Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my favorite cookbook ever!
You know how most cookbooks start off with appetizers, beverages and end with dessert? Well, if you're like me and definitely don't need a recipe to fix a beverage and don't want another dessert idea, this is the book for you!
First, the recipes are fairly simple. Sure, there are a few exotic ingredients thrown in, but most are easy to find and these dishes don't...
Published on Aug. 8 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Simply delicious!
The recipes are reliable and easy to follow.
Personal favorites: Butternut squash soup with sizzled sage, Jamaican tomato soup, Spicy carrot peanut soup, Black bean and chipotle soup, Tortilla soup, Corn chowder, Cream of mushroom, and Creamy herbed potato.
There's a large chapter on salads. Try the Asparagus and fennel pasta salad, Caesar salad, Chef salad a...
Published on March 19 2004 by Peggy Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my favorite cookbook ever!, Aug. 8 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special: More Than 275 Recipes for Soups, Stews, Salads & Extras (Paperback)
You know how most cookbooks start off with appetizers, beverages and end with dessert? Well, if you're like me and definitely don't need a recipe to fix a beverage and don't want another dessert idea, this is the book for you!
First, the recipes are fairly simple. Sure, there are a few exotic ingredients thrown in, but most are easy to find and these dishes don't require a lot of steps.
Second, the book focuses on what vegetarians (or semi-vegetarians) are most interested in making--soups and salads. Easy to cook for dinner or great for a week's worth of lunches...
Third, these are refreshing recipes! Who wants another recipe for mac and cheese or potato salad??? I loved the Welsh Rarebit soup. The Baked Bean Soup and French Pasta Salad (with crumbled cheese and toasted hazelnuts) were also hits at our house.
Fourth, there is a small section at the back that includes some interesting supplemental recipes...croutons, quick breads, etc. They're great, and the soup and salad recipes include references to these in case you have a few extra minutes and want to make your meal really special.
I use this book on a weekly basis and always find something tasty. Kudos the the Moosewood staff for giving us health-conscious folk some more ideas for dinner. I've purchased this book as a gift for others and would recommend it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Souper Soups and Salads, Aug. 11 2001
By 
merrymousies (Waterford, VA USA) - See all my reviews
This is a really great soup book (and salads). The recipes have are very well put together. I had been looking for a source of soup recipes and this book is now the place I come to first. If you're looking for just vegetarian recipes then you'll be a little disappointed like a previous reviewer was since there is a section on seafood soups (10 pages long) and a section on seafood salads (13 pages long) but out of almost 400 pages of recipes that's not much (and although I haven't tried them they sound pretty tasty). I'm psyched about this cookbook. The recipes are easy, the ingredients are accessible yet not boring, and the end result is delicesuse!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars soup-and-salad-o-rama, June 2 2001
By 
This review is from: Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special: More Than 275 Recipes for Soups, Stews, Salads & Extras (Paperback)
This is one of my favorite Moosewoods...especially if you are cooking for just one or two (being soups and salads, most of the dishes store well and make great left-overs), if you want some good comfort recipes (yummy, warm soups), if you are looking for an unusual but good potluck idea (salads with flavor!), or if you like to sample a variety of food genres. Some are creative, some are old favorites, many are a combination. Be warned, if you are a vegetarian, that many of the recipes contain dairy and fish...but there are recipes that don't, and the sections (vegetable soups, fish soups, vegetable and grain soups, etc) are helpful in finding the type of dish you want to make. Be warned, also, that there are not pictures...if you are the type that prefer cookbooks with pictures. Be warned, again, that with a variety of ethnic foods represented, some of the recipes contain exotic ingredients that may not be available (depending on how good your local stores are or where you live)...but again, MANY of them don't. There are a wealth of recipes here, and anyone is sure to find not a just a couple, but many favorites. P.S., the recipe for Anadama bread is wonderful if you have the patience for homemade bread making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just A Soup & Salad Cookbook, March 8 2000
By 
C. Sullivan (Alexandria, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special: More Than 275 Recipes for Soups, Stews, Salads & Extras (Paperback)
Like to cook? I mean, like discovering new seasonings and playing with interesting ingredients? If so, THIS BOOK IS FOR YOU!
Don't be dismayed that the recipes are all soups and salads. Those are very broad categories! Many "salads" are more like casual meals (such as Bean Puree with Seven Savories, which is pretty much a really cool Middle Eastern-style nachos, using toasted pita wedges instead of tortilla chips, of course). And as for soups... there are SO MANY different recipes here, no matter what your idea of soup may be when you open this book, it'll have expanded ten-fold after you've perused these pages.
The best part is, soup and salad are such forgiving mediums, this book is perfect for the home chef who wants to explore. Helpful text explains unusual ingredients and describes why certain vegetables & seasonings were chosen to enhance flavor and texture in each recipe. At the bottom of every recipe, the Moosewood editors were kind to include a half dozen or so dishes that would compliment it nicely. Makes meal-planning a snap, and so far, they've been right on target, every time.
I got this book for Christmas and many of the recipes have already become "regulars." I have no qualms about trying new dishes, even when serving guests, because you can trust these recipes to need little, if any, tampering. Though I have several Moosewood cookbooks (and I like them all), I can't recommend THIS book enough. Really!
Oh yeah, and I wanted to also mention that Moosewood also includes time estimates & nutritional informaton for every recipe. gotta love that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Simply delicious!, March 19 2004
By 
Peggy Evans "Anne Evans" (Dallas, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special: More Than 275 Recipes for Soups, Stews, Salads & Extras (Paperback)
The recipes are reliable and easy to follow.
Personal favorites: Butternut squash soup with sizzled sage, Jamaican tomato soup, Spicy carrot peanut soup, Black bean and chipotle soup, Tortilla soup, Corn chowder, Cream of mushroom, and Creamy herbed potato.
There's a large chapter on salads. Try the Asparagus and fennel pasta salad, Caesar salad, Chef salad a la Moosewood, Tomato flowers and the Tostada salad.
At the end of each page it will give menu ideas as to which salads go with which soups. Very helpful. Their salad dressings are very good but my all time favorite which I make once a week is the Moosewood house dressing. A delicious combination of canola oil, cider vinegar, honey, spinach leaves, basil leaves, dijon mustard, a little salt, fresh ground black pepper and buttermilk. All whirled together in a blender and tossed on fresh greens. It will keep in the fridge for about a week.
Very easy directions. Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not great, Dec 5 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special: More Than 275 Recipes for Soups, Stews, Salads & Extras (Paperback)
Being a vegan, I can't make all the recipes in this cookbook, but the ones I've tried so far have ranged from wonderful to icky, sometimes in the same meal (like the North African Couscous Salad, which is terrific, and the Tunisian Pumpkin Soup, which looks and tastes gross; the two are recommended to go together). The good news is that there's a lot here to choose from and plenty of recommendations on what dishes to put together to make a meal. The bad news is that, aside from not always producing spectacular results, some of the recipes are long and involved. If you're interested in a Moosewood recipe book and don't already have it, I suggest trying "Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home." It's much more reliable, and the recipes are relatively easy -- but bear in mind that that recipe book, like this one, is not strictly vegetarian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Be forewarned that it contains many fish/shellfish recipes!, Nov. 12 2000
By A Customer
Since the Moosewood Collective is probably the best-known source of vegetarian recipes and cookbooks, I was horrified by the number of recipes containing fish, shellfish, and seafood products (e.g., clam juice). Checking the index for recipes of certain types or using specific ingredients, I was not thrilled to repeatedly find that the recipe in question contained ingredients a vegetarian wouldn't touch.
Obviously, this is not a problem for people merely eager to add more veggies and grains to their diets, or for those who eschew meat and poultry, but eat seafood as well as veggies/grains. However, for those of us who had come to equate Moosewood with vegetarian, this came as a very nasty surprise. I wish that the title had read "not strictly vegetarian" or "includes some fish/shellfish recipes".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vegetarian Never Tasted So Good, July 3 2001
By 
Teantae Turner "sistert" (Columbia, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special: More Than 275 Recipes for Soups, Stews, Salads & Extras (Paperback)
This was a pleasurable book to cook from. Each recipe was rich and tasty and leftovers, when there were any, made great lunches the next day. I loved the way my kitchen smelled!
"Black Bean & Chipotle Soup" was spicy and delicious. "North African Couscous Salad" was more filling than I expected and had a very exotic flavor. Even served at room temperature, the flavors were strong and tasty. This would make a great picnic salad. If you're a vegetarian who likes to entertain, many of these dishes will satisfy meat eating guests, and they'll probably not even notice.
These are year round recipes that I look forward making whenever I want something a little different yet satisfying. Vegetarian or not, I think most people will enjoy this cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy and Excellent Recipes, April 3 2002
This review is from: Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special: More Than 275 Recipes for Soups, Stews, Salads & Extras (Paperback)
Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special is truly an excellent cookbook. The book is logically organized, and recipes are easy to find either using the comprehensive index or the mini-contents that begin each major section. Each recipe is informative and creative, and the dishes always turn out well.
So far this is the only soup cookbook I use -- the recipes are that good. One of my favorites is the Curried Cauliflower Soup. This soup satisfies your Indian food cravings, and if you've never had Indian food cravings, this soup is sure to start you on your way. I usually make double the recipe and freeze the leftovers to serve over rice another day.
I highly recommend this cookbook for anyone looking to dish out some lighter fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you can't get to the restaurant, get this book!, March 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special: More Than 275 Recipes for Soups, Stews, Salads & Extras (Paperback)
As a former student at Cornell University, I had the distinct pleasure of being able to dine at the Moosewood Restaurant from time to time. Unfortunately, my journeys have taken me away from Ithaca, but this cookbook brings me back every time I open it.
As a lover of soup, I find this book fabulous. There are so many distinctly varied recipes originating from all cuisines that I find it refreshing over your typical cookbook that often hails from one culture. For the most part, the recipes are very easy to follow and you won't have to go to some crazy health foods store to find the ingredients like a lot of other vegetarian cookbooks.
This is THE cookbook I turn to when cooking for myself and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special: More Than 275 Recipes for Soups, Stews, Salads & Extras
CDN$ 27.95 CDN$ 17.52
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews