Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly What I Needed
I bought this book to relearn all the grammar I used to know. Having had six years of French (last class was ten years ago), I needed something that would take me through grammar lessons fairly quickly. This book does that.
This is a handbook on grammar and conjugations. It follows a simple pattern for presenting material--it provides short lessons with examples,...
Published on March 27 2001 by David W. Bernard

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for what i was looking for, it did not do well
it's a great book overall, as it covers most, if not all of the subjects regarding french grammar. but i wished they included indepth information regarding the imparfait usage, passe compose, and plus que parfait. those are the subjects that confuse me the most, this book only gave what i already knew about these subjects.
it's good for those in-between beginner...
Published on May 23 2005 by Graph


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic review source, July 28 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ultimate French Review and Practice: Mastering French Grammar for Confident Communication (Paperback)
This book is a wealth of information for those who have studied at least 1 yr of college or 2 yrs of highschool French. The lessons are progressive and relevant and the exercises offer a lot of variety. It could be a good text for a conversation class or individual study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars :D, Dec 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate French Review and Practice: Mastering French Grammar for Confident Communication (Paperback)
Absolutely great for brushing up on basics! I do really reccommend for a non-native french speaker for understanding those pesky rules
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !, Nov. 11 2003
By 
"paigeporter" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate French Review and Practice: Mastering French Grammar for Confident Communication (Paperback)
This has worked beautifully for quick references to supplemental written exercises--for not only my students but myself as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good review for grammer, light on vocabulary, Aug. 15 2004
By 
Sheri (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate French Review and Practice: Mastering French Grammar for Confident Communication (Paperback)
I studied in French a few years ago, but haven't used it in quite a while. I picked up this book for a refresher, and have found it to be an excellent review of grammer. The exercises are practical, and the subject matter is relevant (IOW things you might actually hear and say).
The book does touch on some vocabulary, but it is assumed that you already have a basic understanding of French.
I would highly recommend this book for anyone who has already studied French, and wants to brush up their grammer skills. Not for the beginner or someone who wants to focus on vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says it does, Aug. 14 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate French Review and Practice: Mastering French Grammar for Confident Communication (Paperback)
This is a great tool for reviewing your French as an upper beginner/intermediate learner. It covers all aspects of grammar with in-depth explanations and exercises, and for $20 you can't go wrong. I highly recommend it, it helped me greatly to fill in the gaps of my knowledge of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GARBAGE, Jan. 14 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate French Review and Practice: Mastering French Grammar for Confident Communication (Paperback)
everything is all over the place; they jump from subject to subject without completing anything in depth. This book is not helpful at all. It doesn't even have the most important thing in french grammar: conjugaison du Participe passe- there are 2 exercises on it which are good for first graders. And the index sucks, you can't find anything in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but full of errors!, Jan. 8 2010
By 
D. Joyce (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate French Review and Practice: Mastering French Grammar for Confident Communication (Paperback)
I would say that this is a great resource EXCEPT that it has several errors contained within the book and needs a good bilingual copyeditor to go through it and check the answers in the back. One such example is in Chapter 6 on Passé Composé, exercise B #10 asks you to put the sentence "Je remonte le boulevard" in the past tense, giving the correct answer as "J'ai remonté le boulevard", however as the next page illustrates (and unless I am very mistaken), the verb remonter requires être rather than avoir (Je suis remonté le boulevard). There are plenty of other examples as well. Also, the book uses short-hand such as "qqch" for quelque chose but doesn't define it (I still can't recall what "qqn" stands for). In order for a language book to be a good review/study/teaching tool, it MUST be clear, concise, and correct, otherwise it isn't worth the paper it's written on. Hopefully the publishers spend some time correcting the book as it would otherwise be a great learning/study tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate French Review and Practice: Mastering French Grammar for Confident Communication
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews