Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this first., Oct. 26 2009
By 
James Cochrane "Arachnid" (Austin, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JavaScript: The Good Parts (Paperback)
If you are new to JavaScript read this one first. Sure you will need to get another general JavaScript, book however at least you will be coding the way JavaScript should be written.

Coming from a C+/C#/VB background I always found JavaScript hard work. I know this is because the debugger etc in Visual Studio hides a lot of complexity and makes it easier for me. However that's the way it should be, I should not have to spend hours or days trying to debug two lines of code.

That aside this book took my OO knowledge and dragged me into the world of classless coding and made it understandable and interesting. Prior to reading this book I found a lot of JavaScript to be confusing and down right dumb. It's still confusing and downright dumb but at least I know why and can attempt to not make the same mistakes.

Please Note. This will NOT teach you how to solve particular problems in JavaScript. What it does is show you the direction you should take to resolve it.

Highly recommended particularly for people new to JavaScript with OO development background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still relevant in 2013, May 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book pulls no punches. The author tears the language apart and rebuilds it with only the "good parts", showing how to create well-designed, maintainable, and secure programs in Javascript. The core language is not significantly different today than it was when this book was written so it has lost none of its relevance. Highly recommended for experienced programmers who want to lean how to use Javascript properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good parts about good parts, Sept. 16 2011
By 
Ernesto Savoretti (Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JavaScript: The Good Parts (Paperback)
The book distills good taste, which is not surprising coming from such author.
Moreover, I don't remember having seen Javascript's inner workings explained so clearly and elegantly.
Last but not least: it's short ... "little is beautiful".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed my perception of JavaScript, Sept. 2 2011
By 
Frederic Daoud (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JavaScript: The Good Parts (Paperback)
As a Java web developer, I've used JavaScript quite a bit over the years, but never really liked it. Reading this book has changed my entire perception of JavaScript. It has given me a new appreciation of the language. Instead of mechanically explaining the syntax of the language, this book actually explains what is good about JavaScript, how to use it so that it will be a trusty friend (by focusing on its good parts) rather than a troublemaking backstabber (by avoiding the bad, ugly, and awful parts).

I have great respect for the author and appreciate his taking the time to write this book. It was a pleasure to read and got me excited about JavaScript because it was a tremendous help in learning how to use the language properly. Perhaps it is not a book for beginners, but if you know the basics but are tired of "programming by coincidence" and want to learn how to really effectively use the language, and actually have an easier time doing it because you will focus on a few very good parts (and flush out the bad parts from your memory), I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent JavaScript OO tutorial, May 18 2013
This review is from: JavaScript: The Good Parts (Paperback)
I didn't want to read a 1000 page book, so I started this last month. This is an excellent book, concise and to the point. Learned a lot from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Javascript book!, March 16 2012
This review is from: JavaScript: The Good Parts (Paperback)
This book is a MUST for any javascript programmer.
Douglas Crockford goes over all the important topics in javascript giving clear definitions with complete examples
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as everyone says it is!, Feb. 14 2011
This review is from: JavaScript: The Good Parts (Paperback)
This book is just as enjoyable as everyone says it is. Douglas Crockford makes JavaScript make sense. Explains best practices and useful patterns.. It helps make [...] even more fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc0370600)

This product

JavaScript: The Good Parts
JavaScript: The Good Parts by Douglas Crockford (Paperback - May 18 2008)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 18.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews