Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A visually stunning manual!!
Wow! If nothing else, the photographs in this book are wonderful!! Kinkead does an incredible job of visually guiding aspiring guitarmakers through the challenging process of building an acoustic guitar from scratch. This manual really boosts the reader's confidence that a seemingly complex instrument can be built in a basement, garage, or spare bedroom with basic...
Published on Aug. 12 2006 by W. Osborne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book.
This a great book for anyone who builds and repairs guitars . I use it for a reference. I have had for years now.
Published 8 months ago by steve


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A visually stunning manual!!, Aug. 12 2006
By 
W. Osborne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Build Your Own Acoustic Guitar: Complete Instructions and Full-Size Plans (Paperback)
Wow! If nothing else, the photographs in this book are wonderful!! Kinkead does an incredible job of visually guiding aspiring guitarmakers through the challenging process of building an acoustic guitar from scratch. This manual really boosts the reader's confidence that a seemingly complex instrument can be built in a basement, garage, or spare bedroom with basic woodworking tools and a few specialized tools. The author challenges the reader to use the accompanying plan as a baseline for the finished product, and adding their own personal touches along the way. Some of the description is a little weak at times, and it may be wise to use other resources for some of the finer points, but all in all, very well done. Did I mention the pictures are great?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to guitar building, Aug. 30 2011
This review is from: Build Your Own Acoustic Guitar: Complete Instructions and Full-Size Plans (Paperback)
Nice book. I bought this during my fifth guitar build. I don't use the plans that came with it ("OM" size but with the waist moved forward), but they look as good as any other plans I've used. The text is much more thorough than what I've found in other books. It takes a modern approach and describes lots of alternatives and choices to be made. It points out the more critical steps and spends more time on them so you know where you have leaway and where you don't. The book's organization is excellent. Pictures are clear and well reproduced. Lots of worthwhile tips. Great value for the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition to the Aspiring Luthiers Library, June 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Acoustic Guitar: Complete Instructions and Full-Size Plans (Paperback)
The visuals of the guitar building process alone is worth the price of the book. The book inspired me to take pictures and also document in depth the process I went through in building my guitars. I found this book an excellent starting point for the first timer to guitar building. It is also a good book to reference for the more advanced builders. The visuals help to get the creative imagination flowing. Any serious guitar maker should have this book in his library, but it should not be the only book nor the last. Overall this is quite a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book., Dec 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Acoustic Guitar: Complete Instructions and Full-Size Plans (Paperback)
This a great book for anyone who builds and repairs guitars . I use it for a reference. I have had for years now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good book, Oct. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Acoustic Guitar: Complete Instructions and Full-Size Plans (Paperback)
very nice photos and simple explanations that should be sufficiant for a novice with some woodworking abilities. As for the artist, the masterpiece is never in the first project but could addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Nov. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Acoustic Guitar: Complete Instructions and Full-Size Plans (Paperback)
very satisfied exactly what we were searching for thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Acoustic Guitar: Complete Instructions and Full-Size Plans (Paperback)
great book would recomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for first timers!, March 14 2009
By 
This review is from: Build Your Own Acoustic Guitar: Complete Instructions and Full-Size Plans (Paperback)
I am building an acoustic guitar for the first time, and this book has helped me a lot! It is very detailed in telling what you need for tools, wood and design.
The pictures help quite a bit and make it easier to understand what to do.
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to build an acoustic guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Build Your Own Acoustic Guitar: Complete Instructions and Full-Size Plans
CDN$ 32.19 CDN$ 19.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews