Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Doll in The Garden
Ten-year-old Ashley, the main character, followed a beautiful white cat, which reminded her of her own cat, into Mrs. Coopers enchanted garden. Ashley had been warned many times to stay out of that garden, but still she was curious. Ashley had many plan to make the pond look better with the help of her friend Kristi. While Ashley is pulling her weeds and clearing the...
Published on Feb. 13 2003 by daniel yang

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars You will like this book.
In The Doll In The Garden (by Mary Downing Hahn) the main character, a girl named Ashley, and her mom move into a house that they have to share with a mean old lady named Miss Cooper. Ashley finds a beautiful white cat and an old china doll in the garden behind the house. Ashley’s neighbor, Kristi, tells her that the white cat she saw in Miss Cooper’s garden...
Published on Dec 11 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Doll in The Garden, Feb. 13 2003
By 
daniel yang (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doll In The Garden Pb (Paperback)
Ten-year-old Ashley, the main character, followed a beautiful white cat, which reminded her of her own cat, into Mrs. Coopers enchanted garden. Ashley had been warned many times to stay out of that garden, but still she was curious. Ashley had many plan to make the pond look better with the help of her friend Kristi. While Ashley is pulling her weeds and clearing the empty pond she comes across a box. What was in it? A doll buried in the dirt. Ashley also comes upon many different mysteries. Who is the little girl with the long golden curls that awaits her companion, Carrie, to come? Whose voice cries out at night? And why doesn't the white cat have a shadow beneath the moonlight?
I enjoyed reading this book because I simply enjoy ghost stories, and this book is a great example of a ghost story. This book has many misteries and thrills every time. "Kristi crept closer, and when I finally got it open she screamed at the sight of its contents. It's a dead girl! She cried." It is these kinds of events that keep you at the end of your seat! I loved how the author put all the right thrills in the right places.
I relished reading this book because it was interesting reading about the many ways Ashley used to solve the mystery and how she was determined to find out! I loved how the author, Mary Downing Hahn, wrote in descriptive detail and added interesting dialogue to the story. I enjoyed reading about the many characters like Mrs. Cooper, the wicked landlord, Kristi, Ashley's friend, and all the other character in the story.
My favorite part in the book would have to be when Ashley had the courage to talk back to Mrs. Cooper. Ashley finally showed Mrs. Cooper that she could also be fierce. "How could you be so mean? I asked Louisa was an Orphan, and she was sick." Mrs. Cooper finally expressed herself and told Ashley why she had to do the mean things. From then on Mrs. Cooper seemed different! She had agreed to go with Ashley to see Louisa and give Anna Maria to Louisa. This is why I liked reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ***_gOoD BoOk To ReAd***_, March 22 2004
By A Customer
In the book "A Doll In The Garden" It's about a girl by the name of Ashley cummings who moves to Monkton Hills with her mother and they discover something interesting in their backyard garden.They moved into a house with an old lady who was renting out the top floor of her house(so they lived there) the old lady's name is miss cooper, she is very rude and mean to people especially little girls, who she hates, and cats because the only animal that she likes is her own dog. This book was very exciting and kept me guessing the whole time i was reading it. This author has a good way of explaining things and also has a good sentance fluency, so you just zoom through the book as your reading it.
This book is about Two girls about 11 or summin like that who explore throughout this rosebushes garden in which they aren't suppose to go in and the girls find a buried doll which mysteriously leads them into a ghostly world where everything is different. read this book NOW because it is absolutly excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On Healing the Past and the Present, April 4 2003
By 
Tracy Robert (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doll In The Garden Pb (Paperback)
I purchased this book out of my personal interest as an adult doll/doll book collector, a collector of children's books, and an elementary teacher. I found this chapter book for middle grade (4th-8th grades)students to hold a solid story that kept me reading until the end. I would definitely recommend it to age appropriate readers who are interested in dolls, fantasy, mystery, or those who are recovering from a death in the family (but not too recently).
In this book, Ashley and her mother move to a house in the suburbs to begin a new life after the death of Ashley's father. The house they move to is a portion of a larger house owned by a cranky older lady (Miss Cooper) who constantly threatens to throw them out. Miss Cooper is particularly after Ashley, who wanders off to explore the garden around the house. During one of her explorations, Ashley and a younger neighbor discover a buried antique doll and Miss Cooper's buried source of regret. Ashley challenges Miss Cooper's crankiness in order to return the doll to its orginal owner and learns about making peace with people who have died.
I enjoyed this story for the fantasy element. Well written characters drew me into the story, and didn't make the fantasy seem too unrealistic. I also really liked the realistic discussion of feelings that occur when someone you love/are close to dies. This multilayered gem is worth the purchase price for interested readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Doll in The Garden, Feb. 13 2003
By 
daniel yang (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doll In The Garden Pb (Paperback)
Ten-year-old Ashley, the main character, followed a beautiful white cat, which reminded her of her own cat, into Mrs. Coopers enchanted garden. Ashley had been warned many times to stay out of that garden, but still she was curious. Ashley had many plan to make the pond look better with the help of her friend Kristi. While Ashley is pulling her weeds and clearing the empty pond she comes across a box. What was in it? A doll buried in the dirt. Ashley also comes upon many different mysteries. Who is the little girl with the long golden curls that awaits her companion, Carrie, to come? Whose voice cries out at night? And why doesn't the white cat have a shadow beneath the moonlight?
I enjoyed reading this book because I simply enjoy ghost stories, and this book is a great example of a ghost story. This book has many misteries and thrills every time. "Kristi crept closer, and when I finally got it open she screamed at the sight of its contents. It's a dead girl! She cried." It is these kinds of events that keep you at the end of your seat! I loved how the author put all the right thrills in the right places.
I relished reading this book because it was interesting reading about the many ways Ashley used to solve the mystery and how she was determined to find out! I loved how the author, Mary Downing Hahn, wrote in descriptive detail and added interesting dialogue to the story. I enjoyed reading about the many characters like Mrs. Cooper, the wicked landlord, Kristi, Ashley's friend, and all the other character in the story.
My favorite part in the book would have to be when Ashley had the courage to talk back to Mrs. Cooper. Ashley finally showed Mrs. Cooper that she could also be fierce. "How could you be so mean? I asked Louisa was an Orphan, and she was sick." Mrs. Cooper finally expressed herself and told Ashley why she had to do the mean things. From then on Mrs. Cooper seemed different! She had agreed to go with Ashley to see Louisa and give Anna Maria to Louisa. This is why I liked reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The doll in the garden, April 18 2002
By A Customer
The book "The doll in the garden" is an exciting and suspenseful story. The ghost story, written by Mary Downing Hahn, will certainly keep reader gripped and interested.
When Ashley, a ten-year-old girl moves to Monkton Mills with her mother after her father dies, a not so nice surprise awaits her. The cruel Mrs.Cooper, their landlord, hates children and doesn't welcome them in a particularly friendly way. The first thing that captures Ashley's eye is an overgrown rose garden. Her mother goes into their new house and Ashley hurries into the garden but then she hears a whisper from next door. Her new neighbor Kristy, an eight-year-old girl, tells her that the garden is haunted, and that people can hear things advancing from the garden at night. Ashley doesn't believe her until that night when she wakes up because of a soft weeping, she looks out of the window and sees a white cat but something is wrong. Why doesn't the cat have a shadow, and why does she hear the girl crying?
The other seven books written by Mary Downing Hahn are certainly as good as this one. The doll in the garden is great for children and adults alike.
Coco Huberts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You will like this book., Dec 11 2001
By A Customer
In The Doll In The Garden (by Mary Downing Hahn) the main character, a girl named Ashley, and her mom move into a house that they have to share with a mean old lady named Miss Cooper. Ashley finds a beautiful white cat and an old china doll in the garden behind the house. Ashley’s neighbor, Kristi, tells her that the white cat she saw in Miss Cooper’s garden is a ghost. Ashley follows the cat and he brings her to another world that helps solve the mystery of the cat, the doll and the child’s cries she hears in the middle of the night. The story takes place in a small modern-day town in Maryland.

I like this story because it couldn’t really happen and I like fantasy books. I think this book is exciting because it tells about meeting ghosts and finding secret passages to other worlds, things you can’t do every day. Below is a description that I like of what Ashley saw and heard one night:

'Just as I was about to fall asleep, I heard it again. Outside in the night, a child was crying. Frightened, I sat up and looked out the window. Down on the lawn, in full view, I saw Snowball. He was looking up at me, and for the first time I noticed he cast no shadow on the moonlit grass.'
I think kids would like this book because it is about a girl who gets to solve a mystery and go back in time. The characters are very realistic and the author explains every little detail on a topic not just one sentence. The book is written from the point of view of the main character so you know exactly what she’s thinking and feeling.
This book was a little easy to read but it was still a good book. Kids who aren’t scared of ghosts and like fantasies, will like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I like this book alot., Dec 11 2001
This book is a ghost story about two girls named Ashley and Kristie that discover a nother world. One day They are pulling up weeds in the garden even though they were told not to go there and they find a box buried in the ground. There is an old doll and a misterios note. A few nights later a ghost cat named Snowball leads Ashley through the hedge that seperats her yard from the empty lot behind it. On the other side she doesnt see the empty lot she sees a house! A little girl named Luisa is sitting on a bench in the garden. She says she is waiting for someone to bring her doll back. She says she is sick. Ashley relizes that the doll Luisa wants is The one she and Kristie dug up! But she had already given the doll to her neighbor Miss Cooper. Ashley promises to get the doll back. The next day she and Kristie go back and see Luisa. Then they try and get the doll back from Miss Cooper. She finally agrees and they bring the doll to Luisa. But it is too late. She is allready in bed dying. Miss Cooper gives her the doll and says she's sorry for keeping it. Then they leave Luisa. Then Ashley and Kirstie make friends with Miss Cooper who is usually really mean to them so they story ends happily. This book is a littl scary. Its pretty easy to read for little kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Best Online Book Review EVER, March 7 2001
By 
Theresa (Wayzata, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doll In The Garden Pb (Paperback)
The Doll in the Garden is a ghost story by Mary Downing Hahn. The climax changes in an suspenseful way when the main character, Ashley, finds a doll that her old, crabby landlord buried in the front garden when she was very young. The doll belonged to the landlord's neighbor and best friend. Ashley's neighbor, Kristi, tells the landlord about Ashley finding the doll, because Kristi was jealous that Ashley kept the doll. The landlord was very angry. Ashley is transported to a parallel world in which she meets the landlord's old best friend when she was young, and very sick. There is a reason she wants her doll back, and Ashley is determined to make the landlord and the little girl in the parallel world meet up again. Ashley takes the landlord and Kristi to the parallel world, and there is a danger of them never being able to go back home. Will they make it home? To find out, read The Doll in the Garden by Mary Downing Hahn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling mystery. It sucked me in!, Oct. 2 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Doll In The Garden Pb (Paperback)
An amazing book. It is about two girls, and they find a beautiful doll in a garden.
Then one of the girls gets sick, and the other has to find out what this crazy doll is doing,
because both girls start getting flashbacks and memories from a different time.
Finally the well one figures out that someone knows more than they are telling, and saves the other's life.

This was a great book. I re-read it many times!
It sucked me in. I couldn't but the book down!
I was amazed, stupified, overcome with pity, and finally relieved while under the magic spell it had put me in
My friends and I all agree that this is a book that you should deffinately buy!
I'm Kari, and I'm only 11, but I know what I like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too young for me, Aug. 11 2000
This review is from: Doll In The Garden Pb (Paperback)
This book was not at all scary or suspenseful, and the plot was very predictable and not a new idea. Basically it is about a girl called Ashleigh who moves to an old house and finds a doll in the garden. Later she finds out the doll belongs to Louisa, a sick child. It has quite a good ending but it wasn't a page-turner. 'Wait Till Helen Comes' by the same author is much more spooky and interesting and though they are for the same age group, I think older people would enjoy 'Wait Till Helen Comes' better then 'The Doll In the Garden', which I read when I was 12 and I thought too young for me. People ten and under would probably like it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Doll in the Garden: A Ghost Story
The Doll in the Garden: A Ghost Story by Mary Downing Hahn (Paperback - June 18 2007)
CDN$ 7.95 CDN$ 7.55
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews