Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Regular Expression Pocket Reference
Regular Expression Pocket Reference -- I use this as a quick look up guide for regular expressions. A nice companion to the full sized book.
Published 4 months ago by Joel Andrews

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many implementations covered
I love this series of books (the C#, C++ and STL pocket refs are my favorite), but the Regular Expression pocket ref tries to cover too many implementations. You only get about 10 pages for each language so, unless you use multiple implementations (e.g. C#/.NET, Perl, JavaScript, etc), this just isn't good value for money. I returned my copy and printed out a quick...
Published on Dec 15 2003 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Regular Expression Pocket Reference, Nov. 20 2013
By 
Joel Andrews - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Regular Expression Pocket Reference: Regular Expressions for Perl, Ruby, PHP, Python, C, Java and .NET (Paperback)
Regular Expression Pocket Reference -- I use this as a quick look up guide for regular expressions. A nice companion to the full sized book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for every developer!, July 31 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Regular Expression Pocket Reference: Regular Expressions for Perl, Ruby, PHP, Python, C, Java and .NET (Paperback)
For someone who develops in multiple languages this book is extremely beneficial. You can use this book for a quick and thorough
reference and it covers many platforms. However, this book is not for beginners. If you are new to regex, then this book is not for you!.

One minor drawback I would say is that because this book tries to cover too many platforms and as such it doesn't go into details on each language,
but otherwise, this book is a great reference book for regex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many implementations covered, Dec 15 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "mark_seattle" (Kirkland, WA United States) - See all my reviews
I love this series of books (the C#, C++ and STL pocket refs are my favorite), but the Regular Expression pocket ref tries to cover too many implementations. You only get about 10 pages for each language so, unless you use multiple implementations (e.g. C#/.NET, Perl, JavaScript, etc), this just isn't good value for money. I returned my copy and printed out a quick reference from one of the many Internet programming sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Express yourself, Nov. 19 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Regular Expression Pocket Reference: Regular Expressions for Perl, Ruby, PHP, Python, C, Java and .NET (Paperback)
Real programmers are regularly expressive. The concept is as important to programming languages and utilities as pointers are to "c". You can work your way around regular expression but you will never be great until you master them.

An advantage and a disadvantage is that instead of concentrating on UNIX we get sidetracked on many secondary and transitory environments. The advantage is you can talk regular expressions with everyone. The disadvantage is I prefer concentration on AIX, HP/UX, SCO, SUN and other real programming environments; they could show all the different commands and integrated regular expressions.

Definition: Regular expressions are a language used for parsing and manipulating text. They are often used to perform complex search-and-replace operations and to validate the text data is Well-formed.

I use a lot of vi and sed so regular expression is regularly used.

Bottom line is there are better books for specific environments. This one crosses over disciplines and you never know with whom you may need to converse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too Many Implementations?, May 28 2004
By A Customer
Based on the .NET chapter it would appear that the author tackled too many implementations. It looked like all of the .NET stuff came from the SDK, sans discussion & examples.
Developers worrying about an expression to be executed on several different platforms might find this type of overview helpful. How many folks do that though?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Regex Reference, March 10 2004
I recommend getting this book
if you feel comfortable with regular expressions
and regular expressions are important to you.
As one expects from an O'Reilly Pocket Reference,
this book is compact but still covers a lot of ground.
For a whole bunch of applications, it provides:
* tables of various groupings of regex metacharacters,
summarizing their syntax and meaning;
* summaries of other regex related features,
but not in tabular form;
* examples;
* a few references in case you need to go deeper.
The information is concise and well chosen.
This is a reference,
but in applications where you use regular expressions less,
it may also be useful for expanding your knowledge significantly.
It was for me.
If you wish, take a look at my
more detailed review on Oakland Perl Mongers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Regarding the DavidPerry Review, Feb. 24 2004
By 
Evan A. Bonnett (Mechanicsburg, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
Nice cut and paste of the Ann Coulter book review. I particularly liked the "Menckenesque invective" comment which made me think that I had remembered reading it somewhere before. Anyway, I just wanted the readers of these reviews to know not to trust that one. Some people actually use these reviews to make a choice and avoid wasting money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Undeniably brilliant!!!, Dec 22 2003
"Regular Expression Pocket Reference" is one of the hottest and most controversial books of the year! Stubblebine is a fluent polemicist with a gift for the Menckenesque invective...and he can harness such language to subtle, syllogistic argument.
Written with a great deal of passion, the real source of this book's strength - and it's usefulness - was it's painstaking marshalling of evidence. This has got to be the most popular nonfiction book in America.
More important that Stubblebine's other works, "Clown management for midgets", this book addresses the much broader issues of Java and Perl and even delves into the murky recesses of C#.
Read it! Live it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for looking up that question, Dec 7 2003
By 
ueberhund "ueberhund" (Salt Lake City, UT United States) - See all my reviews
If you've ever picked up a copy of O'Reilly's Mastering Regular Expressions, then you'll feel right at home with this book. The Pocket Reference is all about usability, and this book is no exception. If you've never seen Mastering Regular Expressions, then this book takes the most important aspects of that book into about 80 pages.
This book is basically divided into various languages (Perl, C, Java, C#) with examples on how to use regular expressions with each language. In addition to discussing the built-in language specific functions that you should use, there is discussion on the differences and nuances to using regular expressions in the specific language.
If you need a desktop quick reference on regular expressions, then I would highly recommend this book. I have it next to my desk with the .NET section bookmarked. If you need something with a little more depth and explanation, then I would suggest picking up a copy of O'Reilly's Mastering Regular Expressions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference, but not a tutorial, Nov. 20 2003
By 
David C. Veeneman (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The editorial blurb on this book suggests that it can be used as a tutorial by those new to regular expressions. That's not the case. This book is strictly a reference, albeit a very good one. I bought O'Reilly's "Mastering Regular Expressions" to learn the area, and I use this book as a quick reference. It serves that purpose very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa906839c)

This product

Regular Expression Pocket Reference: Regular Expressions for Perl, Ruby, PHP, Python, C, Java and .NET
CDN$ 17.99 CDN$ 11.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews