Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say? It's definitive.
Perhaps too large to make it an ideal reference work, it's a wonderful learning guide for an intermediate to senior programmer needing to learn Javascript. Seems to cover all the applications I can imagine using Javascript for.
Published on July 11 2011 by Tom West

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for reference, not a great book for learning
Likes:

1. Absolutely an encyclopaedia of javascript, great reference book, covered most of the fundamentals and advanced features of the language.
2. If you are already familiar with the language, need to quickly lookup some thing, this is the book to have.

Dislikes:

1. If you are beginner trying to learn the language, this is not the...
Published 20 months ago by Y. Lu


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for reference, not a great book for learning, Feb. 18 2013
By 
Y. Lu (CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: Activate Your Web Pages (Paperback)
Likes:

1. Absolutely an encyclopaedia of javascript, great reference book, covered most of the fundamentals and advanced features of the language.
2. If you are already familiar with the language, need to quickly lookup some thing, this is the book to have.

Dislikes:

1. If you are beginner trying to learn the language, this is not the book to get you a good start. (If you do, it will more feel like learning English using an Oxford dictionary, IMHO)

2. The structure of the book is awkward in many instances, contents about a certain topic are scattered throughout the book, the chapters will refer to each other all over the map, making it hard for readers to easily get the entire picture. For instance, on the topic of "Constructor functions", the content is scattered in chapter 4, chapter 6, chapter 8 and chapter 9, and within each chapter, it is covered in different sections. If you, like me, wants to get a complete picture about this topic, you will be sent to jump back and forth among 4 chapters, 9 sections, not a pleasant learning experience and not effective either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say? It's definitive., July 11 2011
By 
Tom West (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: Activate Your Web Pages (Paperback)
Perhaps too large to make it an ideal reference work, it's a wonderful learning guide for an intermediate to senior programmer needing to learn Javascript. Seems to cover all the applications I can imagine using Javascript for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, June 3 2011
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: Activate Your Web Pages (Paperback)
I learnt a lot from that book. I think it's the first time I understood what "closure" means! A lot of great tips about OO in javascript. The jQuery coverage is really good too.

Now, what you will not find in that book: even if there is a chapter about server-side Javascript, it's just a short introduction...Don't expect to become an node or Rhino expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars COIK, May 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: Activate Your Web Pages (Paperback)
When reading this book you will find that in unfamiliar areas the writing is abstruse, lacking in examples, repetitive and strangely for a book this size, short on detail. In areas in which you have knowledge, the writing is clear and provides a good review of the subject. COIK is the applicable acronym: Clear Only If Known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The most comprehensive book on JavaScript ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I learned about all I know about javascript from this book, May 19 2013
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: Activate Your Web Pages (Paperback)
I continue to hold this book in high esteem, and the Sixth Edition is a huge improvement over the old edition that I had
You can also get the eBook at www.bestbookdeals2012.com for a great price!
http://www.bestbookdeals2012.com/servlet/the-126/Javascript-the-definitive-guide/Detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely awesome, May 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: Activate Your Web Pages (Paperback)
This book which is the only one that Douglas Crockford reccomends is awesome, complete and concise. I recommend this book to either the beginner or the javascript afficionnado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: Activate Your Web Pages
JavaScript: The Definitive Guide: Activate Your Web Pages by David Flanagan (Paperback - May 13 2011)
CDN$ 57.99 CDN$ 32.92
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews