Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Buy
The first thing I would like to say is a slight warning. This book is focused on The Fellowship of the Ring and contains basically no information concerning the last two films. Do not be deceived by the title. If you are interested in the other films, there are visual guides for each seperate one, including The Fellowship...
Other than that, this is an incredible...
Published on Dec 10 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A thin bit of tidbits
Peter Jackson has created one of the most amazing feats in motion picture history. He simultaneously filmed 3 major motion pictures at the same time, and when he is done, will have created at least a 10 hour magnificent movie extravanganza unequaled by any other filmaker in all time.
I really hoped that this book would give me some feel of that.
It didn't...
Published on April 2 2002 by Kari Kincannon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Buy, Dec 10 2003
By A Customer
The first thing I would like to say is a slight warning. This book is focused on The Fellowship of the Ring and contains basically no information concerning the last two films. Do not be deceived by the title. If you are interested in the other films, there are visual guides for each seperate one, including The Fellowship...
Other than that, this is an incredible book, with STUNNING pictures and lots of information concerning the actors and the process involved in making the film. The paperback copy is extremely sturdy, and unless you are going to read it to death, I would purchase it instead of the hardcover.
Although my two young siblings (ages 7 and 9) love to look through the book at all the incredible pictures, it isn't a children's book and would probably interest only those who are really interested in the process of making such a film. For me, reading books like this increases my appreciation of the film itself--how much work goes into these things for only three hours of entertainment.
In summary--a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gives lots of details on the making of the FOTR film., Dec 16 2002
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
This book was informative and all but i don't really think it is worth the money. Well it really depends, if your a lord of the rings fanatic, then it's for you. Mostly gives the introduction of actors and how the movie was set up. Costume design and so on.
They give detailed explanation on how they made the movie, how they got Hobbits look 1/2 size of humans. How they made the movie sites, used the elvish language, and so on... Also, the actors get to speak. They talk about how they came upon making of this movie, what they've learned, the fun they had, and basically they just share something.
This book is in a way interesting, and when your watching the film, you can try to pick out all the fake stuff knowing what the book said. it's interesting to read, but after you've read everything... there's nothing left to do but put it in your self and never look at it again. It is worth reading the first time around but i don't think it would be something you would want to come back too again in the future. maybe when you've forgotten everything, but then... who knows?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Look at a Great Movie, April 3 2002
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
"The Lord of the Rings Official Movie Guide" is a book that covers the making of the motion picture trilogy based on the wonderful books by J.R.R. Tolkien from A to Z. This is the first book of this kind that I have read from cover to cover an I found this work to be thouroughly enjoyable. Brian Sibley, the author of this great guide, did a great job of finding and researching all of this information and did an even greater job by writing it all up in fun, easy to read articles next to gorgeous photographs.
The articles presented in this work cover everything from a biography of Peter Jackson, the director of the trilogy, and how he was inspired as a young boy to one day be a moviemaker. There is also a biography of J.R.R. Tolkien. The book then delves into information about the sets chosen for these films and why and how New Zealand was such a great choice to do the filming of the pictures at. Then there are biographies of each actor that had a main part in "The Lord of the Rings" motion picture trilogy. Then we learn about costumes, make-up, prosthetics, swords, props, and many more things that made up his film. Within all of this information there are great quotes from the actors that were received from interviews by Brian Sibley. The photographs in this book are gorgeous and Brian Sibley was also able to get some original drawings of Middle Earth from artists like John Howe and Alan Lee put into the book.
"The Lord of the Rings Official Movie Guide" is great for a lover of "The Lord of the Rings" movies or books. With great writing and pictures this is fun to look at and read. This book can be read very quickly and easily while being enjoyed. All in all, this is a great book that a fan of the movie or books would enjoy. Purchase this book and you'll experience the motion picture trilogy that you have seen and loved.
Happy Reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A thin bit of tidbits, April 2 2002
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
Peter Jackson has created one of the most amazing feats in motion picture history. He simultaneously filmed 3 major motion pictures at the same time, and when he is done, will have created at least a 10 hour magnificent movie extravanganza unequaled by any other filmaker in all time.
I really hoped that this book would give me some feel of that.
It didn't.
If you know NOTHING about the books, the actors, the characters, the scenes, the sites, or the creators, you will like this book. If you know ANYTHING about LOTR (read interviews online, etc,) you will be VERY disappointed. There is nothing here that I didn't already know. This is thin, trite, candy. There is nothing of substance here.
However, being a huge LOTR fan, I had to own this book. There are a couple of decent photos, one being a hand drawn description of the differences in height of the all the characters (trolls, hobbits, elves, etc). I have not seen this anywhere else. Also, descriptions of Sir Ian McKellan's complaints, and then modifications, to his costume, were enthralling. Again, this is the only place I've seen this kind of honesty. Otherwise, all information can be found in other places.
To sum up, if you are a total Middle Earth newby, or a total Middle Earth die hard, buy it. If not, skip it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Scenes Look., March 17 2002
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (Sorento, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This book is a wonderful companion for anyone who enjoyed (or is looking forward to seeing) the movie and would like to know more about how the film came about. The book includes a small biography about Peter Jackson and how he came to direct the all-time most vast filming in movie history. A great deal of information from the pre-pre-production aspects of filming to the 14 months of filming itself to the post-production is detailed. There are lots of pictures and many interviews with the cast and crew. The undertaking of the film was huge and for those unfamiliar with the movie making process, this book will help explain just how monumental of a task THE LORD OF THE RINGS movies were. By only complaint about the book is that it is titled THE LORD OF THE RINGS Movie Guide when in reality it is THE LORD OF THE RINGS: FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING movie guide. There are no pictures and very little information concerning the two yet-to-be-released films that complete THE LORD OF THE RINGS. It doesn't bother me that the information isn't there, but the book should be labeled as such then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ring Guide Review, March 4 2002
By 
Cindy L. Uhrich (Kent, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
My family has been immersed in Ring lore for years. My mother & older brother read the Lord of the Rings books as they were being published back in the 50's. The movie, however, is obviously new. My husband gave me the guide for Christmas, and I have found it to be a wonderful addition to the material I have on the subject. It gave the movie another dimension and my appreciation of the movie was even greater than it would have been, knowing to what extent Peter Jackson had gone in order to make the movie and remain true to the spirit of the Ring.
After I saw the movie (twice, so far) I found myself going back to it again and again to review an actor, a set, a costume, an artist. It supplies the details - fills in the cracks, so to speak - of ever-expanding layers revealed with each viewing. For example, on the second viewing, I found myself intrigued with the character of Legolas. His expressions, thoughts, background, movements, mannerisms; this led me to want to re-read the guide which has a page devoted to Orlando Bloom.
The guide is not solid text nor does it profess to be an in-depth, blow-by-blow account of the Ring story beginning with Tolkien at age 0 and culminating in the movie. There are many (and I feel, wonderful) pictures. Although every aspect of the movie is covered, it is covered briefly, succinctly. The text is descriptive and readable. Most Ring fans will find it a valuable, and reasonable, addition to their libraries and collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source of movie info, Feb. 10 2002
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
Perhaps the best movie I've ever seen is the movie adaptation of "Lord of the Rings." This book by Brian Sibley is a gold mine of info on the production and background of the movie -- and the exquisite care taken with every part of it.
The book begins with background information on, well, "Lord of the Rings" the novel; it then proceeds to the events leading up to Peter Jackson getting the budget and green light to make a movie trilogy - the bulk of which was shot in one big lump, not spaced a few years apart. Then a chapter on the choosing of New Zealand as an ideal shooting country, and the artists they hired to help them; then to the cast of characters and how they were hired. (Elijah Wood's story is particularly memorable)
We then have a one-page brief bio, filmography, and clips of interviews for each cast member (even Marton Csokas, even though he has one line in the whole movie). Then it's an extended talk on the stunning special effects -- including how they shrunk 5'6" actors down to child-size, and Orlando Bloom's memorable description of fighting a CGI troll; about how they made Hobbiton and the Shire look like hobbits had lived there for hundreds of years; the weaponry and armor of Middle-Earth, including the stunning Elf plate armor; costuming, why Frodo's outfit is different from the other hobbits, the nightmares of costuming Gandalf, and why Legolas and Gimli are polar opposites; the effects of wizard beards and hobbit feet, and a great deal more!
There are utterly delightful pictures sprinkled throughout it -- some never made it to the screen, though (Galadriel lecturing Arwen in Lothlorien, hobbits herding sheep, and Frodo sitting in a tree with a pipe). Most of the best pictures include Elijah Wood, Viggo Mortenson and, of course, the man at the helm. One particularly memorable pic has Jackson sprawled in front of the four laughing hobbits.
This is overall a warm and insightful movie guide, a must-read to know anything about what happened behind the scenes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parents' Guide to The Lord of the Rings, Jan. 7 2002
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
For all parents who have taken your children to the newly released "Lord of the Rings", now it is time to pick up Tolkein's four-book series and read them aloud to your children. Start with "The Hobbit". Read a page or two every night at bedtime. I've read through "The Hobbit" twice to our kids, and have read through "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy once to them. Our boys are all teenagers. We read every night for 20-30 minutes. We've also unplugged our TV and replace this time with reading in our home. Tolkein is an excellent storyteller, with vivid descriptions a cinematographer can only begin to play with. Your child's imagination is so much greater than that of any movie maker. Give them the gift of your time and Tolkein's genius writing: Read Tolkein Aloud to your Kids! Use Sibley's guide as a resource. The best resource for our kids though is our own active participation in their lives, taking the time to read to them regularly.
For two books filled with other creative ideas for parenting, take a look at "The Family Cloister" and "The Christian Family Toolbox", both written by David Robinson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings and beyond..., Jan. 5 2002
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
This is the official movie guide to "The Lord of the Rings" and is a must own for any fan of the movie. This book includes 119 pages of interviews of the cast, quotes from Peter Jackson and the crew, lots of pictures (including some illustrations by Alan Lee and John Howe), and much more. some of the things included in the table of contents and more are:
~From Book to Script
~Seeing Tolkien's World
~Fantasy to Reality
~A Workshop of the
Fantastic
~The One Ring
~Of Wizard-beards and Elf-
ears
~From the Director's chair
~Speaking the Languages of
Middle-earth
~Cameras in Middle-earth
~Before the Cameras Rolled
~The Road Goes Ever On
These are just some of what is included in this book.

"I have a very, very strong affection and
respect for J.R.R Tolkien's The Lord of
the Rings, and the films we are making
really come from my vision of Tolkien's
world, created in callaboration with the
many other people working on this project."
~Peter Jackson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fun, but PR heavy behind-the-scenes look at the film, Dec 10 2001
By 
Steven Dennis (Reston, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
There are lots of pretty pictures here and some interesting stories with the actors and the creativity that went into the mind-bogglingly massive production. There also is some talk of the crafting of an unwieldy 1,000-page plus story into something that would work in three three-hour epics, and good explanations of the level of detail that director Peter Jackson demanded. This is a guide for fans, equivalent to a program that you would get at a sporting event, and is written with nary a negative word about anybody.
You won't find out about the warring that must have gone on behind the scenes in the 15-month shoot -- somebody else will have to write that opus -- and the firing of the original Aragorn after two weeks is glossed over as "creative differences."
Much of the verbiage is lame, PR-drivel quoting actors and others working on the project saying how great the books are, how wonderful Peter Jackson is, etc. I know how great the books are; you don't need to tell me, or at least not over and over and over again. In journalism school, you are taught that you should show, not tell. This is more tell, not show.
One welcome exception is some beautiful photos/illustrations showing how the scenes were created to match the visions of illustrators John Howe and Alan Lee.
There is also clearly an element of not wanting to spoil the movie, too -- the author is careful not to give away too much of the plot, beyond the basic outlines that you will find in any review.
All in all, this makes a great keepsake of the movie, just so long as you realize that it has been scrubbed thoroughly by the PR folks.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide
The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide by Brian Sibley (Hardcover - Nov. 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews