Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Clarity on the Soul's journey
many clear points on making God a reality in one's life - liked that it's logical rather than hype and inclusive for all
Published 12 months ago by yogatoad

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Duck Soup or The High Art of Suckership
It has been said that if you are in a poker game, look around the table and if you can't find the loser, then you are it! There are some books that should be judged not only on what they say or don't say, but on what they promise and who profits and who loses. This is not one of those. This book should be judged on all those criteria.
The winner at this God-centered...
Published on March 31 2001 by mel borsuk


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Clarity on the Soul's journey, July 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
many clear points on making God a reality in one's life - liked that it's logical rather than hype and inclusive for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Duck Soup or The High Art of Suckership, March 31 2001
By 
mel borsuk (Downeast Maine) - See all my reviews
It has been said that if you are in a poker game, look around the table and if you can't find the loser, then you are it! There are some books that should be judged not only on what they say or don't say, but on what they promise and who profits and who loses. This is not one of those. This book should be judged on all those criteria.
The winner at this God-centered crap-shoot is Mr. Chopra, high priest of the Spiritual Slim-Fast for the happiness-addicted New Age. He has perfected the art of 'give 'em what they want', and, apparently, we American Dreamers of the American Dream want our spirituality fun, quick, and inexpensive. He provides the stuff of dreams in a delicious melange of East and West, Science and Mysticism, Worldliness and Beyond this World. The difficulty in digesting this froth is in the details, where the devil usually resides. For it is in a close reading of the details and in integrating the various loose strands of his thinking that, to vary the metaphor, the suffle collapses.
The foundation premise is actually nonsensical except to Mr. Chopra's ardent fans and Duck Soup colleagues. To argue that various views of God arise from our varied psychological and biological responses to our vision of the world is a nicely simple idea that some might think elegant. Unfortunately, although the seven-storied scheme would give arcane significance by its numbered architecture, we and the world (and hopefully God as an infinite wisdom) are not so simple. For instance, if one reads with a modicum of understanding the Psalms or Saint Teresa of Avila or the Upanishads, one sees that approaches to Reality/God are varied and complex in any one sincere seeker or culture. It is convenient in terms of Chopra's scheme (or scam, depending on one's point of view), to characterize the Old Testament approach as a basic Fight/Flight response but it is inaccurate. Every level of Chopra's "seven-only" possibilities are represented there - and more. One either cannot see it or refuses to see it depending on one's devotion to Chopra and his way of affirming our childish needs.
Ask yourself who wins and who pays the winner's share? If it's not you, then who is it? With a yearly take of over $25 million, Chopra may not know God, but he sure has learned to play Him. Just ask those who pay for their yearly fix and constantly need another whether it be the next book or a colleague's book or tapes or seminars or or or....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not just about religion or spirituality., March 30 2001
By 
Anand Fan (Bangalore, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries (Paperback)
What I like about this book is how Chopra objectively treats the different approaches, by religions or methods, for reaching God. I would definitely recommend this book to people prone to statements like "I was brought up this way", as a means (mostly involuntarily) to disguise a lack of awareness of other types of backgrounds. It provides surprisingly good insight to differences in cultural thinking. A good book for people who enjoy travel, or meeting other cultures, or are forced to meet them, but don't really understand them. At the end of this read, I definitely felt smarter, and intellectually uplifted. A keeper (hardcover please).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars journey, March 18 2001
By 
jw (lasvegas) - See all my reviews
brothers and sisters please dont judge this man gain positive feelings out of it and move on to the next book the ansers are limitless stay openminded and follow your soul& please dont judge the spelling does it really matter to be perfect thankyou i love u
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No stars for Chopra, Nov. 1 2000
By 
Wade Stone (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Know God (Hardcover)
As someone who has genuinely transformed all the way to Oneness by way of direct experience (Deepak's "Unity consciousness"), I can assure you that Deepak Chopra is not "attuned" to the true nature of reality, only to the true nature of how to pull the wool over the eyes of the public in order to make himself a very wealthy man. I sincerely hope that more people will read this negative review, and the several other well-written similar reviews, first, before buying (and buying into) his trickery. Every century has had its great "snake-oil salesmen," but Chopra has got to be the king of them all. He is, without question, another great pretender, cunningly promoting his own prerational myth and magic level perceptions and beliefs as genuinely transrational truths solely for the sake of adding even more money to his already over-flowing pockets. On reading this book (thank god I had the sense to only borrow it), I half expected to eventually come across a chapter on how Santa Claus and his reindeer, by way of quantum mind manipulation, are able to span the globe in a single night! Indeed, this latest book confirmed my previous intuitions regarding Chopra; he is, at best, at level 3 of his own borrowed "7 levels of consciousness" ideology. And no one from that lower level of consciousness has the capacity, and therefore the right, to even attempt to describe the qualities and perceptions of any of the higher levels of consciousness; what he is doing is tantamount to a first-grader attempting to describe, for example, Einstein's Theory of General Relativity. His flagrant misuse of quantum mechanics, of which he obviously has no real concept, as an attempt to rationalize a wide range of superstitious beliefs, from angels to flying nuns, is deplorable, to say the least. I was also very dismayed to read that such respected individuals as the Dalai Lama, and especially Ken Wilber (who, in the past, has done his best to illustrate the enormous difference between the prerational and transrational modes of awareness) are in support of this horrifically immature man and his latest scam of a book. It says a great deal about the level of consciousness they too actually are at, doesn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars How to Know God, April 24 2000
By 
John G. "John G." (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This book does not qualify for a half star rating. It is a serious waste of time and money. It causes me to question the trustworthness of Celebrity endorsements such as those applied to this book. I seriously doubt that all or most of the celebrities actually read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Making the most of gullible's, April 12 2000
I think Deepak Chopra not only thought that there are enough people to fool around with on the topic of spirituality and God, but proved it by his success as a so called spiritual philosopher. It is not the open mindedness of chopra that you should look at, it the the basic motive behind his books. As mentioned by one of the reviewer, I consider 'Tao of Physics' a concise and well written version of 'How to know God'. I have spent years of my life trying to understand the philosophy of Hinduism, for it is known to be of a very ancient origin. From all those years of effort, I would say that Dr.Chopra is using the essense of such philosophies in a unstructured way and poluting the fundamentals of such philosophy and the mind of all those who started becoming his followers.
My sincere advice to all those who think Dr.Chopra is a great philosopher of this century, first try to find answers to following questions and see the depth of your knowledge about what philosophy is? Use that as a simple measure to decide whether you should spend more time to understand certain basics of what so many philosophers and religions have in common or to blindly follow Dr.Chopra just because he says something which more or less fits partly already with your schedule and you can further it without major changes to your thought or actions. One thing we should realize is, its easy for a human to fall for a person who says what we want him to say.
Questions to ask :
1. Do you know your bible or veda or your sacred philosophies fundamental ideas?
2. Have you tried reading the commentaries of all the so called saints and great personalities?
3. Have you any idea the amount of thinking on building a philosophy of their own, by greats like Plato, Socrates, Aristotle, Sphinoza, Voltaire, Kant, ... and their thoughts about Him?
4. Do you see any kind of documentation where Dr.Chopra precisely defines each and every techinical (in the philosophical sense) term as done by each and every philosopher listed earlier.
5. (cont. from 4. ) Don't you see that at times Dr.Chopra is trying to use to vagueness to give you comfort in which ever way you are trying to understand certain thoughts. . . There is no end to such questions if you start questioning certain fundamental thoughts in everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A priest's attempt at physics, Jan. 20 2002
By 
Ning G. Ong "booksmylife" (Bolingbrook, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries (Paperback)
The physical laws that Chopra tries to use in explaining the meta-physical world comes to this physics major as an utter disgust! Not to mention the heavy biblical influence throughout the book, making it feels like reading the bible. This book insults the intelligence of its reader and discourages criticalness and introspection. Even Krishnamurti's abstract discussions are palatable compared to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, Feb. 6 2007
By 
This review is from: How to Know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries (Paperback)
Thought this book was extremely powerful,I found it to be an interesting way of connecting science and spirituality.Its a great read and a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infinite Wisdom, Can You Define That?, March 16 2004
By 
B. Morgan (Indiana Redneck HA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries (Paperback)
I enjoyed Deepak Chopra's book, and plan to use it as a reference during my lifetime to review other people's different "constructions" of "their GOD". For me it's hard to believe that this world's "work-a-job" people (most people) have time to read, research, and (most important) practice spirituality to an extent to give credit to another's (humans-Deepak's) ability to grasp an ineffable infinite intelligence or Being. Read a modern (LIFE Application Bible) Bible and after sorting through numerous conflicting footnotes after 6 months, you too will wonder why this Bible seems so "contradictory" (Yes even inspired with the Holy Spirit). I say this after seeing others "doubt" Chopra's reasonings. Let me end with this: Create a Universe, heck Galaxy of Billions of Suns and Planets full of infinite wonders and life...and then perhaps you can talk to us, and our egos will be able to comprehend why "negative reviewers" understand so well how 'dumb and boring' extensive works (like Deepaks) are elementary. Give me a break critics, perhaps once in "Heaven" you'll be arguing (to God himself) your right of entry in your unbelief in anything but your own falible EGO. May God bless us all, and slow us down enough to notice that He may have already done so...daily, daily daily, GOD BLESS YOU. /////// + B. Morgan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries
How to Know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries by Deepak Chopra (Paperback - Feb. 20 2001)
CDN$ 19.00 CDN$ 13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews