Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Buy
The first thing I would like to say is a slight warning. This book is focused on The Fellowship of the Ring and contains basically no information concerning the last two films. Do not be deceived by the title. If you are interested in the other films, there are visual guides for each seperate one, including The Fellowship...
Other than that, this is an incredible...
Published on Dec 10 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hobbits rule
For even though this is an informative book, and I am Tolkien/LOTR fanatic, I don't think I'd pay eighteen bucks for it. Yet, now I'll focus on the book's qualities. First of all, it has interesting overveiws of the actors' careers and lives
and has quotes made by the cast and crew scattered throughout.
Overall, the book has good content, and Brian Sibley is...
Published on Feb. 28 2004 by connrad


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Hobbits rule, Feb. 28 2004
By 
"connrad" (Bedford, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
For even though this is an informative book, and I am Tolkien/LOTR fanatic, I don't think I'd pay eighteen bucks for it. Yet, now I'll focus on the book's qualities. First of all, it has interesting overveiws of the actors' careers and lives
and has quotes made by the cast and crew scattered throughout.
Overall, the book has good content, and Brian Sibley is quite a good author, overveiwing the pruduction of the movie, and some parts are somewhat humorous. One thing that was very strange was in the 'workshop of the fantastic' chapter, they labeled a picture of a uruk-hai, as the uruk-hai chieftan Lurtz, though if you look at the picture you can see it is not Lurtz, for he does not have Lurtz's trademark top knot or his specific downwards pointing hand print on his forehead. Overall, this book is somewhat of a disapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Buy, Dec 10 2003
By A Customer
The first thing I would like to say is a slight warning. This book is focused on The Fellowship of the Ring and contains basically no information concerning the last two films. Do not be deceived by the title. If you are interested in the other films, there are visual guides for each seperate one, including The Fellowship...
Other than that, this is an incredible book, with STUNNING pictures and lots of information concerning the actors and the process involved in making the film. The paperback copy is extremely sturdy, and unless you are going to read it to death, I would purchase it instead of the hardcover.
Although my two young siblings (ages 7 and 9) love to look through the book at all the incredible pictures, it isn't a children's book and would probably interest only those who are really interested in the process of making such a film. For me, reading books like this increases my appreciation of the film itself--how much work goes into these things for only three hours of entertainment.
In summary--a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Aug. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
This gives you beautiful pictures of the movie and tells you a bit about the actors who played the characters in the movie. It is a great edition to any fans collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gives lots of details on the making of the FOTR film., Dec 16 2002
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
This book was informative and all but i don't really think it is worth the money. Well it really depends, if your a lord of the rings fanatic, then it's for you. Mostly gives the introduction of actors and how the movie was set up. Costume design and so on.
They give detailed explanation on how they made the movie, how they got Hobbits look 1/2 size of humans. How they made the movie sites, used the elvish language, and so on... Also, the actors get to speak. They talk about how they came upon making of this movie, what they've learned, the fun they had, and basically they just share something.
This book is in a way interesting, and when your watching the film, you can try to pick out all the fake stuff knowing what the book said. it's interesting to read, but after you've read everything... there's nothing left to do but put it in your self and never look at it again. It is worth reading the first time around but i don't think it would be something you would want to come back too again in the future. maybe when you've forgotten everything, but then... who knows?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fan, Dec 5 2002
By 
Tanya McHenry (Medford, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
I am a die hard fan of the trilogy, long before the movie came out. The information in the book is brief but enough to make it worthwhile. The pictures, however, are hardly in focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Nov. 30 2002
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
I like this book because the pictures are great and just looking at them makes me want to read the books again. Getting this book makes you want to get the visual companions and the movie guides for each seperate movie. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome book for any LOR fans, Oct. 16 2002
By 
Kelli (Somewhere out west) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
This book takes you behind the scenes and tells you how things were done. It is very interresting and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice book if you liked the movie, Sept. 3 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
This is a great book if your interested in information about the movie and the people who were involved in it's making. It also
has great pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings Official Movie Guide, Aug. 19 2002
By 
Marz (Attala County Mccool Mississippi) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
You realize that is the greatest movie guide that you'll ever seen it's simply fantastic it deserves 1000 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very pretty, but not exceptionally informative., May 24 2002
By 
Cas (the Idaho mountains) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide (Hardcover)
This was fabulous to have before "Fellowship of the Ring" came out, but it was really just an appetite-whetter. It's got very pretty pictures and some good interviews, but there isn't anything here you wouldn't have seen already from the six gazillion "making of" shows floating around on cable just before the movie premiered. There's no real depth to it at all; it isn't even very thick. That said, it really *is* very pretty, with lots of nice pictures and decent writing. I don't regret getting it, but would I have bought it after seeing all the "making of" shows and seeing the movie itself? Very doubtful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide
The Lord of the Rings: Official Movie Guide by Brian Sibley (Hardcover - Nov. 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews