of Dreamweaver MX with detail and does not rush through the basic functionality. Gives clever insights and warns you of stumbling points and annoyances. The tutorials are very detailed with clear step-by-step instructions. Throughout the book, the author will give references to previous or coming up chapters, which comes in handy. The later chapters that deal with dynamic html can be a bit terse. However, the tutorial in that section is still strong. Plus, there are plenty of other books that will pick up your training from there. This is a great find and a must have for anyone new to dreamweaver MX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to database driven web sites, Dec 5 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
This is a really good introduction to using Dreamweaver MX with database sites. There's a lot of good background detail. I've never worked with databases and web pages before, but this book provided the kind of info I needed to understand how database driven web sites work. AND how to use Dreamweaver to build cool dynamic sites.
The material on Dreamweaver's other features like site management, templates and Cascading Style Sheets is top-notch too. This book is a real winner and unlike a lot of other technical books it gives very clear, understandable descriptions of web page technologies and how to use Dreamweaver to make great sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The missing manual was surely missing!, Aug. 3 2003
By 
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
This is one of the few books that I would recommend. It has good content and tutorials that were actually helpful! I purchased the online training from macromedia and it didn't hold a candle to this book.
It has many areas that are necessary for the development of a real web site. Dreamweaver MX should purchase this content and put it in the box with the software!
There are 24 chapters that focused on the feature sets of the software. There is even an appendix with useful links.
Thanks David for taking the time to write a useful, easy to use book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is where to start your DreamWeaver education, Jan. 5 2004
By 
Riccardo Audano (Chiavari, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
Really outstanding tutorial by a very good author. This book has a fun, entertaining, pedagogical but not wordy style and contains both sound advice and detailed step by step tutorials covering the fundamentals of web page authoring with DW MX. It covers with precision both the Windows and the Mac interface. After this book and some playing around you will be proficient at web content creation and ready to move on to more advanced matters like advanced use of CSS and "artistic" design. A new edition on DW MX 2004 is coming out and will probably be even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual
Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual by David Sawyer McFarland (Paperback - Nov. 14 2002)
CDN$ 54.95
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews