Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars good material, but not for users (its for admins)
i recently wrote a review of this book on openbsd journal at [web page] overall, this is the best ipv6 book i have read so far. hagen covers the standards with clarity and skill, and presents the information well. the illustrations are pretty good at showing the structure of the packets and the formats.
ipv6 essentials does well with explaining the internals of ipv6...
Published on Nov. 9 2002 by jose_monkey_org

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's for developers, not admins!
The book details the IPv6 protocol in excruciating detail, with packet diagrams, etc. It shows the details of addressing, routing, etc. A good book for a developer who is creating an IPv6 protocol stack or an application developer.
However, for system administrators there is only ONE chapter of interest - and that chapter should have been made into an entire book...
Published on Jan. 10 2004 by David G. Douthitt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars good material, but not for users (its for admins), Nov. 9 2002
This review is from: IPv6 Essentials (Paperback)
i recently wrote a review of this book on openbsd journal at [web page] overall, this is the best ipv6 book i have read so far. hagen covers the standards with clarity and skill, and presents the information well. the illustrations are pretty good at showing the structure of the packets and the formats.
ipv6 essentials does well with explaining the internals of ipv6. routing, control messages, structures, advantages. this is fantastic, and if you're looking to learn ipv6 internals or thinking about migrating a network to support ipv6, this is a great book.
however, this book isn't for a typical user of a network. if you're at home and want to start on ipv6 (ie by tunneling to the 6bone), you're going to be at a loss. this book is slim on how t get up and running on ipv6 on windows, linux, bsd, etc ... this is its biggest weakness. other weaknesses include a lack of solid material for configuring routers for ipv6 (ie QoS, the intricacies of the routing protocols and integration), migrating applications (ie DNS zones), and security (it focuses only on IPsec).
as such, i give this book a "fair" review. it's good at what it does, but it really left me wanting a lot more useful information. not a typical oreilly book (which usually focuses on actually using stuff). 3.5 stars or so ...
having spoken to the author, recently, it turns out that a detailed protocol level discussion, as opposed to implementation, was her goal. and it was well met, so i'm bumping this to 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource for IPv6, Nov. 22 2003
By 
C Shin (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: IPv6 Essentials (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on IPv6 that does not shy away from providing details at every corner of the protocol. I've seen books in the past with twice the pages but hardly provide a fraction of the information you will find in this book, presented in a concise but comprehensive manner.
It is an excellent resource for IPv6 particularly to readers with background in IPv4. Not only does the author try to highlight the differences between the two protocols (take for example how the two header formats have evolved), she also explains the motivation behind each change along the way.
Of course, the author's diligent quotation of all relevant RFCs, including the ones being obsoleted where applicable, turns the book into a valuable "hypertext style" reference for IPv6, where the reader can delve further into particular areas of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource for IPv6, Nov. 23 2003
By 
C Shin (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: IPv6 Essentials (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on IPv6 that does not shy away from providing details at every corner of the protocol. I've seen books in the past with twice the pages but hardly provide a fraction of the information you will find in this book, presented in a concise but comprehensive manner.
It is an excellent resource for IPv6 particularly to readers with background in IPv4. Not only does the author try to highlight the differences between the two protocols (take for example how the new header format has evolved), she also explains the motivation behind each change along the way.
Of course, the author's diligent quotation of all relevant RFCs, including the ones being obsoleted where applicable, turns the book into a valuable "hypertext style" reference for IPv6, where the reader can delve further into particular areas of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read, Feb. 28 2004
This review is from: IPv6 Essentials (Paperback)
"I'd been perusing the writing of an author who had managed to provide excellent information in a manner that I can only describe as joyful. Reading this book is almost like reading a novel by Isaac Asimov. You practically devour the book and once your done, you know you've been somewhere else for a while and you've returned changed...Whether you're ready to start implementing IPv6 or are creating plans for upcoming implementation, 'IPv6 Essentials' will provide the foundation you need to get started." --Jim Huddle, Copyright kickstartnews.com, July 2003 [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book you need for covering all IPv6 related topics., Jan. 14 2004
By 
Yehoshoua Sasson (Newton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IPv6 Essentials (Paperback)
I am an engineer who has some know how in IPv6. This book is the best out of what available today in explaining all IPv6 major subjects. Reading this book can give a whole and a clear picture of what is underneath the hood. I used it to read on a topic and only afterwards I referred for the RFC for the details. Other books that I came across do not do a good job as this book is doing. If you want to really understand how things are working in IPv6, this is the book to go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's for developers, not admins!, Jan. 10 2004
By 
David G. Douthitt "ddouthitt" (Madison, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IPv6 Essentials (Paperback)
The book details the IPv6 protocol in excruciating detail, with packet diagrams, etc. It shows the details of addressing, routing, etc. A good book for a developer who is creating an IPv6 protocol stack or an application developer.
However, for system administrators there is only ONE chapter of interest - and that chapter should have been made into an entire book. This chapter details how to start to use IPv6 with Linux, Solaris, HP-UX, and others. Each OS is described in a page or two: each should have an entire chapter to itself. Now THAT would be a book worth reading.
If you're a developer, this might be a good book. If you're a sysadmin, forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

IPv6 Essentials
IPv6 Essentials by Silvia Hagen (Paperback - May 27 2006)
CDN$ 58.99 CDN$ 54.21
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews