Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Novice Perspective of "Using Drupal"
I found Using Drupal a useful introduction to Drupal for a complete beginner. The book is well organized around specific types of Drupal sites, with extensive instructions and screen shots.

One of Drupal's strengths is its architecture. What would have made 'Using Drupal' more useful is more information on how the different modules fit within the...
Published on June 27 2009 by Norbert

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Content invaluable, work flow and editing needs work.
Overall the book has proven invaluable for providing a good bird's eye view of Drupal, its themes, and modules. Where the book has proven to be frustrating is in the overall editing and work flow omissions. At times I found myself paging back and forth through the text four or five pages trying to decipher exactly what the various authors were trying to describe. It...
Published on Dec 11 2009 by Thomas Kryton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Novice Perspective of "Using Drupal", June 27 2009
This review is from: Using Drupal (Paperback)
I found Using Drupal a useful introduction to Drupal for a complete beginner. The book is well organized around specific types of Drupal sites, with extensive instructions and screen shots.

One of Drupal's strengths is its architecture. What would have made 'Using Drupal' more useful is more information on how the different modules fit within the architecture. For example, the 'Job Application' chapter explains how to set up Views, but does not explain how the output from Views is integrated with the Drupal output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Overview of Drupal, April 26 2010
By 
Anna Gondzik "iTec" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Using Drupal (Paperback)
I was a little hesitant about purchasing at first, because I thought this book might be a little outdated. As we're all well aware of by now, technology progresses so fast, you have to be in constant learning mode. Many concepts in web design that held together 2 years ago are no longer valid.

To my surprise most of this book was still widely applicable. Many of the modules it refers to are now updated and look drastically different but the core framework and logic remains the same. The author presents easy to follow case studies, and explains what the main modules are all about.

Some Drupal modules, such as CCK and Views, have incredible potential - you just need a book like this to tap into the inner workings. Overall, good read - this book definitely puts the 'knowledge' into 'knowledge is power,' and provides a great return on investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for beginner to CMS, March 31 2010
By 
Sham Srigobind "Sr. Developer/Architect" (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Using Drupal (Paperback)
Pro:
- Starts with the basics and slowly introduces more modules to make a site to explore more complicated features.

Cons:
- If your background is that of a senior developer, you'll quickly grow out of it ... before reading 30% of the book.

- Online documentation ( [...] ) is excellent, so if you like reading online, that would be the way to go

- To use this book effectively, you should be at your computer working through the the site with the author.

- All screen shots are from OS X (not Windows), but that really is irrelevant.

- Not a reference book. You can't just jump in the middle to look up a particular topic. You really need to walk through the book from beginning to end to get the most value out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Beginners, Aug. 27 2009
By 
Ding-Wen Chen (Burnaby, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Using Drupal (Paperback)
First of all, I need to let everyone know that I am not an English speaker. Therefore, this book is easy to read for me but may not for some other people.

The book has the same style as other O'Reilly books. Using Drupal has very clear target readers, specific examples in each chapter which serves a specific purpose, and clear language for me.

Only two areas need to improve are images/figures and example code from the official site. The images/figures are not always clear or easy to follow due to the grey-scale print. The example code is not updated with the latest Drupal 6.x stable version.

If I can give a half star, I will give this book a 4.5 star. A Must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 8 2009
By 
Michael Sieve (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Using Drupal (Paperback)
A definite must have for the first time Drupal user. The book goes through case studies and explains what each module is for. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Content invaluable, work flow and editing needs work., Dec 11 2009
By 
Thomas Kryton (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Using Drupal (Paperback)
Overall the book has proven invaluable for providing a good bird's eye view of Drupal, its themes, and modules. Where the book has proven to be frustrating is in the overall editing and work flow omissions. At times I found myself paging back and forth through the text four or five pages trying to decipher exactly what the various authors were trying to describe. It covers some of the better modules available in Drupal and substantially reduces the amount of time wading through the modules available from the organization's site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Using Drupal is ok, Sept. 16 2009
By 
Simbad "Simbad" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Using Drupal (Paperback)
good book, not great as it doesnt cover from A to Z but got me on the right track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Using Drupal
Using Drupal by Jeff Robbins (Paperback - Dec 26 2008)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews