Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
My grand-daughter read this book in grade 6 and loved it. She has been looking for it again, so I tried Amazon, and there it was. I ordered it for her and she had it read within a day. Still loved it!!
Thank you very much, CB
Published 19 months ago by Connie Blenkarn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Running Out of History
Jessie finds out it's not the 1800's. It's 1996 and the children are dying from diphtheria because of some experiment to have modern families immune to disease. The people of Clifton need help, and Jessie must venture into 1996 to get the cure.
She has to find out how to use the phone and other electronics to save the children of Clifton. She must save them before...
Published on March 17 2004


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Dec 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
My grand-daughter read this book in grade 6 and loved it. She has been looking for it again, so I tried Amazon, and there it was. I ordered it for her and she had it read within a day. Still loved it!!
Thank you very much, CB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and complex conspiracy theory, Sept. 26 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Thirteen year old Jessie lives in a frontier town, Clifton Indiana in the year 1840. It is a nice comfortable town. Her father is a blacksmith which is indispensible and her mother looked after sick people at night when the local Doc was asleep. One day her mother discovered that the town was plagued with diphtheria. People were going to die without proper medicine. So due to circumstances Jessie was sent out of town to bring back help. This trip could prove deadly for Jessie as she is about to find her world turned up-side-down and we are also in for a shock as we discover a cabal behind a deadly plot.

They say that the people that write best are those people that write about what they know and Margaret Peterson Haddix actually knew of a tourist place similar to where our story starts. Yet the strength in Haddix's story is not as much the intriguing plot as it is her description of people and things. She makes you wonder what you would do.

I knew or thought I pretty much knew the story before reading the book as I saw the movie "The Village" (2004). However the movie was readjusted to match M. Night Shyamalan's standard formula including the standard ending twist. The book was more complex and did not need the minute twist.

The Village (Widescreen Vista Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite book, May 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
The book is really interesting because it talks about the past where the main character is thought to believe that it's the 1800's and not 1996.It gets better as you go on because Diptheria spreads around the reservation where she lives killing friends.As you go, you learn new things that you hadn't known before.She goes through a lot of things in her journey because she's sent to look for a doctor to cure the people.At the end she saves all the people in the reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i wish i could give it a 4.5, May 3 2004
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
loved this book. it has a great concept, a fantastic story line, but the charecters could use some developing. running out of time could be longer, and that would only make it better. though, i must admit it had me thinking about whether or not it's really 2004 or not, who knows? maybe we live in a tourist attraction, and out side this little experimental world, there are aleins living in 4011? anyway, but this book, it wouldn't be a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Run and Buy this Book, April 8 2004
By 
Allison (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Thirteen-year-old Jessie thinks that she lives in the year 1840. All her life she has lived without electricity or any other modern items. But, when children begin dying of diphtheria, her mother reveals the truth-it is 1996.
Not knowing what even a lightbulb or a car is, Jessie must sneak out of their colony to the modern world and start a press conference.
Once you begin this book, you can't put it down and it has a great plot. I recommend it for children anywhere from the grades 5-7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for 6th and 7th graders, April 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
I liked Running Out of Time because I liked the characters. The main character, Jessie, is like a real life person because she does not have a fairy tail way of getting out of danger. She had to get out of a house soon. Jessie climbed out the second story window because the door leading out of the room was locked. Jessie hangs out the window, then puts her feet on the first floor window. She is half way when she slips and falls. Jessie falls into a bush. She is out of the house. Running Out of Time has a twist at the end.
Running Out of Time is about a girl named Jessie. She lives in Clifton, Indiana in the 1840's or so she's told. However, the adults in Clifton know the secret. Diphtheria breaks out and Jessie has to escape into the real world before time runs out. Jessie finds herself in more danger than she could imagine. There is someone, who wants to kill her. What is Clifton's secret? Will Jessie save Clifton? Find out by reading, Running Out of Time.
I would recommend Running Out of Time to anyone who likes fiction and mystery. I would recommend it to anyone in sixth through seventh grade. Running Out of Time also has adventure. It is a fun book and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. There is something new happening all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Running Out of History, March 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Jessie finds out it's not the 1800's. It's 1996 and the children are dying from diphtheria because of some experiment to have modern families immune to disease. The people of Clifton need help, and Jessie must venture into 1996 to get the cure.
She has to find out how to use the phone and other electronics to save the children of Clifton. She must save them before time runs out.
I liked the book very much. I think it would be a good book for children in grades 4-6. It is a book you can't put down and very well written. Good job Margaret Peterson Haddix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1840-1996 in 5 Minutes, March 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Running Out of Time by: Margaret Peterson Haddix
Only you can save us now... Jessie Keyser lives in the "authentic historical preserve" of Clifton Village. That means that she thinks it is still 1840. Part of the promise to the citizens of Clifton is that they will get modern health care, food during famine, and that every child will get to know the truth by the time they are 12. Jessie is 13 and she still doesn't know the truth but all that is about to change.
When a diphtheria epidemic spreads over Clifton, Jessie must get help from the outside world. She must deal with the unknown and escape the unimaginable. This is a story of adventure, conflicts, and resolutions. A tale of cliff hanging chapters.
I would recommend this book to grades 5-7. A younger child may not understand some of the complicated details. I enjoyed this book for the most part, but I found some of the plot hard to follow and some details a little bit unrealistic. It wasn't great literature, but it sure held your attention. If you like books packed with action, and not much depth this is good for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Traveling Through Time, March 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Running Out of Time is about a girl who's sent out of her village to find a cure for the kids. Once out of her village it's like a whole new world. She has to figure out how to work these devices that she had never seen before. There's barely any time left.
This is a really good book because it's suspensful and sad. You never want to put it down. The book made me so sad at times I found tears in my eyes. But all together this is a great book!!
I recommend this book for people ages 8-44. Any gender I think will like this book.
You will especially like it if you love adventures and mysteries. Read it, you' ll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars time travel, March 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Running Out of Time (Paperback)
Running out of Time is a fast pace book about a girl living in the 19th century, at least that's what she thinks, but when the town of Clifton gets sick she is forced to go to the real world to get medicine for the childen Clifton, but on her way she meets weird people and learns weird things. The good guys are the bad guys, the safe place is dangerous and the good things are bad. The book is a mix of mystery, adventure and drama. It is scary because of all the new things in Jessie's life. It's mysterious because everybody is not who they are. It is a good book, because the author lets you figure some of the story yourself.
I would recommend this book to mystery lovers between 9-12 years old, also people who also like to be at a cliff hanger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running Out Of Time
Running Out Of Time by Margaret Peterson Haddix (School & Library Binding - Feb. 1 1997)
CDN$ 18.46 CDN$ 13.64
Usually ships in 2 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews