Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and complex conspiracy theory
Thirteen year old Jessie lives in a frontier town, Clifton Indiana in the year 1840. It is a nice comfortable town. Her father is a blacksmith which is indispensible and her mother looked after sick people at night when the local Doc was asleep. One day her mother discovered that the town was plagued with diphtheria. People were going to die without proper medicine. So...
Published on Sept. 26 2010 by bernie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Totally weird book......
The fates of her family and friends are in her hands.
Jessie is a normal 19th century girl. She thinks she lives in Clifton in 1840. There is a diphtheria epidemic in Clifton, and Jessie finds out that in the real world it is 1996, and that she lives in a historical tourist site. People are dying from the disease, and only in the future there is medicine that can...
Published on March 16 2004


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and complex conspiracy theory, Sept. 26 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Thirteen year old Jessie lives in a frontier town, Clifton Indiana in the year 1840. It is a nice comfortable town. Her father is a blacksmith which is indispensible and her mother looked after sick people at night when the local Doc was asleep. One day her mother discovered that the town was plagued with diphtheria. People were going to die without proper medicine. So due to circumstances Jessie was sent out of town to bring back help. This trip could prove deadly for Jessie as she is about to find her world turned up-side-down and we are also in for a shock as we discover a cabal behind a deadly plot.

They say that the people that write best are those people that write about what they know and Margaret Peterson Haddix actually knew of a tourist place similar to where our story starts. Yet the strength in Haddix's story is not as much the intriguing plot as it is her description of people and things. She makes you wonder what you would do.

I knew or thought I pretty much knew the story before reading the book as I saw the movie "The Village" (2004). However the movie was readjusted to match M. Night Shyamalan's standard formula including the standard ending twist. The book was more complex and did not need the minute twist.

The Village (Widescreen Vista Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for 6th and 7th graders, April 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
I liked Running Out of Time because I liked the characters. The main character, Jessie, is like a real life person because she does not have a fairy tail way of getting out of danger. She had to get out of a house soon. Jessie climbed out the second story window because the door leading out of the room was locked. Jessie hangs out the window, then puts her feet on the first floor window. She is half way when she slips and falls. Jessie falls into a bush. She is out of the house. Running Out of Time has a twist at the end.
Running Out of Time is about a girl named Jessie. She lives in Clifton, Indiana in the 1840's or so she's told. However, the adults in Clifton know the secret. Diphtheria breaks out and Jessie has to escape into the real world before time runs out. Jessie finds herself in more danger than she could imagine. There is someone, who wants to kill her. What is Clifton's secret? Will Jessie save Clifton? Find out by reading, Running Out of Time.
I would recommend Running Out of Time to anyone who likes fiction and mystery. I would recommend it to anyone in sixth through seventh grade. Running Out of Time also has adventure. It is a fun book and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. There is something new happening all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1840-1996 in 5 Minutes, March 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Running Out of Time by: Margaret Peterson Haddix
Only you can save us now... Jessie Keyser lives in the "authentic historical preserve" of Clifton Village. That means that she thinks it is still 1840. Part of the promise to the citizens of Clifton is that they will get modern health care, food during famine, and that every child will get to know the truth by the time they are 12. Jessie is 13 and she still doesn't know the truth but all that is about to change.
When a diphtheria epidemic spreads over Clifton, Jessie must get help from the outside world. She must deal with the unknown and escape the unimaginable. This is a story of adventure, conflicts, and resolutions. A tale of cliff hanging chapters.
I would recommend this book to grades 5-7. A younger child may not understand some of the complicated details. I enjoyed this book for the most part, but I found some of the plot hard to follow and some details a little bit unrealistic. It wasn't great literature, but it sure held your attention. If you like books packed with action, and not much depth this is good for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Running Out of Book Reviews, March 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Running Out of Time is an exciting book about an 1840s girl named Jessie who lives in Clifton, a small, quiet village. But when diphtheria threatens the town´¿s children, and Jessie´¿s own sister, Jessie must learn the horrible truth about Clifton Village, and leave the town to find a modern cure. If Jessie doesn´¿t find a cure, the children will die. Jessie must suffer many hardships such as money, electricity, cars, and many more objects of the future. But as she learns more and more about 1996, the children are getting sicker. And every minute she spends, the children are running out of time.
I think that Running Out of Time is an excellent book. I loved the way the story was written and formed. The book has a great plot. I loved how Jessie got to learn a whole different century. If I was Jessie, I would be really freaked out all the time. But she kept cool, and just slowly figured out how the future worked. I also think the book had very good vocabulary. I learned words I would have never learned otherwsise. Actually, you don´¿t even realize that you are learning new words every time you open the book! Books like Running Out of Time just pull you in, and you get so obsorbed that you don´¿t realize you are learning something new on every page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Running Out of Plot, March 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Your family and friends' life is in your hands. That's what the situation is for Jessie Keyser, a 13 year old living in the frontier village of Clifton, Indiana. The year is 1840, and the children of Clifton are dying of diphtheria. Jessie's mother sends her on a dangerous quest for help. But once she goes beyond Clifton, the world is scarier, stranger, and more terrifying than she could have imagined. And soon, she finds her own life in question. Can she save Clifton before everybody runs out of time?
There's nothing very good I can say about this book. Too many unessecary details and not enough storyline make this book a doughy, dry 184-page phonebook. I found Running Out of Time to be highly unrealistic. This is not a novel for children, moms and dads. If you are loooking for deranged, half-fantasy bordering on reality,or you are rounding up the worst books of the twentieth century, Running Out of Time is certainly for you. You don't want to read this one unless you are really tolerant of bad fiction. Personally, I would rather eat raw fish heads than read this again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Five Steps into the Future, March 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Running Out of Time, is a good book written by Margaret Peterson. It tells about a young girl named Jessie living in 1840,in a peaceful small town called Clifton, but soon diphtheria, a deadly disease, comes to her town.
Just after it comes, she learns from her mother that out side Clifton it is 1996! Her mother informs her that Clifton is a historical preserve. A historical preserve is a place where the people in it, pretend like they were living in a different time.
When Jessie´¿s sister gets diphtheria, Jessie's mother sends her into the alien out side world, to get medicine for the children of Clifton. She must get over a barbed wire fence and remain unseen by cameras in almost every tree. There are guards at every exit, and confusing things called radios torment her while she tries to leave. Many people do not want her to leave. They seem to want all the children in Clifton to die. This is a good book for anyone ages of 11 and up, it is be a good book for boys and girls. If you do not like quickly moving plots, you should be prepared for a fast slightly confusing book. Also this book has many smaller plots, so if you only like one plot, do not read it.
I enjoyed this book, mostly because of the way the author described the way it felt to be seeing a TV and hearing a radio, when all your life no such thing could exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Totally weird book......, March 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
The fates of her family and friends are in her hands.
Jessie is a normal 19th century girl. She thinks she lives in Clifton in 1840. There is a diphtheria epidemic in Clifton, and Jessie finds out that in the real world it is 1996, and that she lives in a historical tourist site. People are dying from the disease, and only in the future there is medicine that can save them. Jessie must set out on a journey to save the people of Clifton.
I think this book is okay, and I'm running out of good books to read, so that's a plus. I think the storyline is a little bit too linear for my taste, and at the end the plot just sort of disintegrates. Then there are another forty pages or so, give or take 40, where nothing happens. Margaret Peterson Haddix just sort of takes the ending to the Nth degree, and so it gets boring. Besides the cons I just mentioned, this book is all in all not such a bad book. I would recommend it to teens who are not looking for any particular book, or they're looking for a weird book, because this book certainly has a lot of weirdness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jordyn ..., March 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
This book is about a 13 year old girl named Jessie, who lives in the town of Clifton. See Jessie thinks that it is 1840 when her mother reveals a shocking truth, it is actually 1996, and children in Clifton are dying from Diptheria, and they need modern medicine,which Jessie's mother wants her to get from the modern version of America. Jessie finds herself stuck in a world of horror when she finds out, not only is it 156 years later than she thought it was,but then she finds out, that her town is being watched 24/7 by tourists , because there are cameras hidden EVERYWHERE in Clifton. Jessie confronts odd things, that even she never would have dreamed of. Jessie finds out what a car, television,computer etc. is. It shocks this 13 year old girl to see what everyone in Clifton has been missing out on.Jessie has to find a telephone, and call a doctor who protested the idea of actors, and actresses living in a false 1840 colony. Jessie actually has to travel several hundred miles to find her source of hope. Jessie finally finds the doctor, and saves Clifton. I loved this book, it was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine as fish hair, Jan. 1 2004
By 
E. R. Bird "Ramseelbird" (Manhattan, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Margaret Peterson Haddix began her authorial career with the small unobtrusive science fiction story, "Running Out of Time". In this amusing novel, a child raised in a tourism site circa 1840, discovers that in the real world it is actually 1996 and she must find a way to save the children of the town dying of diphtheria. Reading it, I was reminded of an old Reading Rainbow where Levar Burton visits such a town as this and enjoys his stay. I always wanted to live in such a situation and this book captures that feeling. Yet as it is, this isn't a grand sweeping tale. At 184 pages it amuses and entertains while remaining true to the ideas it presents. It is not, however, particularly stunning. There is nothing in this book to say that it is "great" or that greatness will come of it. Haddix likes grand ideas more than details. The idea that the creators of this tourism site wanted to create a new race of (white) humans with the ability to withstand all forms of disease is amusing. But the execution rings sour. If the evil leader of this town meant to eventually phase out the adults but keep the town going, how was he planning on keeping the citizens in it? If the tour guide gives regular showings of the children in school, why doesn't she recognize our heroine in modern dress? Other small details such as this keep the book from being quite as fine as it might be. Though nothing spectacular, this is a droll little read and kids that enjoy the idea of living in the past may take especially to this tale of realistic time traveling. Extra points to Haddix for drawing influence from Conner Prairie and setting the book in Indiana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Running out of Time, Dec 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
...Jessie is a girl who is about 12 or 13. She is living in the 1800's in a great place called Clifton-or so she thinks. There are just a few mysteries of Clifton-like why are the children forbidden to go close to most of the mirrors or mirrors are in strange places(how about in-between school desks?). Or when Jessie is little she climbs up a tree to see a mysterious glass object-and get spanked for it? Well one day the children of Clifton start getting a disease called diphtheria that is treatable now but deadly back then. Jessie's mother then reveals a horrible secret-it's really 1996 and Clifton is a historical preserve. Even more horrible-the people in charge of Clifton will no longer bring in modern medicine so the kids could die! Even Jessie's little sister has caught the disease by now. Jessie's mother asks her to do a daring thing-go out and seek help. Jessie accepts but once she gets out there she is clueless. (How clueless you ask? She thinks a school bus is a limousine!)Can Jessie get help before she runs out of time? Another good book by this auther is Just Ella! A must read as well althiugh not as good as Running Out of Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running Out Of Time
Running Out Of Time by Margaret Peterson Haddix (School & Library Binding - Feb. 1 1997)
CDN$ 19.20 CDN$ 16.65
Usually ships in 12 to 14 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews