Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for starting out
As an experienced Java programmer, it's refreshing to find a book on a new technology that focuses on the technology and not my Java skills. This book gets a programmer up and running in minutes. I went through the first half of the book (doing all the examples) in about 90 minutes. It'll give you a full Hibernate installation and a good idea of whether or not you need...
Published on July 9 2004 by M. Loy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but a couple of things missing
This book is very good to get you started with understanding and using Hibernate.
I understand that this book is not meant to cover every aspect of Hibernate but not covering at all optimistic locking, component mapping and inheritance was a bit disapointing.
If you are serious about using Hibernate on a project expect to have to read Hibernate in Action and the...
Published on July 16 2004 by fbeauregard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good but a couple of things missing, July 16 2004
This review is from: Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook (Paperback)
This book is very good to get you started with understanding and using Hibernate.
I understand that this book is not meant to cover every aspect of Hibernate but not covering at all optimistic locking, component mapping and inheritance was a bit disapointing.
If you are serious about using Hibernate on a project expect to have to read Hibernate in Action and the reference documentation.
Overall, a good book to get you started and have a few examples that you can refer to when using Hibernate on a project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for starting out, July 9 2004
By 
M. Loy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook (Paperback)
As an experienced Java programmer, it's refreshing to find a book on a new technology that focuses on the technology and not my Java skills. This book gets a programmer up and running in minutes. I went through the first half of the book (doing all the examples) in about 90 minutes. It'll give you a full Hibernate installation and a good idea of whether or not you need to invest more time in Hibernate.
I co-authored the Java Swing title with Jim Elliott and knew I would enjoy this book. Even so, I'm impressed with its concise nature and I applaud O'Reilly for putting the right price tag on it. It's not the last book you'll ever buy on Hibernate, but it should definitely be your first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to try out, July 1 2004
By 
W Boudville (Terra, Sol 3) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook (Paperback)
A very recent open source aid to handling the mapping of Java onto a SQL database. The need is unquestioned, because of the impedance difference between Java's objects and the relational nature of the database.
Elliott shows how Hibernate is pitched at java programmers, who may not be as fluent in writing JDBC to SQL. Plus, java code that uses JDBC is usually pretty grotty. Lots of string manipulations to prepare those query statements.
The code Elliott gives certainly seems more concise and elegant. The importance of the latter should be appreciated, for more than just aesthetic reaons. It makes code easier to understand and debug. Learning and using Hibernate's classes (and there aren't that many of them, which helps) feels more natural that the string constructions of queries.
Another point in the book's favour is that you can quickly read it and starting trying it out. So even if it and Hibernate turn out not be right for you, it is a modest investment of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST first book on Hibernate, July 1 2004
By 
Vinit Carpenter "j2eegeek.com/blog" (Brookfield, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook (Paperback)
Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook is the first in the new Developer's Notebook series from O'Reilly. The Developer's Notebook series is a new line of books from O'Reilly that are concise, lab-style guides that have plenty of examples and emphasize practice over theory. For being the first one, O'Reilly has hit a home run with this book.
Hibernate is a lightweight, high performance object/relational persistence and query service for Java. Hibernate allows you to work easily and efficiently with information from a relational database in the form of natural Java objects following common Java idiom - including association, inheritance, polymorphism, composition and the Java collections framework
Written by James Elliott, Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook is an excellent must-own book for anyone interesting in learning more about Hibernate. James does a great job in explaining the topic at hand in a clear and concise manner. All the concepts are explained via examples, which make it easy to follow and learn.
Staring with installation and the setup of your development environment, the book walks you through examples where you build on a small application as you progress through the book learning the subtleties and nuances of Hibernate. This book is extremely readable and is small enough to read cover to cover in a day. My pattern for reading technical books involves reading (or skimming) the book cover to cover before doing a deep dive and working through all the code examples. I found the examples easy to follow and they did a great job in building on the concepts of Hibernate.
I know that Hibernate founder Gavin King and Christian Bauer, a member of the core Hibernate developer team have just finished their new book Hibernate in Action due to ship in August 2004. I am really looking forward to that book and have pre-ordered that book. Having said that, I still highly recommend this O'Reilly book.
I had read a couple of articles on Hibernate and had played with some simple examples but this book gave me all the knowledge and tools to start using Hibernate in a real application. This is a really well written, concise guide to Hibernate and well worth the purchase price. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to learn more about Hibernate and is a great first Hibernate book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great beginning!, June 24 2004
By 
Andrew J. Wellman (Castle Rock, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook (Paperback)
Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook is a great book. While the book does not cover O/R Mapping or Hibernate from ALL angles, but how could it in less than 200 pages? I bought this book hoping to get my feet wet so that I could start working with Hibernate right away and work my way into the rest. That is exactly what this book provides.
The examples in the book are easy to understand, evolve well over the course of the book, and teach useful tips such as configuring Ant to work with Hibernate and how to utilize the mapping techniques. What's more is the author's style is easy to follow and neither to wordy nor too watered down. The book has a good conversational style -- as the title implies developer to developer. Most importantly of all, this book is not intimidating. Instead of wading through 100 pages of introduction, this book gets after the business of learning Hibernate right away! Many technology books try to be everything to everyone and I find myself bored before I get to the meat of the book. That's not a problem with this book.
If I had one to pick on small issue, I would like to have seen the core topics (especially collection mapping techniques) covered in more detail and less time spent on topics like custom types. As I pointed out earlier, my goal was to get a good basis to start working and cover the advanced topics later; Custom types are not something I am ready to "jump" into right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, but not an end-all book, June 16 2004
By 
"j_murray" (Miami Beach, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook (Paperback)
This is the kind of book that will get you on your way to using Hibernate, but you will quickly outgrow it. It is laid out much better than the Hibernate Reference Documentation. After a couple of weeks, you will treat it mostly as a quick reference guide.
Thankfully the book is priced correctly. Too often, a book with this amount of content would still be in the 35-45 price range with a bunch of fluff and filler added in to justify the price. They kept this one short and sweet and chock full of little examples and tip. They kept the appendix fluff to a minimum.
If it was a little more detailed, I'd give it 5 stars. You'll still need the reference doc from Hibernate, but this will get you up and running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to Hibernate O/R Technology, June 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook (Paperback)
I am using hibernate for project and was in need of a good book about the subject. Since Hibernate in Action was not published yet, this little book came in handy. It is a great reference source and you will be able to get started with no fuss using this book.
All the fluff has been trimmed out and you will certainly get your money's worth. Although the book has less than 200 pages, it is packed witht the essentials to get you running quickly.
If you have been pondering about an O/R technology, this book will help you make up your mind. All the major topics (from hibernate's ref book) are covered including 1) setup 2) code gen 3)associations/relations augmented 4)query & criteria 5)Enum.
This book is an excellent companion to the online Hibernate's refernence materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb29563fc)

This product

Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook
Hibernate: A Developer's Notebook by James Elliott (Paperback - May 20 2004)
CDN$ 36.95 CDN$ 23.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews