Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but slightly adult
I agree with another reviewist, that putting women on a pedastel is not respecting them.
But, overall the plot was exotic, I haven't ever read a book like this.
It was short, a little crammed. I wish there'd been a little bit more about where Branko came from.
Ok book.
Published on Sept. 25 2008 by Max Holiday

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, it was really REALLY weird
(...)it wasn't very good...Brank wasn't a believable alien since he knew Earthan culure too well, and Tonia was a total sell-out of a girl. I mean, you don't do that with a guy just because he speaks another language, HELLO! and that scene was like, what half a sentence long? This was a weird book. It would have been better withOUT the 1/2 sentence sex scene, and if...
Published on Nov. 5 2001 by dreamstreetgirl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but slightly adult, Sept. 25 2008
This review is from: Dancing with an Alien (Paperback)
I agree with another reviewist, that putting women on a pedastel is not respecting them.
But, overall the plot was exotic, I haven't ever read a book like this.
It was short, a little crammed. I wish there'd been a little bit more about where Branko came from.
Ok book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, Mildly Thought Provoking, July 5 2002
By 
As a sci-fi fan with a romantic streak, I found this book enjoyable on both levels. Do not be fooled by the small size, however. This book is not for children. There is no graphic sex, but there are several technical references and a very short non-graphic scene.
I give this book four stars instead of three because of the final message. Putting women on a pedestal is not the same as respecting them as people. If a culture strongly admires women because of their ability to reproduce, they are not truly honouring women. Only wombs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, it was really REALLY weird, Nov. 5 2001
(...)it wasn't very good...Brank wasn't a believable alien since he knew Earthan culure too well, and Tonia was a total sell-out of a girl. I mean, you don't do that with a guy just because he speaks another language, HELLO! and that scene was like, what half a sentence long? This was a weird book. It would have been better withOUT the 1/2 sentence sex scene, and if the characters were more well-developed and WAY less static.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Empty story with a questionable message, Oct. 18 2001
By 
Ed Iverson (Moscow, ID USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dancing with an Alien (Hardcover)
Boy meets girl. Girl experiences 'first love'. Boy realizes that he loves Girl too much to accomplish his 'mission' and returns in disgrace to his home planet. Despite the authors occasional attempts to create authenticity, the alien 'boy' knows way too much about Minneapolis to be credible. The tale would have been innocuous and merely vapid but for the ending, where the author deems it necessary for the girl to give herself to the alien. The message seems to be that its OK for teenagers to 'slow dance' if the circumstances warrant. Just what we need...YA authors encouraging kids to be sexually active...'but only if you're sure that its "right" for you'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Empty story with a questionable message, Oct. 18 2001
By 
Ed Iverson (Moscow, ID USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dancing with an Alien (Hardcover)
Boy meets girl. Girl experiences 'first love'. Boy realizes that he loves Girl too much to accomplish his 'mission' and returns in disgrace to his home planet. Despite the authors occasional attempts to create authenticity, the alien 'boy' knows way too much about Minneapolis to be credible. The tale would have been innocuous and merely vapid but for the ending, where the author deems it necessary for the girl to give herself to the alien. The message seems to be that its OK for teenagers to 'slow dance' if the circumstances warrant. Just what we need...YA authors encouraging kids to be sexually active...'but only if you're sure that its "right" for you'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A book that had potential....had..., July 21 2001
When I first saw this book I thought it had great potential. As an avid fan of the teen tv drama "Roswell" I thought, hey an alien, a girl....could be good. Alas I fear I was mistaken. "Dancing with an Alien" to me was full of sentimental nothing!.The scene was layed most colorfully but that is where the imagination stopped. I felt like I was reading a technical manual. The culmination scene in the end which the whole book builds up to, was like one sentence long. I'm sorry this may seem harsh but like I said I had expected more. I feel that this tale was only the bits and pieces of a once great, LONGER novel which I for one would have loved to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dancing with an Alien!! huh?, March 8 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dancing with an Alien (Hardcover)
Have you ever danced with an alien? Well,I know I havn't. Well,in this book a girl named Tonia doesn't neccessarily dance with an alien..... There's a boy named Branko who comes down to earth to find a female,and bring her back because in their planet all the women died of a serious disease. So, Tonia and Branko meet and become close. And so then Branko explains to Tonia why he was there and Tonia decides to go back with Branko. But Branko figures that she wouldn't really enjoy her life.....so if you want to know what happens next then you should read Dancing with an Alien. I gave it 4 stars it was a good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice intro to Sci-Fi, but beware of some content, Feb. 27 2001
By 
Lu Ann Staheli "allstars" (Spanish Fork, UT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dancing with an Alien (Hardcover)
First romance is a tender time, and Logue handles well the feelings of the main characters in this novel meant for upper level teens, despite its easy read style. The Science Fiction idea of romance with an alien is also intriguing, but not well-developed. My only hesitation, the consumation scene toward the end which really wasn't necessary, unless Logue intends a sequal to this novel,if then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing with an Alien is enchanting!, Feb. 11 2001
By 
Rebecca Brown "rebeccasreads" (Clallam Bay, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dancing with an Alien (Hardcover)
Branko is here on Earth on a mission & his time is running out. Tonia can hardly wait for her best friend to return from camp so their summer vacation can truly begin. At the lake she rescues a stranger from drowning; as Branko returns to consciousness he falls in love with his rescuer. Can he make his mission succeed & still love his target?
Tonia is amazed that someone is taking an interest in her, a boy who is taller than she & whose ideas & interests are out of this world. What she doesn't know is that they really are! She will soon find out! Meanwhile, it's summer & a great time to fall in love.
Mary Logue has spun a surprisingly profound, curiously chilling tale of first love, withheld identity & a desperate mission. Of equal parts science fiction & romance, Dancing with an Alien is going to be an oft-read favorite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Story, Two Voices, July 5 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dancing with an Alien (Hardcover)
Dancing With An Alien is a complete joy to read with two main characters spinning out the tale in alternating chapters. One voice is that of a teenage girl, full of youthful dreams and conflicts. The other voice is an alien young man who is visiting Earth on a special mission. Ms. Logue's humor glitters as she gives us Branko's slightly confused look at our world and human relationships. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dancing with an Alien
Dancing with an Alien by Mary Logue (Library Binding - Feb. 2002)
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews