Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Money-Saving Compilation
This book is what exactly you expect from O'Reilly - great tips, well written, carefully organized and attractively formatted.
It may be that all this information is available for free at various sites on the internet. That does not detract from the value of having valuable information at your fingertips when you need it. Each hack in the book can be located and...
Published on Feb. 4 2004 by Craig L. Howe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, FAST READ FOR THE LAYMAN. DO YOU KNOW GOOGLE LABS?
If you are looking for a compilation of googling tips and tricks in a neatly bound format, with a useful index and great visuals, this little collection is as good as it gets. The book is expected O'Reilly cadre -- crisply written by pros who aren't winging it.
Yet, it still puzzles me why this info was necessary in a book form, particularly given the most likely...
Published on Oct. 23 2003 by Shashank Tripathi


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book but the info can be found elsewhere, June 6 2004
This review is from: Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks (Paperback)
I found Google Hacks to be very good as a book that compiles the tips and tricks of using the google site. The only issue is that most of the info is easily available from web sites and other free sources if you know where to look.
The book is well written and concise. If you use google alot or need specialized info on google I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Money-Saving Compilation, Feb. 4 2004
By 
Craig L. Howe (Darien, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks (Paperback)
This book is what exactly you expect from O'Reilly - great tips, well written, carefully organized and attractively formatted.
It may be that all this information is available for free at various sites on the internet. That does not detract from the value of having valuable information at your fingertips when you need it. Each hack in the book can be located and read in minutes, saving hours of "free" search time. That alone makes the book's price a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Google Hacks Rock!, Jan. 10 2004
By 
Jean Marie Rault (Watkinsville, GA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks (Paperback)
I used to say that if you give me five minutes, I can find what I'm looking for on the web. After reading this book, I may have to revise that to three minutes. If you get a chance to get this book, do so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book, Dec 19 2003
This review is from: Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks (Paperback)
I am a Search Engine Optimization Consultant myself and I must say that this book is really worth a buy and deserves a prime spot on your Book Shelf. I know some people say that things are pretty much standard....but you just can't expect something to Hack into Google in this book. It is basically a very NICELY organized source of Tips and Tricks to use Google and somethings that work out wonderful because of the Google API.
Overall a must read and a great publication from O'Reilly. if you need more details or personally comments about this book, feel free to email me or IM me. My contact info is available at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Google Hacks - Sure Reveals!, Dec 7 2003
This review is from: Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks (Paperback)
A chance glance read,'Google Hacks' at a local Bookstore, this one's not the cup of tea for a casual surfer. If one is an HTML expert and excel in scripting language, here's a pick and a cool read. It helps trying new ways to innovate, charges a hacker for productive and constructive use of web enhanced applications. I have a Google Developer Key for 'sambhaav' but never really knew how to use it and this book has tremendous info on the API application. Web Developers would benefit greatly with this book, no doubt, with tips on how to build and modify scripts that can be custom based application on google. This book, not for surfers or casual web designers like me but who indeed aware of Programming and using codes n scripts n perl n xml n what not! Google is an ultimate research tool and a great search engine with good ad words links I like - my fav nex to 'yahoo' search and sure, my websites feature top with key words 'net newspaper for kids' and sure, you find all stars. Google Hacks - a great read for all Web Developers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, FAST READ FOR THE LAYMAN. DO YOU KNOW GOOGLE LABS?, Oct. 23 2003
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks (Paperback)
If you are looking for a compilation of googling tips and tricks in a neatly bound format, with a useful index and great visuals, this little collection is as good as it gets. The book is expected O'Reilly cadre -- crisply written by pros who aren't winging it.
Yet, it still puzzles me why this info was necessary in a book form, particularly given the most likely intended audience. Most or even ALL of this info is available either on Google itself, especially on "Google Labs", or on frequently read websites such as Slashdot or Kuro5hin.
Recommended if you want to skip some on-computer reading, but I am still waiting to find tricks here that I haven't found elsewhere on the net for a whopping $0.00.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, Oct. 22 2003
By 
hang10web (Midwest, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks (Paperback)
If you want a great resource to maximize your Google search, the first 90 pages or so are for you. I have picked up quite a few tricks that I now use everyday in my research at work.
The bulk of the book deals with the API, and writing applications with it, or integrating it into your exisiting web pages. The next 40 pages or so get you started and are at a level that almost any web developer can understand and apply.
After that, the book hits the API pretty hard, and you are going to need a Google Developer key, and some knowledge or Perl or other scripting language to really make use of it. Even if you dont regularly use Perl, if you know any script at all you can follow along, and it is actually very interesting.
If you are looking for a end-to end Google user's guide, you will find some of that here, but web developers will benefit most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Become a Good Hacker and Effectively Find Info, Sept. 25 2003
This review is from: Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks (Paperback)
Google is powerful for basic searches, which most people conduct by entering a few keywords and letting Google do the rest. Imagine the possibilities especially researchers, students, writers, professionals, and anyone who need to find specific or obscure information just by learning a few tricks. Entering _book reviews_ pulls out any resource having both words in it, not necessarily together as a phrase. Add quotes to "book reviews" and the results display sites with book reviews together as a phrase. This hardly unleashes Google's power. Even entering the keywords in a specific order can affect the results.
You can search around Google's Web site to learn lesser known tips and tricks, but you won't find most of the hacks on the Internet without, ironically, hard searching. As a fervent reader, too often I read well-written books and never take the time to apply the tools and techniques. While reading this one, I immediately put the newfound knowledge to use with cool results and still use it though it's been a few weeks since I opened the book.
You may be aware Google offers Google News, which searches and provides the latest news ([...] But did you know Google News supports two syntaxes? They are "intitle" and "site." "Intitle" searches for keywords within the headline or new item's title while "site" looks for the keyword in a specific site. The authors are straightforward when they mention Google News is not one of the best places for news.
Non-techies, don't let the fact that O'Reilly and Associates is the publisher scare you away because the company's books are often synonymous with high tech topics and the name "hacks" in its title. It doesn't mean "bad" as a hack is also known as a trick or add-on for adding more power to a program or system. The tech-speak is kept to a minimum, which makes the hacks easy to read and reference. The book has tips for beginners, moderate users, and experts and each hack is represented by thermometer's temperature (high for expert and low for easy) for easy reference.
Techies and programmers have nothing to fear as the book covers APIs (Application Programming Interface), which provide a basic building block for building software applications. In other words, Google Web APIs ([...]) allow developers to query Google's search tool for use in developing software that accesses the many Web sites through Google. For example, a Web site providing the latest news on books and the book industry could use the Google API to regularly update the site with any new news relating to books. APIs for PHP, Python, ASP, C#, .NET, VB, and Java are included.
Try out some of the hacks and get tips from other readers from the O'Reilly's Hacks Web site ([...]) and Tara Calishain's ResearchBuzz buzztoolbox ([...] Reduce the time you spend sifting through garbage by hacking your way with Google using this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a web developer, Sept. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks (Paperback)
I am a beginner web developer. I heard a lot about this book and heard I should get it. From the content I read it is outstanding but a little advanced. And for actual web developing and understanding Google there is only one chapter that focused on what I needed.
And in my opinion was worth the buy. And frankly I didn't want to share this review because I don't want my competition knowing the secrets. There was a reason this was a best seller. The section about how to get 15K visitors a day makes you take a hard look at your current website. It provides the rights and wrongs and hints at sticking with legitimate website building techniques. Keeps you honest. Which is the way it should be. And for that honesty you get rewarded handsomely on the search engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title, Aug. 14 2003
By 
Joshua Drake (Westfield, IN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks (Paperback)
The bulk of this book deals with applications created using the Google API. Even the discussion of the API itself is limited. All of the hacks relevant to the search engine itself are contained in the Google Pocket Guide.
If you are looking for ideas on what can be done with the Google API, or how to use the applications that others have written, then this book might be for you. However, if you are looking for tips and things to tinker with - hacks, regarding the search engine, do not bother with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks
Google Hacks: 100 Industrial-Strength Tips & Tricks by Rael Dornfest (Paperback - March 10 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews