Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful writing and a Tragic tone!
This book truly makes one feel for poor Morgan. Her mother wouldn't care if she had her head nailed to a wall, her sister is perfect, and the only person who ever truly loved her, her father, was brutally murdered by the cruel Uther Pendragon! The same man who murdered her father weds her mother. Her mother, Iragraine the Beautiful, gives birth to baby Arthur. How...
Published on Nov. 13 2002 by Patricia A. Laffin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fate
Fate
Interestingly, Arthur exists s a miner character I am Morgan le Fay an Arthurian legend written by Nancy Springer. This book forces on Arthur's half sister Morgan and her struggles to deal with her new magical powers as she struggle with dealing with herself. What makes this book so interesting along with other events is that Merlin in almost all of the other...
Published on Jan. 9 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful writing and a Tragic tone!, Nov. 13 2002
By 
Patricia A. Laffin (In the Land of Mordor Where the Shadows Lie) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I Am Morgan Le Fay (Hardcover)
This book truly makes one feel for poor Morgan. Her mother wouldn't care if she had her head nailed to a wall, her sister is perfect, and the only person who ever truly loved her, her father, was brutally murdered by the cruel Uther Pendragon! The same man who murdered her father weds her mother. Her mother, Iragraine the Beautiful, gives birth to baby Arthur. How Morgan hates the baby. Iragraine loves him more than Morgan or her older sister Morgause. Time comes when Morgan Must flee her home with Morgause, her nurse, and a handsome youth with big blue eyes named Thomas. Morgan always felt something for Thomas ever since she was a little girl. When she learns he will die in battle, she panics. Why should one so innocent and pure of heart die in a king's pathetic battle? Uther Pendragon is dead and all the other men who want power are determined to win the throne, and the queen, Queen Iragraine! Morgan heals her nurse with her Druid stone. She found the stone the day her mother had surrendered to Uther Pendragon. The day she had encountered the fearsome sorcerer Merlin. Morgan Feared Merlin and despised the very Idea of being a sorcerer. One day, at Her Nurses home Cear Ongowyn, Morgan awakens in the middle of the night. She had received a calling. She knows she must go to Avalon. The packs her provisions and saddles up Thomas' pony Annie. On the way to Avalon, she meets a horrible night that tries to abduct her. His squire rushes over and it is none other than Thomas! Annie springs to Morgan's defense and the Knight lops off the pony's head. then the night tries to Hurt Thomas and Morgan could stand no more. she touches her milperve, the druid stone, and screams, "Death to the knight!" and the knight falls down dead. Thomas and Morgan travel to Avalon together. There Morgan learns how to be a fay and meets her Mother, though her title Iragraine the Beautiful is know a Mockery. Morgan sends Thomas away because she feared that her love for him with cause him harm. Morgan hears much about fate and hates it. She leave Avalon and goes back to Cear Ongwyn and her nurse passes away and Morgause goes off to find a sweetheart. Morgan prepares the palace for Thomas and he comes to Cear Morgana, Morgan's name for the palace. He doesn't like Morgan never letting him do anything on his own and grabs The milperve away for her and the palace melts away. And nothing can prepare Morgan for what came next, though both her and Thomas knew it would happen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Explain, don't excuse, Aug. 20 2002
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: I Am Morgan Le Fay (Hardcover)
Nancy Springer's "I Am Mordred" is still one of the most original and intriguing retellings of Arthurian legend. Now there is a prequel to that work "I Am Morgan Le Fey," a haunting story of a young girl's gradual downhill stumble.
Morgan's father died the night she saw a strange man going off with her mother Igraine. That man, the king, soon took Igraine to be his queen, and her little daughters went to live with the nurse Ongwynn. During that time, Morgan falls in love with Ongwynn's doomed son Thomas, and learns of her own blossoming magical powers.
But things take a nasty turn when she is a teenager. Armed with a druid stone and the aid of gods and fay, she goes on a quest to find her traumatized mother in Avalon. But losses and rejection will spur her on to a destiny that she was desperate to avoid...
Like its sequel, "Morgan" is ultimately a psychological work. Springer avoids "it wasn't his/her fault" traps, instead focusing on explaining rather than excusing. The romance is bittersweet and well-written, which makes the violence and darker undercurrents even more disturbing. And though Morgan's glimpses of the future, we also see a few facets of what we also saw in "I Am Mordred" -- Morgan as she would be about twenty or thirty years in the future, and what she would do to her family.
The main difficulty with the book is that in places it feels a little distended, as if the plot is being scraped a bit too thin. The writing is lush and detailed, with different atmosphere for different settings: Dreamy for Avalon, woodsy and homelike for Ongwynn's cottage, and dangerous for any of the roads.
Morgan is a genuinely compelling anti-heroine, who will have readers wishing that her path were anything else. Thomas will win over readers as well, a quiet character who lacks Morgan's darkness. Igraine and Morgause may annoy the readers, and Ongwynn will interest as the surrogate grandmother figure. The other characters are pretty undeveloped, especially the villain.
Definitely a good read for fans of good spins on Arthuriana, and definitely for fans of Morgan le Fay (I would recommend this highly over any other Morgan-related book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Author Speaks, Oct. 28 2001
By 
This review is from: I Am Morgan Le Fay (Hardcover)
I was raised in a world almost as traditional as that of the legends, 1950s-style, in an old-fashioned Middle American family. A little girl was supposed to look sweet and not talk back, so, like many females before me, I became an expert at hiding my disobedience. As far back as I can remember, I knew that I was sneaky and bad; perhaps I was born to write about the misfit, the outcast, the oddling. I was raised in a world of surface smiles and secret truth. Intensely curious about everything my parents hid from me, I spent my childhood unraveling mysteries -- adult relationships, the Tooth Fairy, rudiments of sex, Santa Claus, neighborhood infidelities, the Easter Bunny. I questioned platitudes, I debunked white lies, I became fascinated with exposing what was hidden, finding out, turning over the stone in search of the grubs underneath. To this day, I go fishing in muddy water. I remain obsessed by the substance beneath the surface. It's no wonder, then, that I chose to write about Mordred and, later, about Morgan le Fay. I had to know: What truth lay beneath the "wicked woman" surface? Fate to the contrary, no one is born evil. Morgan was not born a sorceress any more than Mordred was was born a murderer. How did Morgan of Cornwall become Morgan le Fay?
Having been a sneaky, secretly disobedient little girl once, I thought I knew how it might have been for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am Morgan le Fay Book review, Oct. 24 2001
This review is from: I Am Morgan Le Fay (Hardcover)
I am Morgan le Fay
By: Nancy Springer
Ms. Olivet Eng. per.2
I am Morgan le Fay is a spellbinding tale of the enchanted place, Avalon, from long ago. It has an incredibly facinating plot, with impecable details. Together these two characteristics create a captivating novel that reaches into the mind of the reader.
Nancy Springer's use of imagery brings the reader into the mystical Arthurian world of the sorceress, herself, Morgan le Fay. The castles, forests, events, and never-ending emotions are portrayed so well in the story that the reader can clearly picture them in his/her mind. The author also brings you, the reader, into the mind of the spoiled, stubborn Morgan, as she grows both older and wiser. As you read through the book, you feel everything that Morgan feels, and begin to think the way
she does, often forgetting about reality and falling into the words of the novel.
As Morgan grows by learning and gaining powers from the milprieve stone, she begins to understand more about herself, and how her past has formed the person she is now.
Overall, I felt the novel, I am Morgan le Fay, was a fantastic book filled with dazzling events, people, and places that tease the mind for more reading. I would most definitely recommend this book to readers with creative minds, good imaginations, and those who enjoy fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a Read!, May 23 2001
By 
Timothy Capehart "Review-a-holic" (Dayton, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Am Morgan Le Fay (Hardcover)
Brilliant re-imagining of the story of Morgan le Fay (though it should be Fey). This prequel/companion to I Am Mordred again deals with Briton's première dysfunctional family. Morgan resents her half brother Arthur from his birth. He is the offspring of King Uther who murdered her father to sleep with their mother. Arthur is the reason she and her flighty older sister Morgause must flee their castle Tintagel with their nurse who is more than just a nurse. Arthur is the object of their mother's obsession when she goes slightly mad after Uther's death. Morgan tries to fight fate and live a happy life away from the world with her true love Sir Thomas, but she loses the fight, her lover, and for a time her mind. The characterizations, especially Morgan's, are excellent as is the imagery and writing in general. Morgan's complex relationship with Thomas not to mention what is intimated at the tale's end to occur between  siblings Morgause and Arthur push this title firmly on to YA ground unlike it's companion volume. The infusion of figures from mythology is nicely handled too. The author has created a wholely believable world! Worth a look see whether you are an Arthurian tale fan or not. There are draggy bits, but the last thirty-forty pages are wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful retelling of Morgan le Fay's troubled childhood., Feb. 27 2001
By 
Rebecca Herman (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Am Morgan Le Fay (Hardcover)
Although his many duties as the Duke of Cornwall often kept him away from home, young Morgan loved her father. And when the six-year-old witnessed a man leaving her mother's chamber, a man that looked just like her father but was nothing like him, she knew something was wrong. For her father was dead - killed by the king Uther Pendragon, who then steals Morgan's mother away. Bitter with anger and resentment, the little girl awakens something magical within her - a power that can be used for good or evil. For five years Morgan and her sister Morgause are cared for by their childhood nurse, Ongwynn, and during that time, Morgan's hatred for the king and for her half-brother Arthur steadily grows. When the king dies, Morgan dares to hope that her life will go back to the way it used to be - but instead, she and her sister are forced to flee to Ongwynn's isolated home. There, Morgan's power steadily grows - but so does her hatred. Morgan knows she has a dark fate she is doomed to fulfill - and although she fights it, her struggles are in vain. This was a powerful retelling of a legend, as seen through the eyes of a young woman who fights to control her future, even though she knows deep inside she is doomed to failure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have read in a while!, June 20 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: I Am Morgan Le Fay (Hardcover)
This book was truly a one-in-a-million kind of literature! It spun an invisable thread that pulled me in and wouldn't let me put it down until I finished it. Its gorgeous, beautiful prose flows so smoothly and its lovely images that it projects are like poetry. I utterly reccomend this book! This book begins with young Morgan (before she became Morgan le Fay) living with her older yet more timid sister Morgause, her beautiful mother Ingraine, her beloved father who has an aweful fate, and her nurse who is really a wise woman. Morgan sees her father die a gruesome death and her mother be taken away by the evil king Uther Pendragon, and she doesn't know what to do. Between finding a magic stone and discovering her true powers of fey, and setting her eyes upon a beautiful boy named Thomas, then leading him to his own death, you can almost relate to Morgan as a real teenager, yet she is so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fate, Jan. 9 2003
By A Customer
Fate
Interestingly, Arthur exists s a miner character I am Morgan le Fay an Arthurian legend written by Nancy Springer. This book forces on Arthur's half sister Morgan and her struggles to deal with her new magical powers as she struggle with dealing with herself. What makes this book so interesting along with other events is that Merlin in almost all of the other book is described as a happy jolly man who helps Arthur with his kingdom, but in this book he is a dark sorcerer. As fascinating as this book seems it still consists as a not so long and thrilling as it seems at times hard to follow with some characters and events that took place in the thriller I am Morgan le Fay.
This legend is recommended by this review to be read by middle school kids or someone who wants to read a unique version of the Arthur Tail. The twists are unique don'y let them fool you this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book will rock Camelot!, Nov. 14 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: I Am Morgan Le Fay (Hardcover)
Great book! I couldn't get myself to read "I am Mordred" as it didn't seem half as interesting, but Morgan le Fay's story was great! It really delves into what her life must have been like. Very cool! 2 downsides: I NEVER imagined Avalon to be anything like what the author described, so that was a disappointment, and a kind of injustice to that mystical land. She also forgot the most obvious factor in Avalon's mysterious-ness--it's an ISLAND! Hello! Secondly, I couldn't tell what was fact and what was fiction. I doubt Orgwyn (forgive the atrocious spelling) really existed, but the book depends largely on her, so if she wasn't real, what else wasn't? Thomas, the point of the book? The C-dude, Curnossem or whatever? Her father's death? It really got me wondering...
But overall, a great book and a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Breathtaking!, May 30 2003
By A Customer
This has to be the best book I have EVER read in my entire life. It not only contains magic, suspense, betrayle, and hatered, but it also containes passion,undieing love,and loss.
This story is about a little girl who doesn't really know her destiny, and as she grows up she starts to find it step by step. She finds a magical druid stone one day, and then, before she knows it, starts to start on a never ending adventure- literally. For Morgan le Fay means Morgan the fate, and this fated girl will have to live with the scars of her youth for the rest of her life, and be burdend with the infamous power that brought her those scars. For she is Morgan le Fay...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Am Morgan Lefay: A Tale from Camelot
I Am Morgan Lefay: A Tale from Camelot by Nancy Springer (Turtleback - Dec 2002)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews