Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars book
excellent book and the story is excellent and I passed many hours reading ND i RECOMMAND IT TO ALL MY FRIENDS
Published 3 months ago by Claude Couillard

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Written... But Connection Might Be There
The book was pieced together very quickly, but I think the connection is there. Some readers thought that the pyramids of Cydonia are natural. HA! There is no known process that creates pyramidal bases for "sand dunes". Cydonia is artificial- let there be no doubt. The face showed extreme symmetry, if the critics cared to look beyond the "catbox"...
Published on March 17 2000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars book, March 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mars Mystery (Paperback)
excellent book and the story is excellent and I passed many hours reading ND i RECOMMAND IT TO ALL MY FRIENDS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic deaths and cosmic corpses: signs of demise..., Jan. 30 2004
By 
This review is from: The Mars Mystery: The Secret Connection Between Earth and the Red Planet (Paperback)
I've read literally 100s of books in my life but this was with ease one of the most fascinating ones I've laid my eyes on.
I could start right off by praising Hancock's research and the integrity of his sources, but actually, before any of that, I think special credit should be given to this man's authorship.

Indeed that's in my mind the biggest asset of this book: that it's a definitive "cantputdowner". The only way i could see someone not being thoroughly engulfed in this marvelous work of a book is if he's either brainwashed beyond repair and refuses to hear anything entertaining notions that go against the "programm" in his mind, or, worse still, if someone is basically cerebrally pulseless.
Hancock spreads out a super convincing, mm, not so much theory, but argument. At no point in his book, again to his credit, does he dogmatically claim "look, there WAS intelligent life on Mars at some point" but he does claim that the evidence is overwhelming towards such a direction and that the rather bizzare attitude of Nasa about this might be actually confirming this or at the very least fuels suspicion to the max.
The premise here is the stunning "monuments" in the area of Cydonia and the implications arising from this. It's not only the well known (???) face on Mars but also the hexagonal eerily symmetrical pyramids and other such phenomena that have tell-tale signs of artificiality about them.
Even though i've read quite some, especially on the net, about the "Face" i found that there was actually an ocean of data i was totally unaware of. Hancock goes on a lenghty but very pleasant to read diatribe about those constructions but where it gets immensely interesting is when he tackles the more-than-strange behavior of Nasa about the whole issue. NASA to put it in a nutshell has been basically fronting the theory that not only the winds are particularly talented out on Mars but that they are also selectively talented as they seem to be creating things in Cydonia and only.
That might be laughable enough one would think, but their overall attitude to public demand for further and detailed investigation on these anomalies so the matter could (?) be put to rest has been borderline conspiratorial. The world has either had to deal with outright refusals or with grainy photos that Nasa releases in an apparent effort to conceal what really? Questiosn that scream for immediate answers. NASA general politics are also discussed in the process and, well, they dont seem exactly "crystal-clean" stuff to put it extremely mildly.
But by then you'd only be half way through the book: the latter half is the one that -incredibly-manages to capture the imagination even more albeit in a macabre and cosmically scary way.
If the death of Mars as all evidence overwhelmingly suggests came from a cosmic bombardment of comets or fragments thereof what are the implications to us here? Especially since the spectacular "atatck" of comet Levy-Shoemaker on Jupiter there has been more discussion about such a danger even if the budget we actually have on comet-orbit watching is downright ridiculous.
Hancock reveals to the uninitiated, like myself, that comets are not a distant low-probability threat but an ever-present and increasingly threatening reality. Alone in our solar system there are 100s of 1000s of them flying about in anarchic orbits and in mindbending speeds (most between 45.000-60.000klm/hour). Many are so called "earth-crossers" as they regularly (in universal terms) cross our orbit.
When one thinks that our current theory holds that the dinos became history indeed because of a comet or that there have been not just that one but several seriously damaging impacts in Earth's past, but also, that contrary to mainstream belief a comet does not have to be "giant size" (i.e planet-size) but a mere few kilometers in diameter to make the "blue planet" another cosmic corpse with a past. But with no present.

Hancock does also question the possible connection between a past civilisation on Mars and ourselves and again, the evidence more than confirms his notion that such a connection is not some far-out sci-fi type thought but it is actually supported by our ancient heritage. What i like a lot about Hancock compared to other researchers of the genre is that he's actual very casual and undogmatic even when he suggests (but never insists) such dazzling theories.
An absolutely tremendous book on all levels. If you do have a "sucpicion department" in your brain the "Mars Mystery" will confirm your worst fears. All this has nothing to do with "conspiracy theories" by the way. As a journalist once said at the beginning of the 20th century:
"...it's not the conspiracy theories that interest me, it's the theories about conspiracies."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Written... But Connection Might Be There, March 17 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mars Mystery: The Secret Connection Between Earth and the Red Planet (Paperback)
The book was pieced together very quickly, but I think the connection is there. Some readers thought that the pyramids of Cydonia are natural. HA! There is no known process that creates pyramidal bases for "sand dunes". Cydonia is artificial- let there be no doubt. The face showed extreme symmetry, if the critics cared to look beyond the "catbox" The only doubt is the connection to Egypt. Hancock can't prove beyond a doubt, and I don't blame reviewers if they didn't believe him, but this book is intriguing. The writing is bad, but for the ideas that he presents, it still gets 3 stars from me. And by the way, you might want a salt shaker by your side for some of the chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hanchock has written better, Jan. 4 2002
By 
"titan2160" (Bolingbrook, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mars Mystery: The Secret Connection Between Earth and the Red Planet (Paperback)
This book doesn't give any real answer to the Mars mystery, but still on ok book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Listen, Learn, Read On, Oct. 1 2000
This review is from: The Mars Mystery: The Secret Connection Between Earth and the Red Planet (Paperback)
I have finished reading the book a few weeks ago and now that all the emotions have settled down, the impression that is left is of a highly entertaining and informative book.
I might not agree with 100 per cent of all what Mr. Hancock writes, but most of the evidence that he presents can not be ignored.
As a person with an open mind I recommend this work of art and science to everyone who is willing to give a chance to the ideas presented in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Positively Striking, Aug. 30 2000
By 
Brad Smith (Arlington, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mars Mystery: The Secret Connection Between Earth and the Red Planet (Paperback)
Graham Hancock, if you hadn't already noticed, is a tad off his rocker. He has a bad tendency to leap to conclusions from minimal evidence, and, so, I wouldn't always agree with everything he says.
However, he is two things: Entertaining, and sometimes right. This book is no exception. It has a rather broad focus, leaping from Mars to Earth and outer space and back again. His main thesis is that Mars was terrestrial and habitable as recently as 20,000 years ago, with a similar civilization to his version of Atlantis, and that related catastrophes destroyed the Martian civilization, while severely crippling the Terran one.
On the whole, his theories are a tad shaky. Yes, Cydonia looks like it's artificial, and that might be the most likely solution, but there's still nothing proving it. Even the mathematical ratios the researchers found are still not beyond the vale of coincidence. Similarly, his evidence for Atlantis isn't decisive, at least to my mind. I'm inclined to believe him, but mostly because the idea's just really cool.
The one thing that I don't have any trouble believing is his theory about the Taurid meteor swarm. Noting that the Tunguska and Canterbury events, as well as several other large meteor strikes, happened in the same time, convinces me that we *do* need something to watch for NEOs. (The incredible thing is that he never even comes close to the idea that the Tunguska blast was an alien ship...he's not that kind of lunatic)
This is a good book to pick up and read, if you get the chance. He might not be entirely all there, but he's entertaining, and he asks some very interesting questions, which often he has the best answer for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Faceless Mars, July 18 2000
This review is from: The Mars Mystery: The Secret Connection Between Earth and the Red Planet (Paperback)
Although any book dealing with such an enthralling subject has some possibilities of making inroads in a reader's mind this one, like many others of its kind, falls short even of a passable semi-scientific status. Mars Global Surveyor's imaging has shown the world the real truth about the famous Cydonia "monumental complex", and nonetheless the author sticks to his cherished view that the Face might well be a real monument built by an ancient Mars civilisation meaning to warn us about something relating to our own planet's fate. The content of this admonition is not clear, but as McLuhan would have said, the Medium is the Message: the Face with its unfathomable spell keeps gazing skyward, a simple barren hill for professor Malin's camera and a source of successful Mars fiction for self-appointed interplanetary scientists..."In Medium stat virtus"! Except for this minor weakness represented by an almost total lack of rational filtering the book makes for a pleasant reading in terms of the author's mastery over the rhythm and the overall unfolding of his arguments: but expert presentation can only add one star to a nearly empty sky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling synthesis of sound science and speculation, July 4 2000
By A Customer
Hancock weaves accepted science, controversial science and speculation into a compelling, entertaining narrative. Even though some readers will find Hancock's case to lack credibility due to his discussion of the Cydonia 'monuments' on Mars, his eventual conclusion rests on sound, accepted science: that human civilization is in grave, imminent danger from a massive comet fragment lurking in the Taurid meteor stream. Thanks to exhaustive footnotes, the validity of Hancock's evidence is easy to verify.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Mars Mystery, June 27 2000
The search for life on Mars has fascinated generations of astronomers and stargazers etc. The announcement that NASA scientists may have located evidence of liquid water on the surface of the red planet is only the latest chapter in the exploration of Mars. As much as the public craves proof of little green men, the focus of the scientific search has been to uncover evidence of the conditions necessary for life. NASA researchers described their approach as "follow the water". Water is critical for the development of life and if the presence of liquid water - at or near the surface of Mars - can be confirmed, scientists will be steps closer to piecing the life-on-Mars puzzle.
Mars is the fourth major planet from the Sun, named after the Roman god of war because of its reddish colour. Mars has an elliptical orbit, and so its distance from the Earth varies considerably. Its mean distance from the Sun is 228 million km, about half as far again as is the Earth. A Martian day, or sol, is 24.6 Earth hours, and the Martian year is approximately 687 Earth days. The planet has two small satellites, Phobos and Deimos. Like the Earth, Mars has seasons because of an oblique axis of rotation and the presence of an atmosphere. It is, however, much colder: the mean surface atmospheric temperature is only -23o C. Mars is a small planet, having a mean diameter of 6,790 km, approximately half that of the Earth. Also, its density, 3.933 grams per cubic centimetre, is lower than that of Earth. Mars' thin atmosphere is composed predominantly of carbon dioxide, with some nitrogen and argon. Traces of water vapour have also been detected. The perennial part of the ice caps consists of water ice and the seasonal parts of frozen carbon dioxide.
Water is a substance composed of the chemical elements hydrogen and oxygen and existing in gaseous, liquid, and solid states. Water is one of the most plentiful and essential of compounds. It is vital to life, participating in virtually every process that occurs in plants and animals. Water is a colourless, tasteless, and odourless liquid at room temperature. It's able to dissolve many other substances. The versatility of water as a solvent is essential to living organisms.
In this book, Hancock states that there's an intriguing possibility that ancient Martian has been communicating with our ancestors and points out that there maybe a connection bewteen the remarkable structures of Egypt, say for example, sphinxs and those of Mars. And if we prove that there once has been water on Mars, will Earth have the same fate, or else we can protect the Earth from extinction? The book is written in a precise and neat way. Very interesting and exiciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, better than I thought, May 16 2000
This review is from: The Mars Mystery: The Secret Connection Between Earth and the Red Planet (Paperback)
While the chance for finding intelligent life in the universe is extrememly unlikely (See "Rare Earth" and "Nature's Destiny") the "objects" on Mars always have intriqued me. Hancock does a good review of Mars exploration and what we know of Mars. He also shows us some of the political mess that often runs NASA (See "Deep Time" for another good story on NASA bureacracy concerning the Cassini probe). He scours all previous works on the Cydonia images and pulls it all together, no need to read the older books. The latest MGS photos have caused more problems, than answering questions. NASA photo mishandling and new objects found and questionable photo processing have driven this controversy further.
Mars was once wet, and it wouldn't be surprising to find fossils of primitive life, or maybe life there now. Intelligent life is unlikely, but perhaps not impossible. NASA should end its hypocracy, and dedicate some time with these probes to studying the Cydonia region, to answer the lingering questions.
The only odd thing proposed in this book, is the continuing search for some "lost civilization." Many cultures share the story of a massive flood in the Middle East having disasterous effects on mankind, which has shown to be rooted in reality (See the book "Noah's Flood). But what evidence of some super-advanced civilization before then?
Are similar monument designs around the world inherited from some super race or Martians, or the logical ends of ancient peoples whom relied on the same stars and math for calendars and agriculture?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mars Mystery: The Secret Connection Between Earth and the Red Planet
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews