Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Hand-on guide to MySQL, May 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: MySQL Cookbook (Paperback)
There are many databases out there. MySQL is one of the better ones. It's a free (for personal use) database system which can be easily integrated into a web application on virtually any system. It has supports most of the standard feature found in most database system and has quiet a few features unique to MySQL. This particular book is a good reference for the experienced user as well as for new comers and as an added bonus even covers MySQL 4.0.
This is book was my first introduction to O'Reilly's cookbook series. It provides solutions to some of the most common challenged faced by the particular subject being covered (in this case MySQL). I thoroughly enjoyed it and was quiet impressed with it. Too many technical books simply introduce the concept without relating it to real world applications.
This particular book introduces all of the most basic concepts of database manipulation (table creation, data insertion, data deletion, data update). As well as writing simple and advanced SQL statements to retrieve data. It approaches database design using 4 of the most popular languages (Perl, PHP, Python and Java). These are only a few of the many possible languages which can be used to manipulate a MySQL database.
MySQL cookbook touches on a variety of different topics which I don't have the space or time to cover in detail, but here is a list of them:
* Handeling duplicates
* MySQL on the Web
* Processing Web input with MySQL
* Using MySQL-based Web Session Management
One of my favorite topics covered in the book is the idea of storing binary data such as images within a database. Although not ideal for most cases (unless you need fast access to a vast array of images), just the idea of it has a certain kewlness effect.
Well, overall I give it 4 out of 5 stars. It needs to touch slightly more on the basic concepts of databases, and it can become the only book you'll ever need for MySQL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WELL-DONE, OR RATHER, WELL-COOKED, Jan. 30 2003
By 
reviewer (Zurich, Switzerland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: MySQL Cookbook (Paperback)
In this "MySQL Cookbook", Paul DuBois ensured that a wide range of topics were covered. In fact, most Unix and Mac OS X users would cherish the contents of this text. Comprehensive information were presented in a very uncomplicated way. The book did advanced analysis of all MySQL-based scripts which are applicable to Java, Perl, Python and PHP. The same story goes for MySQL-based web scripts under Apache and Tomcat. It gave readers sufficient guidance to codes, using time-saving illustrative examples. However, beginners who need to start from the scratch may not appreciate this advanced approach.
In conclusion, this is a dependable text that both intermediate and advanced MySQL learners would appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent All-Around Guide To MySQL Programming, April 5 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MySQL Cookbook (Paperback)
I am an experienced web developer and recently started using Perl with MySQL to build database-driven CGI applications.
MySQL Cookbook by Paul DuBois turned out to be a valuable reference resource.
While the title mentions only MySQL, the book provides a great deal of solutions (and code) for using MySQL with Perl, PHP, Python and Java. If you are familiar with any of these computer languages, this book and MySQL manual is all you need to start building applications with MySQL-compatible database backend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a nice addition to O'Reilly's Cookbook series, April 13 2003
By 
This review is from: MySQL Cookbook (Paperback)
As an experienced Oracle DBA I had a need to learn about MySQL for the development of the FmPro Migrator utility to migrate FileMaker databases to MySQL. This book enabled me to quickly learn how to perform tasks in MySQL which are equivalent to what I would perform with Oracle. Congratulations to O'Reilly and Paul DuBois for continuing the fine tradition of Cookbook series books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Jan. 29 2003
By 
Richard S. Gawlik (Andover, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MySQL Cookbook (Paperback)
The best thing about the book is that all you need is a rough inkling of what you want to do and you get an immediate kick start. As an added bonus, skimming quickly through the entire book is a great refresher course if you are at all rusty. Any additional details you can get from Paul Dubois' equally excellent MySQL book (New Riders 2000). Handily wins five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great MySQL Book, July 31 2009
This review is from: MySQL Cookbook (Paperback)
As a bit of an amateur when it comes to database applications, this was a must read for me. I found it took me through the basics into advanced concepts, with clear descriptions and useful examples, and solid, practical advice. It has greatly assisted me in my learning of database systems and how to maintain them. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Useful, Nov. 11 2002
By 
C. E. Morgan (Jacksonville, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MySQL Cookbook (Paperback)
This book is well done, clearly written and sensibly organized. I read the same author's New Riders Book on MySQL and found it similarly useful; but if you've already got all the theory down, this may well be the only MySQL book you'll need. Wish I'd had it a few years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Style!, Feb. 3 2003
By 
P. Grove "Amazon junky" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MySQL Cookbook (Paperback)
This book is full of examples. This is perfect for a learn-by-example programmer like me. It makes a handy reference, too. He has examples and tips for just about everything the typical MySQL coder would ever need to do. Excellent reference - I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MySQL Cookbook
MySQL Cookbook by Paul DuBois (Paperback - Dec 7 2006)
CDN$ 64.99 CDN$ 47.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews