Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Transcendent Power of Neuroplasticity
This is Dr. Taylor's gripping account of her own "neuroplastic" rehabilitation, very accessibly described --as only a neuroanatomist and neuroscientist could describe it.

Dr. Taylor gives hope to all who have suffered, not only stroke, but any loss of mental function --such as the tragic brain damage that follows inhalant abuse by vulnerable children and...
Published on Aug. 25 2008 by Bohdan Sirant

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars DON"T BUY THE AUDIO VERSON
I bought the audio book and couldn't stand her whiny voice. Why do authors read their own voice. Get a professional voice to read it. I couldn't get past the first chapter because her voice is so awful.
Published 5 months ago by Dianne O


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Transcendent Power of Neuroplasticity, Aug. 25 2008
By 
Bohdan Sirant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is Dr. Taylor's gripping account of her own "neuroplastic" rehabilitation, very accessibly described --as only a neuroanatomist and neuroscientist could describe it.

Dr. Taylor gives hope to all who have suffered, not only stroke, but any loss of mental function --such as the tragic brain damage that follows inhalant abuse by vulnerable children and adolescents.

Dr. Taylor describes beautifully her personal growth and sublimation that followed her stroke-induced transcendental experiences.

Her mother's loving and untiring therapy -- which masterfully and intuitively engaged the healing power of brain neuroplasticity-- was truly inspirational.

I highly recommend this wonderful story of Dr. Taylor's healing journey to all mental health workers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Singin' Scientist" reveals her story of having and recovering from stroke, Oct. 22 2008
By 
Stephen Pletko "Uncle Stevie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Stroke of Insight: A Brain Scientist's Personal Journey (Hardcover)
XXXXX

"The story that follows is my stroke of insight into the beauty and resiliency of the human brain. It's a personal account, as seen through the eyes of a neuroscientist [or brain scientist, which the author is], about what it felt like to experience the deterioration of my left brain [that is, the author experienced a rare form of stroke or cerebrovascular accident in the left cerebral hemisphere of her brain at age 37] and then recover [or survive] it. It is my hope that this book will offer insight into how the brain works in both wellness and in illness. Although this book is written for the general public, I hope you will share it with people you want to help recover from brain trauma [not just stroke patients] and their caregivers."

The above is found in this insightful book authored by Jill Bolte Taylor, Ph.D. Note that this book is a record of Taylor's "personal journey" of having and recovering from a stroke. She tells us:

"Every brain has a story and this is mine."

This book falls into four parts:

(1) Pre-stroke:

This part introduces the reader to who Taylor was before she had her stroke.

(2) Stroke:

Recounts the events of the morning she had her stroke. She provides a step-by-step account of the deterioration of her cognitive abilities, as seen through the eyes of a brain scientist.

(3) Recovery:

Here, Taylor shares chronologically her journey to recovery.

(4) What she has learned:

That is, what Taylor has learned about the brain after having and recovering from a stroke.

This book may be unique in that the person who had the stroke was a neuroscientist, neuroanatomist,
or brain scientist. Taylor was able to thus relate the cognitive deficits she was experiencing to the underlying biology.

Therefore, there are also labelled diagrams in this book. (I counted almost twenty.) Thus, the reader is never lost. As well, there is one dramatic black and white photograph.

What I personally found from reading this book is with regard to the cerebral hemispheres. The cerebral hemispheres are the two symmetrical (at least superficially--histologically they are known to be distinguishable in a variety of ways) hemispherical halves of the cerebrum or more generally but incorrectly, of the brain. The right hemisphere is associated with creativity, the mystical, the metaphysical, and inner peace while the left hemisphere is associated with logic and rationality. (Note that I have mentioned some differences--there are more.)

Finally, one appendix to this book is entitled "Forty Things I Needed Most [after my stroke]." I found this very interesting and informative. This information should be shared with anyone who may benefit from it.

In conclusion, this is a unique book authored by a brain scientist who had a stroke. I leave you with the words of "The World's Oldest Teenager," Dick Clark, who suffered a stroke late in 2004 :

"There is comfort in better grasping what has gone wrong and enlightenment for those around you when they grasp it too. None of us needs sympathy; what we do need is a helping hand and understanding. Someone like [Jill Bolte] Taylor provides that, helping a terrible blow become far less so."

(first published 2006; introduction; 20 chapters; main narrative 175 pages; 2 appendices; the Harvard Brain Bank)

<<Stephen Pletko, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly helpful book for better collaborations, Oct. 28 2011
By 
Nancy Vonk (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Stroke of Insight (Paperback)
Jill's journey from a left brain to right brain lens on the world after her stroke is a revelation. Her unique ability to articulate the left/right duality reveals not only how the brain works, but why we have so much trouble empathizing and relating to those who literally process the world around them totally differently from ourselves. Massive implications for business life, just for starters-- her lessons hold the keys for better collaboration between the right and left brainers. An utterly fascinating read; as the cliche goes, I could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Stroke of Insight, Aug. 20 2010
This review is from: My Stroke of Insight (Paperback)
Thank you for giving me the 'insight' into a stroke patient's mind. The intro chapters were great as it gave me a basis for an understanding of the brain before reading Jill's recount. Jill's recount of the "day" of the stroke and shortly after was truly an 'insight' for me as I deal with my mother's stroke. "How to talk to a stroke victim" gave me more empathy in dealing with Mom. Thank you for giving me HOPE as we were told by the doctors after a few months had past, that "this is as good as it gets and you'll never have your Mom back." She's back. Love, support and daily diligence with my Mom has brought her further than we were given any hope of by the doctors. Healing is slow but it continues...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for everyone!, Feb. 12 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Stroke of Insight (Paperback)
I read this book from my library, and felt it was so important that I bought my own copy. This is an utterly fascinating account of a young brain scientist's stroke - she tells her story from the point of view of the sufferer and also as a scientist who knew what was happening at the moment. It would be valuable reading for anyone who will ever have a stroke, or who loves someone who has. It is especially useful in showing us how to help someone in that situation during the long months of recovery. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good choice; bad choice, Feb. 17 2011
This review is from: My Stroke of Insight (Paperback)
Our book club comprised of six members read this book in February and each member reported essentiall the same thing: the book was a tremendous insight into the brain of the stroke victim and provided information that one would never otherwise have available. It was a personal account of a catastrophic event with a happy ending. For myself, I could recommend it to anyone who is close to a stroke victim or to someone who has a history of stroke in the family. Undeniably the book is a great resource; I will keep it on the shelf but I have to say it's not what I would consider a good book club choice. Read it if you need to but don't expect to enjoy it during the long cold winter when you have a day to devote to a book and the fireplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, June 14 2009
This review is from: My Stroke of Insight: A Brain Scientist's Personal Journey (Hardcover)
This was an educational and informative read that all people contemplating reaching 50 must read and those under 50 should read. We learn about the brain and its reaction to harm, in a very entertaining style. I recommend it not only as a good read, but also as a reference book for the brain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Stroke of Insight, Aug. 30 2009
By 
Ronna (Barrys Bay, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Stroke of Insight (Paperback)
This is not a book I would not usually read. I purchased this book because of close family members whom had strokes. The book gave me a better understanding of their struggles. I think this book should be used in schools to teach students a better understanding of this condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deeply moving and informative, March 15 2011
This review is from: My Stroke of Insight (Paperback)
Everyone should read this. We all need to know more about our brain. It is our biggest power. Let's make it our friend by understanding how it works. Jill Bolte Taylor gives us this insight through a terrifying experience that she handles with her cool analytical mind trained in scientific research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a MUST read for any caregiver, Sept. 29 2009
By 
A. Kurth (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Stroke of Insight (Paperback)
This book really opened my eyes. I work with people with brain injuries and this book has become a resource for me and my coworkers. My husband found this book to be very interesting even though it does not apply to his work. For all, a good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Stroke of Insight: A Brain Scientist's Personal Journey
My Stroke of Insight: A Brain Scientist's Personal Journey by Jill Taylor (Hardcover - May 13 2008)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews