Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous adventure story
This is a fabulously-written first-person account of survival against all odds. I could not put this book down.
Published on April 7 2011 by Dexter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting read but in the end not totally satisfying.
While the story presented here in 'Adrift' is riveting and exciting, no matter how hard I tried I couldn't find any compassion for the author. It may be that for some people to survive, to not give up, requires an enormous sense of self importance, self involvement, and even arrogance. Regardless, the 'voice' the author wrote in was not sympathetic. Other books of...
Published on Dec 3 1997


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous adventure story, April 7 2011
This review is from: Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea (Paperback)
This is a fabulously-written first-person account of survival against all odds. I could not put this book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 76 days across a "wet desert"..., July 15 2004
This review is from: Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea (Paperback)
Superbly written, which is why the book transcends the basic story of survival. Steve Callahan's ample opportunities for introspection weren't wasted, and this makes some of the best reading. In addition, reading this book is like watching a movie where the hero seems most certainly fated to die, buy you know he won't(or "doesn't" in this case). I eventually wanted to just skip to the rescue because I couldn't bear to read of any more disappointment, disillusionment, equipment loss or failures, or physical or mental suffering. Right up there with my favorite true-life read, "Hacksaw".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great survival book!, Aug. 27 2003
By 
AceAg82 "utuace82" (Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea (Paperback)
This book is an excellent ocean survival story that kept me throughly entertained from start to finish. Honestly I couldn't put the book down. This book will change the way you look at your life. After you finish reading it, you won't take the simple things in life for granted anymore. If you enjoy true life adventure and survival books, then I suggest you read this one, it's excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes You Thankful, Aug. 4 2003
By 
Owen Hehmeyer (Princeton, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea (Paperback)
I started reading this book because I wanted a great adventure story. This is not an adventure story. This is on the edge of death pure human suffering. Callahan is a very skilled seaman and very lucky man. His story is riveting and told very well. His story is so interesting, his writing skill, though quite good, really isn't necessary to read the book cover to cover. This book has many places where you want to sit down and cry with the man. I'm really tempted to give five stars, but I really wanted more information about his readjustment when he got back to land, but it ended fairly abruptly. Still, I feel I know Callahan's Dorado fish, his raft, and his feelings pretty well. He did a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great survival story., June 11 2003
By 
Lisa Bahrami (orlando, fl USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea (Paperback)
This is an excellent,totally engrossing account of the author's quest to survive alone on the open seas for 76 days with a minimum of equipment and supplies. This is a real page-turner and is difficult to put down. Callahan faced his plight with a lot of courage, inventiveness and even humor. The parts dealing with him fighting off his shark companions are often quite funy. An excellent book for any fan of true-life adventures. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting read but in the end not totally satisfying., Dec 3 1997
By A Customer
While the story presented here in 'Adrift' is riveting and exciting, no matter how hard I tried I couldn't find any compassion for the author. It may be that for some people to survive, to not give up, requires an enormous sense of self importance, self involvement, and even arrogance. Regardless, the 'voice' the author wrote in was not sympathetic. Other books of survival, like Joe Simpson's book "Touching the Void" or books about singlehanded sailing like John Beattie's "The Breath of Angels" are written in a voice with some humility; you 'care' about the authors and pull for them to survive and get through their passages and ordeals. At the end of reading those books you feel uplifted, encouraged, enobled even; that the human race can produce such people. But that wasn't the case here. I think this would have been a much better book if it had been written biographically, that is, by someone else, rather than as an autobiography. Having said that, the story is still remarkable and the writing is, from a technical standpoint, very good. You won't be wasting your time or money to get it. Just be prepared if you find yourself occasionally rooting for the shark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Water water everywhere!, May 19 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea (Paperback)
I'm an avid sailor, but I've never been out of sight of land. This memoir offers a lucid first hand glimpse of life adrift in the middle of the Atlantic, literally thousands of miles from salvation. Callahan captures the highs and lows of his 76 day ordeal in simple, sparse prose that focuses largely on his daily struggle to distill fresh water and catch fish with rapidly failing equipment in sweltering heat and choppy seas. Did I mention the periodic shark encounters? All in all, this is a gripping tale that left me feeling quite grateful for the myriad modern conveniences that we all take for granted. Somehow Callahan's daily intimacy with basic survival also left me longing for a simpler life, one with fewer proxies standing between me and my basic needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story, Feb. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea (Paperback)
Breaks you heart in this gripping tale of being lost at sea. Epic story. Who knew fish could be so...emotional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, Oct. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea (Paperback)
This is a really good book. I was glued to it from start to finish. I learned a lot too about survival at sea from this author. Well written novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous read, Feb. 4 2013
By 
A. Marchand (Toronto, Ontario, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea (Paperback)
it's the book that made me want to learn about knots (since it saved his life on more than one occasion).
Anyways, the story is gripping and a fabulous read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea
Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea by Steven Callahan (Paperback - Oct. 17 2002)
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 14.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews