Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Up to date, complete and thorough
This book covers all the important things to know about network programming in JDK1.3 and Java2. The content and quality is how you expect it from O'Reilly books: thorough, complete, practical with clear examples, and with a good theoretic foundation.
The first three chapters provide theory about basic network and web concept and explains what you can do with Java...
Published on Feb. 4 2001 by Cees van Barneveldt

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misapprehensions and misinformation. Avoid.
Avoid. This book appears to have quite a reputation, but despite being in its 2nd edition, it is riddled with errors. The book exhibits some fundamental misapprehensions about TCP/IP; as a result it perpetrates some astonishing misinformation, much of it quite basic. Partial list: the nature of a socket close operation; what IOException when closing a socket means; what...
Published on July 8 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misapprehensions and misinformation. Avoid., July 8 2001
By A Customer
Avoid. This book appears to have quite a reputation, but despite being in its 2nd edition, it is riddled with errors. The book exhibits some fundamental misapprehensions about TCP/IP; as a result it perpetrates some astonishing misinformation, much of it quite basic. Partial list: the nature of a socket close operation; what IOException when closing a socket means; what happens when the listen backlog is exceeded; specification of the ServerSocket constructors; Nagle's algorithm (Socket.setTcpNoDelay); linger; keepalive; etc etc.
Of the examples which do work, the PortScanner and LocalPortScanner are provided in versions which perpetrate atrocities on the local machine and network by not closing sockets. Multi-homing very cursorily treated, not even indexed. Firewalls apparently treated in one page. Role of TTL in multicast apparently ignored.
The text is verbose and repetitive, and a number of the examples are irrelevant. Fully 50% of the Sockets for Servers chapter consists of a rather irrelevant excursion into HTTP and HTML; the examples have bugs, not that they have much point. Also, what pray have HTML rendering and parsing in Swing got to do with networking? 30 irrelevant pages on this; nice to have, but why here?
Author seems to think HotSpot is a JIT. Typos in the index, not encouraging. Many impending JDK 1.4 enhancements will shortly obsolete this book. Avoid it. For TCP/IP and UDP fundamentals, buy W.R. Stevens Unix Network Programming. -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Network Programming Book with Few Network Topics..., Nov. 3 2001
Java Network Programming is a great topic and very challenging to write about. In the past decade, Client Server and Networking where the most popular topics in the industry.
Initially, Java was not an Internet/Web language oriented. Later versions, the language migrated into a more network oriented and became the language of choice among financial institutions, and others, because of its high productivity capabilities (mainly, shorter development curve.)
Here are a few points that I'd like to make concerning this book:
1. The authors took on themselves a very large assignment, rather than reducing the scope of the book, so they could deal efficiently with the content and represent it in more technical details and depth, just as O'Reilly publication does so often. The variety of topics discussed in the book could be topics for books themselves, such as Web Concepts, Threads, Java I/O...
2. A few topics are not directly affiliated with Networking, such as Threads, Java Mail API, etc. I was surprised to find the "HTML in Swing" chapter, which is a total shift from the Networking Layer to the Presentation Layer.
3. The book is missing important and advanced topics in Networking, such as IIOP, Distributed Objects, EJB and maybe CORBA. I was surprised to find a chapter about RMI - an old form of distributed objects, which was replaced by IIOP and EJB in recent years. RMI was combined with IIOP (RMI/IIOP) because its poor performance. Why would anyone want to study an old topic?
4. This book is lacking of a conceptual discussion about Networking Layers in general, to help users understand why with Java, Network Programming could be a piece of cake... Conceptually speaking, indeed, with Java it's a much easier task.
5. The bright spot here are the samples that are almost in a "copy and paste" condition. They are easy to understand and implement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Misapprehensions and misinformation. Avoid., July 8 2001
By A Customer
Avoid. This book appears to have quite a reputation, but despite being in its 2nd edition, it is riddled with errors. The book exhibits some fundamental misapprehensions about TCP/IP; as a result it perpetrates some astonishing misinformation, much of it quite basic. Partial list: the nature of a socket close operation; what IOException when closing a socket means; what happens when the listen backlog is exceeded; specification of the ServerSocket constructors; Nagle's algorithm (Socket.setTcpNoDelay); linger; keepalive; etc etc.
Of the examples which do work, the PortScanner and LocalPortScanner are provided in versions which perpetrate atrocities on the local machine and network by not closing sockets. Multi-homing very cursorily treated, not even indexed. Firewalls apparently treated in one page. Role of TTL in multicast apparently ignored.
The text is verbose and repetitive, and a number of the examples are irrelevant. Fully 50% of the Sockets for Servers chapter consists of a rather irrelevant excursion into HTTP and HTML; the examples have bugs, not that they have much point. Also, what pray have HTML rendering and parsing in Swing got to do with networking? 30 irrelevant pages on this; nice to have, but why here?
Author seems to think HotSpot is a JIT. Typos in the index, not encouraging. Many impending JDK 1.4 enhancements will shortly obsolete this book. Avoid it. For TCP/IP and UDP fundamentals, buy W.R. Stevens Unix Network Programming. -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up to date, complete and thorough, Feb. 4 2001
By 
This book covers all the important things to know about network programming in JDK1.3 and Java2. The content and quality is how you expect it from O'Reilly books: thorough, complete, practical with clear examples, and with a good theoretic foundation.
The first three chapters provide theory about basic network and web concept and explains what you can do with Java networking. A lo of very interesting things, and that motivated me to read further. Chapter 4 and 5 are about Java I/O and threads and might be redundant for Java programmers, who already know basic Java stuff. But those chapters are necessary to understand the examples in all the following chapters. Chapter 6-19 deal with all the various networking topics and Java classes that deal with URL's, Internet addresses, sockets and datagrams, protocol and content handlers, RMI and JavaMail. The organization of these last chapters is topical; in most of the times you can understand a chapter without reading the previous ones, just pick out the one that you are interested in. (Interesting chapter about parsing HTML with JEditorPane, Swing has some unexpected applications!)
I think the author gave a complete and thorough coverage of all the necessary topics. The author does not stray from its topics, is sometimes a bit dry in his explanations, and gives some important side information, e.g. about security aspects of the different Java versions in regards to RMI.
Take in mind that this is the second edition from August 2000, updated to Java2, with some 200 or more extra pages, and we can use this book for the next couple of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Intro to Networking with Java, June 5 2001
By 
David C. Johnson (Spencer, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this book. Absolutely love it. One of the great things here is the tie in of network programming with java's IO classes. Networking in Java is IO, and this book explains it upfront.
The overviews of IO and Threading in the first couple of chapters can really solidify these topics if you are sketchy on them. The rest of the book is dedicated to going over the .net classes & explaining each one, providing in depth/useful examples for each.
The appendix of the book give a good enough overview of RMI & JavaMail, more than enough to get you going using either package.
While this is not a book for total beginners, if you need to learn the .net package, or want to take your Java skills to the network, buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, March 28 2001
By 
Glen B. Pepicelli (Schenectady, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good, but not great.
Before I read this book I had no clue on how to write a network program. This book does an excellent job of taking you from knowing nothing to being ready to take a crack at it.
Contains two great chapters on i/o and threads that you will need.
However, I thought that it left some obvious questions unanswered. I had the search the net to fill in the gaps. For example, I want to write a telnet enabled application but the book left me in the dark as to when to get the tools to construct one (doing it from scratch is a big waste of time). BTW the tools aren't in the JDK exactly but are available (for free) elsewhere, kindaof like the RE packages are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough but not very user friendly, June 17 2001
By A Customer
Let me start off by saying that the content is very thorough. It covers the topic extremely well, and the examples are good. This book, however, is not for the newcomer to Java. It is assumed that you are fairly familiar with the language, and the examples are not explained very well. The text is also a bit dry. I found it hard to sit down and read.
Dispite the minor issue of user friendliness, this is an excellent reference on the subject of networking, and I recommed it to anyone who knows Java fairly well and wants to expand their horizons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, easy and fun to read, May 19 2001
By A Customer
If you really want to understand how networking works in Java, buy this book and read it. You will not be disappointed.
The book does an excellent job of documenting how the java.net package works and an even better job of displaying useful examples. Very rarely do I find my self compiling and running code examples given in books. However, with this book I did it routinely because they were just to tempting not to run!
I found the chapters on HTML parsing, Threads, Sockets, JavaMail and RMI to be the most useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SOLID NETWORK PROGRAMMING INTRODUCTION, Aug. 29 2000
By 
Gopal V. Wunnava "Gopal Wunnava" (Woodbridge, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is pretty complete as far as covering the fundamentals of java network programming is concerned.However, it provides not much more information than what the first edition covered.Most of the chapters seem the same, and some have been re arranged.Manning's book covers more topics,but this book gives better explanation of the concepts like RMI etc.Overall, a good addition to the shelf,but if you already have the first edition of this book, might want to consider Manning's book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction for Network Programming with Java, Jan. 7 2001
By 
I really think this is a wonderful book, touches many network subjects, and provides a decent background coverage. I haven't read the previous version whom many of the other reviewers said was outdated, but this book seems very up to date, and discusses the new network capabilities of Java 1.3. To sum it up, I think this book provides an excellent introduction to Java network programming, and will be good to anyone who needs to learn this information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Java Network Programming
Java Network Programming by Elliotte Rusty Harold (Paperback - Nov. 5 2004)
CDN$ 45.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews