Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This book is pure gold, May 8 2012
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
This book is one of the smallest, yet most useful books I have. It lists all the commands used on daily basis, and many more. Shows everything by example.

This is a must have command reference. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Linux Guide that is Short and Sweet! Worth the $!, July 14 2004
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
It's no secret, there's a lot of books about Linux on the market today. Linux is HOT!! But it's also no secret that a lot of publishers have been jumping on the bandwagon churning out Linux books just to get a piece of the action. This Oreilly pocket guide is everything you would expect from an Oreilly book: thorough, succinct, and worth the money.
The book has a great structure, covering the basics and then going into commands. The commands are organized in functional groups. So if you want to do some user administration, just thumb to that section and all the relevant comands are at your fingertips.
There's enough detail about each command that you can actually use it. The author also often tells you how the command is "usually used," which is helpful. There's even some basics sprinkled in about programming and shell syntax. It's awesome that they actually put useful stuff in a pocket guide!
Whether you're an advanced administrator or a beginner, this book is worth the investment. It has enough info to be a quick reference, but it's clearly written enough to be a primer for beginners. ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Linux guide for beginners and power users alike, July 6 2004
By 
Bettadapura Sharma (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
Barrett's compact book (191 pages) covers the most frequently used commands in Fedora Linux. He has done an excellent job of covering the most useful commands with their most useful arguments. The book begins with a brief introduction to Fedora Linux, shell and command structure. Next, the commands are arranged in logically related groups beginning with login & logout and ending with audio & video commands, with file system, shell, installing software, basic file operations, directory operations, file viewing, file creation & editing, file properties, file location, file text manipulation, file compression & packaging, file comparison, disks & file systems, backups & remote storage, file printing, spelling operations, viewing processes, controlling processes, users & their environment, working with user accounts, working with groups, basic host information, host location, network connections, email, web browsing, usenet news, instant messaging, screen output, math & calculations, dates & times, scheduling jobs, graphics & screen savers in between. This is followed by an easy to understand tutorial on shell scripts. There is an excellent index.
The book is technically accurate. I found only one questionable term - 'superusers'. Since Linux allows only one superuser ('root'), the word 'superusers' may cause confusion by suggesting the possibility of multiple superuser accounts.
This short and handy guide will be an excellent book to sit next to (or on top of) your system so that you don't have to use man pages to look up commands and squint your eyes to read the folded lines. It is also a great book for a new Linux user so that he or she doesn't have to pore over huge reference books for day to day Linux use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide for all Linux users, April 15 2004
By 
Todd Hawley (San Francisco CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
Anyone who uses Linux will benefit from this handy pocket guide which lists general Linux commands for various tasks, ranging from directory operations, file commands, locating files, doing backups, controlling various processes, to working on the Internet (web browsing, Usenet news, email, and network connections). There are lots of commands listed here. No, this is not a general reference book by any means (and there are lots of Linux reference books around), but it is just the thing when you need to look up a specific command fast. All commands are listed with their syntax and a brief explanation of what they do.
The book discusses in a little detail about Fedora, Red Hat's "free Linux OS." It also goes into some descriptions about running a shell, logins and logouts, filesystems, and home and system directories. Again this book covers the basics and it assumes the readers already have a decent knowledge of Linux. Since Linux does so many things and it's next to impossible to remember every single command, a book like this is handy to have on your desk when you can't remember a specific command.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excelent quick reference and quick start guide, June 18 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
I was a fairly new Linux starter, I bought this book as my quick learning guide, it gives me most of the common commands I need to know in very well structure format and with examples. This is one of the most handy book I have been using for linux so far all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, June 21 2004
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
I was often reluctant to buy this kind of books. Often because I think the same info can be found on the Internet.
But in the case of this book, I liked it. The presentation is easy to carry with you, choose a topic and see the commands related to the topic. There is nothing new in the book, but it is a good and quick reference guide to new users in Linux and old users.
In my own case, I have 4 years using Linux and I found some interesting topics inside. It is a nice reference guide to have at hand at any time working on Linux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile reading for beginners and advanced users, March 27 2004
By 
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
I've been using Linux since 1996, and this book still gave me some new tips and information to make better use of my Linux system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep it near the computer, March 19 2004
By 
init2null (WA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
The Linux Pocket Guide is filled with useful command descriptions that should prove beneficial to all. I really appreciated the examples and the task-oriented reviews.
In addition, it provides information on file system layout, on the shell, on basic shell scripting, and even on basic commands in emacs and vim.
While Linux has nearly escaped from requiring command-line understanding at all, I believe all users will need or have an opportunity to be benefited by the command-line at some point, and I think this book is an excellent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something for everybody ...., March 14 2004
By 
David L. Debonnaire (Kempen, NRW Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
I have just received the "Linux Pocket Guide", and am very pleased about the way it can and does help me, and it will definitely help others too. The `door' to the inner workings of Linux, can be painlessly pried open after all!
For a Linux novice such as myself very useful and informative - there is enough information - and more importantly - with examples, to whet the appetite, but not to drown the reader in mind-boggling detail. The 'Man' or 'Info' pages are enough to put a newbie off for life. The supplied URLs to other informative sources are also very useful.
This guide also helps to dispel some of the mystique that perhaps some *nix wizards like to project around the subject - that is my sad experience in many News-Groups, when asking questions of established `Gurus'.
I would be very interested to see more such works in various - for Linux newbies at least - other Linux `problem' zones.
For Windows fugitives/Linux novices - and even for slightly forgetful experts - a *must* have .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as title promises., March 8 2004
By 
Tim Greer "Mr. Tim" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
This is a well rounded guide that gets right to the point and serves its purpose well. With easily referenced material/subjects (that goes into even more detail when needed), you will likely find everything you'll need using in this one book, without the need for a 'bible' with a lot of discussions that are ultimately irrelevant to the information you seek. A definite for a beginner, and a good reminder or reference on some subjects you may not have touched on over the years for those with experience. And, for the size, this book has a lot and touches on many topics. Well formatted and easy to follow. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Linux Pocket Guide
Linux Pocket Guide by Daniel J. Barrett (Paperback - Feb. 28 2004)
CDN$ 14.95
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews