Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Part 3 of the City Watch series of Discworld
I just finished the third book in the City Watch series, Feet of Clay. It is another home run for Pratchett. The book is not quite as funny as the first two, but it says even more about the human condition. No human institution is left unscathed as he hits politics, religion, social class, and racism. All in one book, while still filling it full of parody, jokes, and...
Published on Jan. 7 2002 by David Roy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
First of all, let me get one thing clear: I like Terry Pratchett books. That said, this is my opinion.
This is quite a good book, make no mistake. Some things may have a little more meaning to those who have read earlier Pratchett offerings, but in general, quite good.
However, I do not really go for books that push the "racial tolerance" or...
Published on Dec 4 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A new Discworld book that lives up to the series., Sept. 8 1997
By 
William E. Hunter "Ummagumma" (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're like me, and voraciously read the great British authour Terry Pratchett's Discworld novels as soon as you see them on the shelves of the local bookstore, then there is a genuine cosmic force that will compell you to get this one and nothing I can say will make any difference.

But lately, over the last few entries into the series, that certain colour of magic has been missing from them, which made the early works so great to read. But not to worry...Pratchett is definately in top form with this one, which marks the always hilarious return of the Anhk-Morepork City Watch, headed by 'Sir' Samuel Vimes.

Along with the already well fleshed-out main cast of Watchmen including Corp. Carrot, Angua, Nobbs, Detritus and Fred Colon, we have some new characters, all who jump off the page with Pratchett's expert handling. Even though this is a comic view of fantasy, sort of a Douglas Adams by way of Tolkien, there might be no better weaver of plot and character than Mr. Pratchett.

As usual, the much put-upon metropolis of Ankh-Morepork is in grave peril, this time by a rampaging Golem, out of control and looking for blood. Things are complicated by another crisis as the slow poisoning of the Patrician has Vimes retracing the path of his childhood.

So, as we've come to expect from our previous travels across the Discworld, Pratchett throws in everything but the kitchen sink, somehow managing to stray off in many directions but always keeping a complicated plot, engaging characters, vivid location and a continuing sense of wonder with this world all in the air at the same time.

Trust me. Buy this book. It's worth any price. And that's cuttin' me own throat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, entertaining and well, enjoyable..., Dec 22 2001
By 
S. Hameed "shire-reader" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I liked this book. When I first picked it up, I knew pretty much what I wanted. I was looking for a nice Vimes episode, something to fill up the boring hours in between an otherwise pretty dull life(in otherwords, holiday time). The first couple of pages didn`t seem so engrossing, but as the story progresses, it becomes more and more addictive. On top of that cunning old Pratchett seems to have a dislike of chapters, and when you see only four small and insignifigant asterisks seperating you from the next scene, it`s like a heroine addict sitting and staring at a loaded syringe(no I have had no such experience). The plot is intriguing, with a murderer walking (or stomping) free on the streets of Ankh Morpork, Vetinari on the verge of death(amazing, huh?) and Commander Samuel Vimes on the loose, trying to find the questions to answers which he knows are floating around soomewhere. For Terry Pratchett(especially Vimes)fans, this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Everyone's guilty of Something" - Feet of Clay quote, Oct. 12 2001
By 
Anh Nguyen (SoCal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is another crime story in the tradition of Men at Arms for those who've read previous Guards book. Feet of Clay is a good read, with the backdrop themed around what happen when anyone try to play god and create life without realizing the consequences.
Although the backdrop theme to this book is great, its not as complicated as Fifth Elephant and is not necessarily as funny as Men at Arms. This would would get a 4 1/2 stars if such rating were possible. If you're a fan of the Guards, then don't miss this book. Its a lot better than some of Pratchett's early works. This book dealt with a lot of social politics, and the concept of "Capitalism". This book also dig deeper into the Pratritian of Ankh-Morpork. To all Guards fan, Hamlock Vetinari is still an enigma, but more on him are written in this book as a preface for Jingo. So to anyone who read this review, buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great story - Pratchett at his best, March 29 2001
By 
kresnels "kresnels" (Culver City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Some of the other Pratchett books I've had to give only four stars - because of Feet of Clay. This, to me, was the most memorably enjoyable book in the Discworld series.
A series of brutal, yet inexplicable crimes once again lead Sam Vimes and the Watch down the alleys and backstreets of Ankh-Morpork ... well, not Nobby, because he's been appointed a lord by the Registrar of Heraldry!
For those who relish in the early Pratchett non-stop puns, Feet of Clay has it; like the plot twists? got you covered; like a little message about free will? No problem. You want fries with that?
Anyone who enjoys humor will enjoy Terry Pratchett - people who like a very engaging plot with a surprising ending will really enjoy Feet of Clay. Since you don't really have to read the Discworld books in order, this can be a great starting point - just on the strength of the read. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great story - Pratchett at his best, March 29 2001
By 
kresnels "kresnels" (Culver City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Some of the other Pratchett books I've had to give only four stars - because of Feet of Clay. This, to me, was the most memorably enjoyable book in the Discworld series.
A series of brutal, yet inexplicable crimes once again lead Sam Vimes and the Watch down the alleys and backstreets of Ankh-Morpork ... well, not Nobby, because he's been appointed a lord by the Registrar of Heraldry!
For those who relish in the early Pratchett non-stop puns, Feet of Clay has it; like the plot twists? got you covered; like a little message about free will? No problem. You want fries with that?
Anyone who enjoys humor will enjoy Terry Pratchett - people who like a very engaging plot with a surprising ending will really enjoy Feet of Clay. Since you don't really have to read the Discworld books in order, this can be a great starting point - just on the strength of the read. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Title gives too much away, June 13 2000
There's a murderer loose in Ankh-Morpork it's up to the gumshoes to find him. This episode in the Discworld Saga concentrates on Commander Vimes, Carrot and various others in the Watch. Nobbs is promoted to nobility and of course gets as drunk as a Lord. We meet female dwarves, thwart assination attempts on the Patrician, get to solve a murder mystery and stop a riot involving the city's golems. Oh, yes and we get to meet many of the newest Watch members. My only disappointment in this one is that Pratchett's usual strange twists, weren't quite up to par. Perhaps he had recently read too many obvious mystery novels and wanted the reader to figure out the plots ahead of time muttering to themselves. He does effectively lampoon many mystery writers as well as create a marvolously convoluted plot that dovetails, if not mysteriously, at least with humourous consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Subtle Discworld - Grand Silliness and Quiet Reflections, Nov. 7 1997
By A Customer
This book is a typical discworld in plot - insane, bizarre, silly, the works. But what I really like is how Pratchett is filling out his world and the characters. They are no longer quite is slick and one dimensional as in the earliest novels. You get a good understanding of how life is lived in Ankh-Morpork, how Carrot affects everyone around him, the subtlies of Vimes - all of it.
But don't worry, the fun is still there. Can you actually imagine a female dwarf daring to be female (make-up, clothes, et al)? Or the obtusely literal-minded citizens of Ankh-Morpork (crests must be designed from life)?

Enjoy this book, but be cautious. If you don't particularly like reflecting on the serious as well as the silliness, you won't enjoy this book as much as some of the other Discworld novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Banana, Fishcake, Tribble, Aardvark., March 28 1998
By A Customer
Many people try but none can compete. Pratchett is simply the best, and the Guards novels are my favourites out of his wacky discworld.
Having read all of Pratchett's books and watched the video versions, (i.e. Wyrd Sisters, Soul Music, Truckers & Johnny and the Dead) I am waiting in anticipation for one of the more mature books (Like Good Omens - pour example P.s.I learnt french from DellBoy Trotter) to be made into a film. ONLY don't trust any Hollywood (or other Americans) to do it, with the revival of the British Film Industry - go on give them a go. they understand humour better.
Back to the book, I hope one of the Guards books becomes a cartoon soon, as it needs to go on my must-by list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Citizen Clay..., May 3 2001
By 
Brian K. Eason (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are a Pratchett fan then I am wasting my time telling you what a genius Terry is... if you're not yet a Pratchett fan, you need to find your introduction book to the master of Fantasy Satire.
Probably one of the finest mystery stories I've ever read. A Golem has commited murder, except that Golem's can't kill... A locked-door mystery unlike any other, Feet of Clay introduces a variety of exciting new characters to the Ankh-Morpork city watch and happily returns Sam Vimes, Nobby, Colon and Carrot in a story that will have you scratching your head in wonder while you are covering your mouth laughing...
A must have for any fan of the Ankh-Morpork City Watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You missed the old Pratchett? Buy this, feel home again!, Sept. 18 1997
By A Customer
If you discovered the Discworld like I did (reading <Guards, Guards>) you will have this stuff as you read this, anyway.

If you are torn between Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Robert Sheckley, J. R. R. Tolkien and Robert Asprin, WHAT KEPT YOU SO LONG. This is definitely a MUST HAVE. What are you waiting for?

If you have been reading Discworlds novels before, don't waste your time with my opinion, just go get it!

This is definitely one of the best books P. ever did. It's shrewed, witty, ranges from slapstick to drama and back (often through misterious ways), in a nutshell, it's a Pratchett. I can't wait to see the movie (just kiddin', Terry;-))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feet of Clay
Feet of Clay by Terry Pratchett (School & Library Binding - March 2004)
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews