Customer Reviews


3 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars STEWART O'NAN IS A WRITER OF RARE ACHIEVEMENT
"The final weekend of their marriage, hounded by insolvency, indecision, and, stupidly, half-secretly, in the never distant past ruled by memory, infidelity, Art and Marion Fowler fled the country."

So begins this small gem of a story by Stewart O'Nan - he who pens tales with acuity, compassion and a clear-eyed view. The Odds is a slender novel featuring two...
Published on Feb. 9 2012 by Gail Cooke

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A Bomb...
MY REVIEW:
Penguin Books|September 25, 2012|Trade Paperback|ISBN: 978-0-14-312227-2
"Stewart O'Nan's thirteenth novel is another wildly original, bittersweet gem like his celebrated Last Night at the Lobster.
Valentine's weekend, Art and Marion Fowler flee their Cleveland suburb for Niagara Falls, desperate to recoup their losses. Jobless, with their...
Published 6 months ago by Louise Jolly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars A Bomb..., June 11 2014
By 
Louise Jolly "Bookaholic" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Odds: A Love Story (Hardcover)
MY REVIEW:
Penguin Books|September 25, 2012|Trade Paperback|ISBN: 978-0-14-312227-2
"Stewart O'Nan's thirteenth novel is another wildly original, bittersweet gem like his celebrated Last Night at the Lobster.
Valentine's weekend, Art and Marion Fowler flee their Cleveland suburb for Niagara Falls, desperate to recoup their losses. Jobless, with their home approaching foreclosure and their marriage on the brink of collapse, Art and Marion liquidate their savings account and book a bridal suite at the Falls ritziest casino for a second honeymoon. While they sightsee like tourists during the day, at night they risk it all at the roulette wheel to fix their finances - and save their marriage. A tender yet honest exploration of faith, forgiveness, and last chances. THE ODDS is a reminder that love, like life, is always a gamble."
According to the above synopsis of THE ODDS from the Chapters website, the book sounds like an interesting read. However, quite the opposite is true. I just couldn't get into this story at all. I found is painfully boring and slow with no excitement or anything to even entince me to try to keep reading further. I did give it a good try and perservered through the first five chapters but just couldn't push myself any further. I would not recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars take a spin, Dec 5 2013
By 
philip freeman (cambridge, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Odds: A Love Story (Hardcover)
I have been reading the works of O'Nan for years and I reckon the odds of readers really enjoying this great little book are 1 in 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STEWART O'NAN IS A WRITER OF RARE ACHIEVEMENT, Feb. 9 2012
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Odds: A Love Story (Hardcover)
"The final weekend of their marriage, hounded by insolvency, indecision, and, stupidly, half-secretly, in the never distant past ruled by memory, infidelity, Art and Marion Fowler fled the country."

So begins this small gem of a story by Stewart O'Nan - he who pens tales with acuity, compassion and a clear-eyed view. The Odds is a slender novel featuring two very ordinary people, Art and Marion Fowler who upon reaching their 30th wedding anniversary find themselves facing continued unemployment, foreclosure, and divorce. There seems to be but one solution - take what is left of the money they have, $40,000, gleaned from liquidated assets and gamble in an attempt to save their home and perhaps their marriage.

They go to Niagara Falls where they spent their honeymoon. For Art it's to be a final weekend of pleasure all paid for on his soon to be maxed credit card. But, what difference - they'll soon be declaring bankruptcy. He has planned the most luxurious trip - booked the most expensive suite in the resort's most upscale casino, bought a new engagement ring for Marion, bought tickets for a concert by her favorite rock band, all in hopes of winning her back.

As the pair travel, see the sights and prepare for their big night at a roulette wheel, we learn of their years together from both Art and Marion's perspective - the mistakes, disappointments, lies, infidelities. Healing these wounds let alone winning enough money to become solvent again seems an impossibility. What are the odds?

Stewart O'Nan is a writer of rare achievement ably blending the bittersweet with humor. In his stories of what some may call mundane lives we find extraordinary heart. Don't miss The Odds.

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Odds: A Love Story
The Odds: A Love Story by Stewart O'Nan (Hardcover - Jan. 24 2012)
CDN$ 27.50 CDN$ 17.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews