Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any pretender or contender, June 16 2003
By 
"robert26874" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Be a Master Bartender, with 500 Recipes (Hardcover)
First of all, I am just a pretender, and I have no intention of ever becoming a professional bartender. With that said, this is definitely one of the best books I have picked up, and definitely the best bartender book I have ever seen. It contains vivid pictures of everything that Mr. Degroff is trying to explain and he gives great tips on everything from knowing what glassware and alcohols to have in your bar to unbelievable mix drink recipies. For those who do not drink, it even contains an unbelievable non-alcholic drink (the citrius cream). This book also makes a great coffee table book. Vistors that come by cannot keep their hands off of it! I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to bartend for fun or professionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a book for professional bartenders!, Oct. 20 2002
By 
Mark Pollman (st. louis, mo. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Be a Master Bartender, with 500 Recipes (Hardcover)
'The Craft of the Cocktail' is a massively informative referance that I would have maimed for over thirty years ago when I was first started walking the slats behind the wood. I can't wait to try the new recipes at the pub and in my home.
Elegant! Scholarly! Humorous! Easy read!
As a Hall of Fame bartender, I have studied my profession in Britain, France and the US and have over four thousand Beverage/Literature books going back to 1821. 'The Craft of the Cocktail' fits honorably among the top five cocktail volumes on my shelves. It is a treasure that I now study and revere. The historical information is accurate and the barroom philosphy uplifting.
Serious and aspiring bartenders, if you acquire only one cocktail-making book in your career this definitely should be it.
Dale DeGroff is one of the very few people in the saloon business worldwide who could have delivered such an important and complete work. He is an unusual and rare talent and is truly what a professional bartender should be. His playful anecdotes and story telling abilities show he is definitely one of us.
Come to the Fox & Hounds in St. Louis to imbibe and discuss this joyous book. If we are very lucky, Mr. DeGroff and some of his mentors might join us in a discussion about the history of our industry.
#N.B: Pay attention Cocktail Nation, this is a monumental work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and contemporary, May 13 2003
By 
C Yu "team_aspic" (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Be a Master Bartender, with 500 Recipes (Hardcover)
This book is one of the top drink mixing resources for the home bartender. Mr. DeGroff's approach to bartending is a culinary one; at his bar, taste is king, with restrained but elegant garniture. The book is loosely organized alphabetically by drink name, but there are subsections that deal with drinks thematically. One of my favorite "featurettes" is his idea for a Bloody Mary Buffet, where guests create their own beverages. Little touches like these make this book ideal for the home bartender wanting to throw an elegant occasion.
The elegant layout somewhat masks the thoroughly researched nature of the work-- a look at the bibliography reveals a goodly number of cocktail books that could represent a good history of beverage-craft in the United States.
An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Craft of the Cocktail is finely crafted indeed., Nov. 9 2002
Ce commentaire est de: The Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Be a Master Bartender, with 500 Recipes (Hardcover)
There are a plethora of books on the market which outline the history of spirits and garnish with anecdote. Dale DeGroff's book does a fine job of both, but the real value of his tome lies in the recipes. Mr. DeGroff is widely known as the finest bartender in the United States. His recipes reflect his own thoughtful theories of mixology - through spirit, mixer, and proportional characteristics. His chief aim as a barmaster has always been to produce libations which any discerning imbiber would enjoy and find memorable. As such, the recipes --some familiar, some not-- are worth their weight in gold. If Degroff's techniques and recipes are followed closely, a procession of grand drinks will result... and isn't that really what the craft of the cocktail is all about?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master Craftsman shares his wisdom, June 23 2003
Ce commentaire est de: The Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Be a Master Bartender, with 500 Recipes (Hardcover)
I took a course with Dale and found out first hand what it takes to make a truly great cocktail--and found out how bad most cocktails in bars really are. This book not only tells how to create really memorable drinks for yourself and guests, it also delves into the history of the various spirits and how they've been combined by savvy bartenders to create classics old and new. I've read through it several times, lapping up classics like the sidecar and DeGroff signature drinks like the Ritz. If you like cocktails, this is an amazing book. Nobody cares about getting the best results like Dale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much More Than a Cocktail Recipe Book, Oct. 26 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Be a Master Bartender, with 500 Recipes (Hardcover)
I found this book to be much more than a great collection of elegant cocktail recipes. De Groff entertains the reader with a history of the cocktail from its early beginnings and the role of bars and barmen in American culture. There's a very useful how-to section for setting up a home bar, an interesting guide to the huge variety of spirits, anecdotes about the drinking habits of the famous, and items of "trivia" that even include a cure for hiccups. The photographs that accompany the text are exquisite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - small critique, May 6 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Be a Master Bartender, with 500 Recipes (Hardcover)
I agree with everyone else's praise for this book. It's definitely my "desert island" cocktail book. There are many bad cocktail books out there, there are a few good cocktail books, but this is the only "great" cocktail book.
My only gripe is the index is not thorough enough to look up drinks by ingredient. For instance, you can't look up Benedictine and find all drink recipes containing that ingredient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding book from the master of mixology, Oct. 27 2002
By 
Christopher B. OHara "Chris" (Lloyd Harbor, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Be a Master Bartender, with 500 Recipes (Hardcover)
Dale's writing is reliable as his bartending, and just as entertaining. For novices, an introduction to the difference between making a drink and mixing a cocktail. For the professional, a few tricks they've never seen before (unless they were hanging out at the Rainbow Room). Highly recommend this one--and makes a great gift too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Gift, Oct. 30 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Be a Master Bartender, with 500 Recipes (Hardcover)
This is a stunning book - beautifully put together and a good read as well. With great sidebars and amusing anecdotes along with great cocktail recipes (with explanations of the terms to boot.) I bought one for myself as well as a few for gifts. I am quite sure the recipients will be pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The craft of the cocktail, Feb. 18 2013
By 
Mirna Jebsen (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Be a Master Bartender, with 500 Recipes (Hardcover)
Wonderful to have something else to offer friends when they come over to our place!
So many ideas and useful tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Be a Master Bartender, with 500 Recipes
CDN$ 53.00 CDN$ 33.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews