Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great book
love this book. was read to me as a child and I purchased it to read to my soon to be newborn :)
Published 4 months ago by stash

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars book roverandom purchase.
the condition and the delivery were just great - the problem is that the book was not in English - suspect it to Spanish
anyway cannot read the book....which was very disappointing. byron buick
Published 3 months ago by byron buick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars book roverandom purchase., Jan. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roverandom (Hardcover)
the condition and the delivery were just great - the problem is that the book was not in English - suspect it to Spanish
anyway cannot read the book....which was very disappointing. byron buick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, Dec 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roverandom (Paperback)
love this book. was read to me as a child and I purchased it to read to my soon to be newborn :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars roverandom, March 6 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Roverandom (Paperback)
this is a great story for anyone who's ever lost a favorate toy. It was really short and lacking detail but it was intended for kids (many of whom have short attention spans) I really enjoyed roverandom's adventure on the dark side of the moon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A charming story. . ., Feb. 20 2002
By 
David Zampino "21st Century Hobbit" (Glendale, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roverandom (Hardcover)
. . .written by a loving father to console a weeping boy.
On a seaside holiday with his family, Tolkien's 2nd child lost his toy dog on the beach. After hours of searching, it became clear that the toy was gone for good. Ever the master storyteller, Tolkien fashioned a tale about a little dog which annoys a magician and is turned into a toy and experiences all sorts of adventures under the sea and on the moon before being returned to his natural state and to his owner.
Lovers of Tolkien have long known of the existence of this manuscript and it is a joy to see it finally in print.
Wonderful for children of all ages. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I really tried to like this book..., March 4 2001
This review is from: Roverandom (Paperback)
But I couldn't get past 40 pages before giving up. I know, it's a children's book, and Tolkien was busy with The Silmarillion (this book was finished in 1925, The Silimarillion started at 1919 and ended at 1973.), but the story's WAY TOO FAST! I couldn't finish this book without saying "Why? Why? Why did I read it?"
I'm giving it 2 stars because this is just Tolkien and it was just a children's story, way before his genius came into being in 1935 with The Hobbit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A nice little children's story -- but Tolkien's done better!, Feb. 7 2001
By 
Mike London "MAC" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Roverandom (Hardcover)
Granted, this is a book written for Tolkien's children, and it does contain some nice little word-play elements -- but lets face it: This is not a literary masterpiece -- but niether is it trash either. With Tolkien's children's fiction, with the exception of THE HOBBIT, its not so much the quality of it but the fact that it exists. These activities culiminated in the composistion of THE HOBBIT. When Allen & Unwin accepted it for publication and it became a runaway hit, they wanted more about 'hobbits'. This book, MR. BLISS, THE LOST ROAD, and THE SILMARILLION (OF BEREN & LUTHIEN, the poetic form, was submitted with perhaps FARMER GILES as well)found its way to the publishing house in 1937. But Sir Stanely Unwin wanted not these but a hobbit sequel, of which we all know what happened with that.
This being said, ROVERANDOM shows Tolkien delighting in the position of a story teller for his children. The love and warmth shows clearly in these pages, and while its not the best thing ever written, it does have its charms. Largely, however, this work is for Tolkien completists, and by and large will not win over any fans. But if you looking for a book to read to your younger children and you want it to be Tolkien, this is a good choice. But if they're a little older, give 'em the real meat and introduce them to that lovable Bilbo Baggins. Its worth a look, but not necessarily a second or third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite entertaining, Feb. 1 2001
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (North-Central Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roverandom (Hardcover)
In 1925, during a vacation on the Yorkshire coast, J.R.R. Tolkien's four-year-old son Michael lost his favorite toy dog. To console Michael, his father spun out a tale of where the toy dog had come from and where he went. This is that story.
A young dog named Rover is happily playing with his yellow rubber ball when he meets a cross old man. Rover sends the man on his way, tearing his trousers in the process. Sadly for Rover, the old man is Artaxerxes, a powerful wizard from Persia. (When Artaxerxes had become lost and asked for directions, someone had become confused and gave him directions to Pershore!) Artaxerxes turns Rover into a toy dog, and sends him off. This is the start of an epic quest for Rover, who meets a sand-wizard, the Man-in-the-Moon, the great dragons that live on the moon, the many merfolk living at the bottom of the ocean, and a delightful little boy.
This gentle story is quite entertaining. The story is wonderful in a slow, gentle way that seems irreproducible today. It is great for children. Complete with a group of illustrations drawn by the great J.R.R. himself, and some notes at the end to explain certain names and so forth, this is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and charming, Nov. 25 2000
By 
Kathleen Cobcroft (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roverandom (Hardcover)
Roverandom is a flight of fancy written for Tolkien's children over several years as an explanation of what happened to his son's little lost toy dog. It is extremely light and silly, and generally good fun. Little Rover, a real dog turned into a toy, gets into various scrapes, lives with the Man in the Moon (and the Dog in the Moon) for a bit, and meets a whole lot of people with very silly names.
To get a feel for the style, it's really a lot more like the Father Christmas Letters than the Hobbit, and is full of Tolkien's scetches and paintings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roverandum is a lovely little story., May 20 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Roverandom (Paperback)
I quite enjoyed Roverandum and thought it very enchanting and pleasant.It had lovely descriptions and very pleasing and interesting characters. Some may think it too cute or rather pale beside of The Lord of the Rings but you have to remember that this story was orginally written for a child.It reminded me of the Doctor Dolittle books which have also been called rather whimsy and cute. Anyway Roverandum is a nice little story, pure humor and enchantment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific read-aloud book, Sept. 20 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Roverandom (Hardcover)
This book was a delight for my 10-year-old (and me), even after already having read the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. A clever, enchanting story with lots of fun and unexpected twists. Our thanks to whoever found this "lost" work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0e39c0)

This product

Roverandom
Roverandom by J. R. R. Tolkien (School & Library Binding - June 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 175.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews