Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A BRILLIANTLY SCULPTURED MANUAL
This "Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual" is one brilliantly sculpture text, which provides authoritative reader-friendly information on the fine software.
With this book, any new user of 'Dreamweaver MX' would find his or her feet in a very short time. In the same vein, experienced users will appreciate its in-depth analysis of every aspect of the...
Published on Jan. 23 2003 by reviewer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A Lazy Sloppy Writer
You know the writer who doesn't bother checking the correct path, the correct titles of the choices, leaves out steps? You know the "author" who is blatantlyly inflating the number of words in the book with the same nerdy jokes repeated thousands of times? It seems the "author" is "new" to dynamic procedures and can't tell the steps he...
Published on July 1 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A BRILLIANTLY SCULPTURED MANUAL, Jan. 23 2003
By 
reviewer (Zurich, Switzerland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
This "Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual" is one brilliantly sculpture text, which provides authoritative reader-friendly information on the fine software.
With this book, any new user of 'Dreamweaver MX' would find his or her feet in a very short time. In the same vein, experienced users will appreciate its in-depth analysis of every aspect of the software, including the occassional highlights it made concerning its limitations. The outlook of this book is refined, and authoritative. Its versatility is superb. It has every important information that users of 'Dreamweaver MX' would need.
Indeed, it is a shame that profit-minded software manufacturers have consistently refused to include any sort of comprehensive users' manual in their packages. But, don't let this opportunity elude you, if you own (or use) 'Dreamweaver MX'. It is worth the asking price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, Dec 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
Never done a site before and I purchased Dreamweaver MX hearing that it was the way to go but maybe a little complicated for someone new to building sites. Well, after several evenings with Dreamweaver going through all the tutorials I thought I had gotten in over my head. I figured I'd give it one more shot after getting a manual.
This book made all the difference. The problem wasn't that the software was too complicated, the problem was the lack of clear documentation. This book clarified all the confusions I had and with a few more hours I was able to get a nice site up and running. It's really a crime the manufacturers don't include real manuals any more. Because of this book, I now think Dreamweaver is the greatest (with the exception of their decision not to include a real manual in the first place).
Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book - It's the only one you'll need, May 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
As an experienced technical writer, this is the first book I've read that is written in the form of a step-by-step procedure. This book is a great help to learning an upgraded version of Dreamweaver. Other authors should take note of its format. Kudos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is where to start your DreamWeaver education, Jan. 6 2004
By 
Riccardo Audano (Chiavari, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
Really outstanding tutorial by a very good author. This book has a fun, entertaining, pedagogical but not wordy style and contains both sound advice and detailed step by step tutorials covering the fundamentals of web page authoring with DW MX. It covers with precision both the Windows and the Mac interface. After this book and some playing around you will be proficient at web content creation and ready to move on to more advanced matters like advanced use of CSS and "artistic" design. A new edition on DW MX 2004 is coming out and will probably be even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have....., Nov. 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
If you want to learn Dreamweaver, this is the book for you. Wonderful examples, tutorials and the writing style is very easy to understand. This book has been absolutely invaluable to me at work and it is never moved to my bookshelf to collect dust. By far the best book I have in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The missing manual was surely missing!, Aug. 3 2003
By 
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
This is one of the few books that I would recommend. It has good content and tutorials that were actually helpful! I purchased the online training from macromedia and it didn't hold a candle to this book.
It has many areas that are necessary for the development of a real web site. Dreamweaver MX should purchase this content and put it in the box with the software!
There are 24 chapters that focused on the feature sets of the software. There is even an appendix with useful links.
Thanks David for taking the time to write a useful, easy to use book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars as good as it gets for the developer, July 31 2003
By 
Felix Rabinovich "3apa3a" (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
I am a developer that is usually annoyed by those visual books that assume that the reader will get a heart attack at the first sight of the code. This book was good to present most of the concepts in developer-friendly manner. And even if you skip a chapter on animation (because it's for "creative" types) or on databases (because it's "for dummies") you are still left with a solid book on how to develop, maintain, and administer your site using a developer-friendly environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, July 26 2003
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
this book will certainly get you going on the right path for dreamweaver, it is a great book, well written, and I certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great overall, July 12 2003
By 
John Gu (Rockaway, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
I am a beginner at dreamweaver and to start off, I bought 2 dreamweaver books; this one and the visual quickstart guide to dreamweaver. This book has been a pleasure to read and I reach for this book first whenever I encounter a problem. I have not had a real chance to compare this book with other dreamweaver books but I'll tell you this: Dreamweaver MX, the missing manual will not let you down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Lazy Sloppy Writer, July 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual (Paperback)
You know the writer who doesn't bother checking the correct path, the correct titles of the choices, leaves out steps? You know the "author" who is blatantlyly inflating the number of words in the book with the same nerdy jokes repeated thousands of times? It seems the "author" is "new" to dynamic procedures and can't tell the steps he outlines are slipshod (and didn't bother following his steps to see if they're correct). Maybe he ran out of time and rushed the last part on Dynamic, Database-Driven Websites. And, of course, the editor also didn't actually check if any steps are missing in the explanations, etc. So everybody saved time and money at the customer's expense. Now that you are forewarned don't be a customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb89a60a8)

This product

Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual
Dreamweaver MX: The Missing Manual by David Sawyer McFarland (Paperback - Nov. 14 2002)
CDN$ 54.95 CDN$ 34.62
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews