Customer Reviews


342 Reviews
5 star:
 (272)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse WOW!
Terry Pratchett has long been known (and admired) for his considerable ability to make anyone and anything a satirical target. He has taken on the police force, Death, and every conceivable political institution know to man. The Powers That Be, of course, are the only target left. And boy were they hit hard.
Teamed with the uber-talented Neil Gaiman, Pratchett...
Published on June 18 2003 by John Whaley

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many cooks/writers spoil the broth/novel............
While both authors are deservedly recognized as being the tops in their field, this 'combined writing adventure' leaves a great deal to be desired. The premise itself, a humorous view of the Fundie's mythical apocalypse, is highly commendable and is rife with potential humor. But, the quality humor had far greater lapses into sophomoric silliness and lacked the...
Published 19 days ago by Ronald W. Maron


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse WOW!, June 18 2003
By 
John Whaley (Forsyth County, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
Terry Pratchett has long been known (and admired) for his considerable ability to make anyone and anything a satirical target. He has taken on the police force, Death, and every conceivable political institution know to man. The Powers That Be, of course, are the only target left. And boy were they hit hard.
Teamed with the uber-talented Neil Gaiman, Pratchett has taken the wit and wisdom of his famed Discworld series and applied it to the end of the world. The result is one of the most brilliant books you will ever read.
The story of Good Omens follows a variety of characters, the principles being Crowley (a demon who has "gone native"), Aziraphale (an angel who has pretty much "gone native" as well), and Adam, the Antichrist, who was mistakenly switched at birth and has grownup away from the influence of Good and Evil. The Apocalypse has been right on schedule, until Hell realizes that the aforementioned Antichrist is not where he is supposed to be, and Crowley, now the focus of a great deal of blame, must find him. Of course, Pratchett's trademark humor is found throughout the book. The demons and angels have decidedly human qualities (Crowley attempts to enrage humanity into sinning by jamming all cell phones in London for example), which not only exposes our own flaws in a humorous way, but also adds to the appeal of the characters. Everything from poorly-made foreign cars, to bikers, to the entirety of Manchester has been lampooned with satirical perfection and when you aren't laughing at the subtle humor, you are marveling at how well the plot flows and the sheer variety of characters portrayed. Fair warning - if Douglas Adams and Monty Python have never been appealing to you, you will probably not "get" this book. For those of you who are so enlightened, however, this comes with my highest possible recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse WOW!, June 18 2003
By 
John Whaley (Forsyth County, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
Terry Pratchett has long been known (and admired) for his considerable ability to make anyone and anything a satirical target. He has taken on the police force, Death, and every conceivable political institution know to man. The Powers That Be, of course, are the only target left. And boy were they hit hard.
Teamed with the uber-talented Neil Gaiman, Pratchett has taken the wit and wisdom of his famed Discworld series and applied it to the end of the world. The result is one of the most brilliant books you will ever read.
The story of Good Omens follows a variety of characters, the principles being Crowley (a demon who has "gone native"), Aziraphale (an angel who has pretty much "gone native" as well), and Adam, the Antichrist, who was mistakenly switched at birth and has grownup away from the influence of Good and Evil. The Apocalypse has been right on schedule, until Hell realizes that the aforementioned Antichrist is not where he is supposed to be, and Crowley, now the focus of a great deal of blame, must find him. Of course, Pratchett's trademark humor is found throughout the book. The demons and angels have decidedly human qualities (Crowley attempts to enrage humanity into sinning by jamming all cell phones in London for example), which not only exposes our own flaws in a humorous way, but also adds to the appeal of the characters. Everything from poorly-made foreign cars, to bikers, to the entirety of Manchester has been lampooned with satirical perfection and when you aren't laughing at the subtle humor, you are marveling at how well the plot flows and the sheer variety of characters portrayed. Fair warning - if Douglas Adams and Monty Python have never been appealing to you, you will probably not "get" this book. For those of you who are so enlightened, however, this comes with my highest possible recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nice & Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch, Sept. 30 2000
By 
James D. DeWitt "Alaska Fan" (Fairbanks, AK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
Bad news. The Apocalypse is coming. Soon. Luckily, Heaven and Hell have left the business with the Anti-Christ in the hands of Crowley and Aziraphale, demon and angel respectively. Now they have misplaced the Anti-Christ and pretty much decided they really like humanity a lot more than their either of their bosses.
In the first edition, the full title of this book was "The Nice & Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch." "Nice," in this context, meaning precisely correct. Agnes saw it all coming, from her being burned alive as a witch to the air force base where Armageddon will begin ("Peas is our professiune."). Agnes, her descendant, Anathema, the Four Horseman - Horsepersons - and the Other Four Horseman (a different chapter of Hell's Angels); it all comes together with the serried ranks of angels and demons gathered overhead.
Yes, this is an hysterically funny book. A satire and a parody, it lampoons everything in sight. From Elvis sightings to televangelists to the destruction of all intelligent life ("nothing left but dust and fundamentalists."), little escapes the scathing wit of Gaiman and Pratchett.
Of course the demon, Crowley, drives a 1926 Bentley. Of course any tape left in its glove box for more than two weeks turns into something by Queen. Of course the flaming sword used by War is delivered to her by International Express.
And what happens to the telephone solicitor, Lisa Morrow? Come on now, you secretly thought all telephone solicitors deserved it, right?
In the tradition of Jonathan Swift and Mark Twain, the satire makes a point. That point may be unpalatable to the religiously inflexible, or to those whose sense of righteousness hampers their sense of humor. Critics of Swift and Twain would find much to criticize in Good Omens. But Pratchett and Gaiman demonstrate that we don't need Heaven or Hell to have Good and Evil in the world; we have all we need in ourselves. It's the humanity of Adam Young, the Adversary, the Angel of the Bottomless Pit, etc., it's his human-ness that ultimately makes all the difference.
Don't read this book in bed; you'll keep your spouse awake, laughing out loud. But there's nothing else bad that can be said about it. Ineffability may be beyond our understanding, but humor, even humor in the face of the End of the World, we can understand.
Try this book. I will predict, with Agnes, you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too many cooks/writers spoil the broth/novel............, July 13 2014
By 
Ronald W. Maron "pilgrim" (Nova Scotia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Omens (Kindle Edition)
While both authors are deservedly recognized as being the tops in their field, this 'combined writing adventure' leaves a great deal to be desired. The premise itself, a humorous view of the Fundie's mythical apocalypse, is highly commendable and is rife with potential humor. But, the quality humor had far greater lapses into sophomoric silliness and lacked the intensity that a shorter, more highly edited work would have provided. The story itself starts out very strong but quickly retreats into a scattered and difficult tale to follow as we tread from evil to good and back again.

The combined authorship reminds me of attempting to have two drivers from the Indy racing scene attempting to drive the same vehicle. Both try to take charge in order to win the race but because of this internal conflict they come in near to last place. Neil and Terry, it is easy to project that both of you are quite close and are good friends. The next time, however, one of you develops an idea let him, alone, drive the car while you remain in the stands cheering him on. Please !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Omens a bit of an end-of-the-world (not) romp through the English countryside., Oct. 13 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good Omens (Kindle Edition)
If you've ever read anything by Neil Gaimen, you don't need me to explain that this book is different in the way all of his writing is different. Pratchett mixed in didn't un-different it any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!, Aug. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book to initiate readers to the wonderful world of Neil Gaiman...Could not put it down once I started. Already on my 3rd book by the author!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Monty Pythonish, July 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
British humour at it's best. Even better it's launched me into Terry Pratchett's other work so thanks on multiple accounts there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Omens, July 5 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good from start to finish, I love nearly all the characters, a definite page turner. This is my third copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely hysterical, wonderful plot, March 6 2002
By 
Erin K. Darling "naive cynic" (olympia, wa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
Most science fiction & fantasy readers will kind of tilt their heads like confused puppies at a pairing such as Gaiman & Pratchett - Gaiman is notoriously dark, and Pratchett equally notoriously light-hearted; however, these two have worked together to create an entirely brilliant piece of work.
As Clive Barker notes on the cover of this book, "The Apocalypse has never been funnier;" he's totally correct in that assessment. The basic plot is that the Antichrist has been misplaced, and the respective minions of heaven and hell actually find themselves liking people in general, and are somewhat reluctant to bring us all to our demise.
There are lines in this book that are so funny, I occasionally had difficulty breathing from laughing too hard; this duo's clever, twisted silliness is just right up my alley. Some of the passages are so wicked, so briliant, they'll leave the reader wiping tears of mirth. Being a fan of much British humor, there was a veritable plethora of chuckles in such references as Milton Keynes, England's highway system, and in the delightful idioms. The idea of heaven and hell being run by beaurocracy is amusing as well.
Devout Christian practioners may find this book to be sacreligious, if they are unable to take their religion lightly. Apart from those folks, I'd imagine that most people will really enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeding Funny in its own Little Twisted Little Way, June 2 2000
By 
Kevin C. (Riverside, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Omens (Mass Market Paperback)
I would not reccomend this book to everyone. If you're easily offended if someone tweaks a belief or two of yours, or if your humor isn't at least a tiny little bit twisted, this book may not be for you.
Otherwise, however, this is truly a Gem. The theory behind the story is that the Antichrist was, rather unfortunately, switched at birth with some other baby, and so he's spent his life growing up with a family instead of with Angels and Devils fighting for his attention. When the time for Armageddon comes around, he is, needless to say, not ready and not quite willing either. Add to this a cast of hilarious side characters (the 4 motorcyclists of the apocalypse, the angel/part time rare book dealer, Agnes Nutter (witch/prophetess extraordinaire), and Pulsifier Newton (witchfinder private) to name a few), and you're got yourself a story that will cause people to stare at you strangely when you suddenly burst out laughing in a public area. I heartily reccomend this book to anyone who's willing to try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch
Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch by Terry Pratchett (School & Library Binding - Dec 2003)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews