Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Wolf at the door
This book, the wolf at the Door, has tons of fairy tails in them. It has The Months of Manhattan, Cinder Elephant, the Twelve Dancing Princesses, and other amazing stories.
Let's start with The Wolf at the Door. This fairy tail is about a wolf that is at the door. It comes at night and is very creepy with his bright yellow glowing eyes and his fangs as white as snow...
Published on April 19 2004

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in imagination
With such a cast of authors, I expected a lot more from this book. Unfortunately, the retellings weren't very creative at all. However, I did learn about some new fairytales from other cultures, which is always fun.
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in imagination, July 25 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With such a cast of authors, I expected a lot more from this book. Unfortunately, the retellings weren't very creative at all. However, I did learn about some new fairytales from other cultures, which is always fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wolf at the door, April 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Wolf at the Door (Hardcover)
This book, the wolf at the Door, has tons of fairy tails in them. It has The Months of Manhattan, Cinder Elephant, the Twelve Dancing Princesses, and other amazing stories.
Let's start with The Wolf at the Door. This fairy tail is about a wolf that is at the door. It comes at night and is very creepy with his bright yellow glowing eyes and his fangs as white as snow. He is gray all over. This one part was when the wolf thought he was supposed to be human. It was funny.
The Twelve dancing princesses were funny too. They are twelve daughters of the king. Every night, the king finds there brand new shoes worn-out. So he hires men to find there daughters secret. They seem to be going somewhere at night. In the beginning, there is this pore man, and he has little food. This old lady comes by and asks him if she can have some food because she is very hungry and hasn't eaten in days. He does share the food with her. All of a sudden, it becomes a big feast. She has magical powers. She tells the man that there is a king who wants a man to help him find where the princesses are going. And that's when the journey begins.
My favorite part in The Tewlve dancing princesses is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Wolf at the Door: And Other Retold Fairy Tales, Oct. 6 2003
By A Customer
I think this book was good. Although some parts were confusing, you would still enjoy it. I would reccomend this book to ages 9 and up. That's because there are a couple of curse words and a few hard words. Read this book, A Wolf at the Door: And Other Retold Fairy Tales, it's really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Wolf Must Have Blown Away the Quality, One Word Boring!, Aug. 26 2003
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
Retelling fairy tales we all grew up with is a sensational idea which has been done extremely well. Just not here! In other books yes, but here unfortunately no. The stories in this book do have one thing in common with the original motive of fairy tales. They will put you to sleep. These are some of the most boring low quality stories ever written. Also avoid the books Snow White Blood Red also edited by Ellen Datlow and Fractured Fairy tales by A.J. Jacobs as they are no better than this.
If you do want really good retelling of classic tales rewritten in sensational format buy Once Upon A Crime or Politically Correct Fairy Tales. You will find what you're after in those books. The fairy tale is over success was not achieved here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Surprise, Sept. 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Wolf at the Door (Hardcover)
I snitched this book from my little sister when I was out of things to read. I figured it would be a bit young for me, but I loved it! I even read some of the stories to my 7 year old, she's still running arround saying "Hallo, what ya got?" (That one is our fav).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More re-visioned fairy fun!, July 15 2002
By 
Stephen Richmond "Librarian/Teacher/Reader an... (Newton, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The thirteen re-visioned fairy tales from some of contemporary fantasy's finest authors here are all welcomed and vital additions to the ever-growing body of revamped fairy literature, much of which has been edited by Datlow and Windling. While all the tales divert and amuse, of particular interest were Neil Gaiman's poem "Instructions," which provides essential edification in how to deport oneself when caught in a fairy tale; Gregory Maguire's (he of WICKED and CONFESSIONS OF AN UGLY STEPSISTER fame --- so puckery droll!) intriguing poem "The Seven Stage a Comeback" on what the Seven Dwarves do after Snow's prince comes; and Kathe Koje's take on the Ugly Duckling, "Becoming Charisse. This collection, aimed by the publisher at younger audiences, has much to offer readers of all ages and is essential to any collection of fairy tales, old, new, or both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book was a really cool and funny book, Feb. 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Wolf at the Door (Hardcover)
I really liked this book. Some of my favorites stories were Jack and the Beanstalk(from the giants point of view),Swans,The Ugly Duckling. (They were in that order). So in the end i really reccomend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Was GREAT!!!!!! :), Feb. 15 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Wolf at the Door (Hardcover)
I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!! my favorites are (in this order): The Months of Manhattan, Hansel's Eyes, and Swans. I recommend this book to ANYONE, no matter what age you are (im reading it to my 5-year-old brother!!)!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Funny!, Feb. 8 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Wolf at the Door (Hardcover)
A Wolf At The Door and Other Retold Fariy Tales, was so funny. My favorite part was when the wolf thought he was supposed to be human. I really enjoyed this book and would recomend it to any reader, of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it looked, I was a bit disappointed., Jan. 26 2002
By 
The authors of all the stories in the book wanted to see what would happen if things ended out differently for characters, such as Cinderella, instead of being the beautiful, thin, girl she was in the original, the author wanted to make her fat and see how the story would go. There was no problem with that, a twist in a fairy tale makes it more interesting once in a while. But most of the stories I read in this book had questionable endings and no lesson learned. The back cover made the book sound very interesting, but I ended up feeling that the whole reason that the stories were changed were because people wanted the fairy tales to be different and they were tired of the same old thing. They loved fairy tales, but it seemed as if they didn't think it was fair that Cinderella was pretty and that Jack got the harp from the giant's house.They modernized the story, put in some weird magic and then made the story end twisted. I think that fairy tales are meant to make you feel good. In this book, most of the endings were a bit sad and bizarre. I think I'll stick to the originals, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3e106d8)

This product

Wolf at the Door: And Other Retold Fairytales
Wolf at the Door: And Other Retold Fairytales by Ellen Datlow (Turtleback - Feb. 2002)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews