Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for programmers.
If you can code you already know PHP, you just need to be "reminded" of all the built in functions and a few little details. This book does just that, cheaply.
Some CGI background is helpfull if you have never done any web programming, but any intelligent programmer should be coding PHP in half an hour with this book.
Published on Sept. 6 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MUCH less helpful than the 1st Edition !!
.
My 1st Edition copy of this book is so well-loved that there is a dirt stripe down the edge of the pages from my flipping through it so often. I bought the 2nd Edition thinking it would be just as good as the first, with the new PHP-4 functions added.
The 2nd Edition is just an alphabetical list of functions, while the 1st Edition was categorized by...
Published on Dec 3 2002 by jneefer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless, Jan. 17 2004
By 
Aaron B. Propst (the internet) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
The book needs an index...
also, the function list.. (very lengthy) is very poorly organized and layed out..
each line starts with the output type of the function.. (int,string,bool) etc.
consequently scanning the index for the function you're looking for is extreemely difficult.
You cant even easily find where you are in the alphabetized list without sifting through a buncha lines starting with 'string','int','bool'
it's a worthless pocket reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MUCH less helpful than the 1st Edition !!, Dec 3 2002
By 
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
.
My 1st Edition copy of this book is so well-loved that there is a dirt stripe down the edge of the pages from my flipping through it so often. I bought the 2nd Edition thinking it would be just as good as the first, with the new PHP-4 functions added.
The 2nd Edition is just an alphabetical list of functions, while the 1st Edition was categorized by usage-type (string functions, database functions, math functions, etc.). If I needed to find a function that did {foo} to a string, I'd look in the strings section until I found a description for an appropriate function. I can't do this with the 2nd Edition and am seriously considering returning it!
If you just need a reference to remind you of parameter order and return-type, get the 2nd Edition.
But if you're like me and want to find the correct function to do what you are looking to accomplish, save your money and buy a used copy of the 1st Edition PHP Pocket Reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment, July 7 2004
By 
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
Don't buy this book; you won't use it. The function explanations are rarely more than a sentence, and worst of all they are many times self-referential.
"string urlencode(string str) - URL-ecodes a string." The function name makes that clear, but what does that mean, if you don't already know? Doesn't that defeat the purpose of referring to a book for clarification?
"array pathinfo(string path) - Returns information about a certain string." Does that description clarify anything beyond the function name?
They should have trimmed out more functions and included more information about the most important ones. Sadly, this is also the book used in Dreamweaver MX 2004 for online help, which is frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent fly swatter or pocket strecher!!, Sept. 10 2002
By 
MK "MK" (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
The binding of this book really is thin and tight enough to easily swat a fly--for those of you who have already bought this book, give it a try!
But really, the content of this book is hardly what one would call a reference; it's no more than a categorized list of functions with extremely short descriptions of each one. If you've ever seen or read O'Reilly's Java in a nutshell book, then you know what a reference should be like; this is not like it. I probably looked at this book a couple times only, realizing both times it could not help me.
You really can't use this book to learn PHP, and it's reference is not descriptive enough, so it's a lose-lose situation. At first I was disappointed when I ordered it online thinking I wasting away... perfectly good [money], especially since I can find all and more I need of reference at PHP.net, but then I realized this book is perfect for your bookshelf when you need a really thin book to fit in between other books to preven them from wobbling or swaying, giving a perfect snug fit. Don't buy it if you don't need it. But buy it if you don't care about wasting [money].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Order, Jan. 22 2002
By 
Michael P. Long "mplong" (Charlotte NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
My biggest complaint with this book is that functions are listed in categories instead of alphabetical. The one thing I love about the Programming Perl book is I can flip right to the page I want and see the syntax, examples, etc. of a function. With this book here I am spending 5 minutes trying to find the entry for the function. By that time I could have gone to php.net and found the info there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not for Learning Basics, Oct. 14 2001
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
Aside from the fact that this book is now outdated I must disagree with the Editorial Review that says "This small book acts as a perfect tutorial for learning the basics of developing Web applications with PHP."
For someone who has never used PHP before (unless perhaps they are an experienced programmer) this would not be a good starting point. It is strictly a reference for those who already have some knowledge and experience with PHP and for that it is very good.
Anyone who has O'Reilly's "Webmaster in a Nutshell", 2nd Edition does not need this book as it is the same as Nutshell's section on PHP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for programmers., Sept. 6 2001
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
If you can code you already know PHP, you just need to be "reminded" of all the built in functions and a few little details. This book does just that, cheaply.
Some CGI background is helpfull if you have never done any web programming, but any intelligent programmer should be coding PHP in half an hour with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for programmers., Sept. 6 2001
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
If you can code you already know PHP, you just need to be "reminded" of all the built in functions and a few little details. This book does just that, cheaply.
Some CGI background is helpfull if you have never done any web programming, but any intelligent programmer should be coding PHP in half an hour with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a good format for a scripting tool reference., May 21 2001
By 
Michael Ernest "JavaRanch Sheriff" (Berkeley, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
I disagree with the reviewer who said this book is lacking an index. This book *is* an index, and not a terribly helpful one.
A Nutshell-type book makes more sense for a robust scripting tool. PHP is not a trivial or admin-oriented language; if you want to sell *any* reader on its virtues, you have to show what the language can do.
As a co-author of the The Java 2 Certification Study Guide, I can tell you exactly what readers think of a list of calls in print -- we used to have 200+ pages of that in the back of our book. Anyone who had anything to say about it called it filler, and they were right.
Make a PHP Nutshell book, and get someone like Flanagan to write it. Believe me, we'll buy it. Admittedly,I wasn't expecting a whole lot more than I got for the price of this book. But when an info-holic has a book he won't crack twice on a long plane ride, something's wrong with the book. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother!, April 7 2001
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
If you want to learn PHP, there are other books on Amazon that actually teach it. If you want a good reference, php.net is the best place to go because it's up to date and each function reference includes user/developer comments. PHP changes so often that this book was probably outdated as soon as it was published. On top of that, it's really just a list, with no index. Although I'm a big fan of these O'Reilly pocket books, this one was a waste of my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2aa242c)

This product

PHP Pocket Reference
PHP Pocket Reference by Rasmus Lerdorf (Paperback - Nov. 21 2002)
CDN$ 14.95 CDN$ 9.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews