Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The World Until Yesterday by Jared Diamond
This reviewer found the book a laborious and stenuous 494-page read. The pulitzer prize-winning author Jared Diamond---a professor of geograpgy at UCLA---has written four previous books, and two read by this reviewer: "Guns,Germs, and Steel" ; and "Collapse". Both were much easier to read than "The World Until Yesterday".
The focus of the work is---as the books...
Published 16 months ago by David Heming

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Guns Germs and Steel...
I did enjoy reading this book but it was too soft. Simply expected a little more from Diamond.

Lucie Lacroix
Published 15 months ago by Lucie Lacroix


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The World Until Yesterday by Jared Diamond, June 17 2013
By 
David Heming - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies? (Hardcover)
This reviewer found the book a laborious and stenuous 494-page read. The pulitzer prize-winning author Jared Diamond---a professor of geograpgy at UCLA---has written four previous books, and two read by this reviewer: "Guns,Germs, and Steel" ; and "Collapse". Both were much easier to read than "The World Until Yesterday".
The focus of the work is---as the books sub-title connotes---how the West can learn from traditional societies and our tribal neighbours. Diamond carefully and craftily contrasts Western culture with the modern lives of New Guineans with their ancestors. Diamond invites readers to learn from ancient traditional tribal societies and their approaches to food consumption, child rearing, the treatment of seniors, managing conflicts, and poverty and health care. In a menacing way, Diamond rails against the West, and more specifically the United States, for its self-destructive dietary behaviours. He further takes the romantic management approach to tribalism and suggests Westerners do all they can to enhance the lives of children by what Diamond calls "allo-perenting".
Diamond's prescription for resolving and managing differences and relationships is to expand and enhance government restorative justice programs and policies. Diamond argues that the West must find more innovative and creative ways of "managing" seniors, devise new living conditions for seniors, and support better lives and social relationships in general. Diamond also "highlights" useful lessons that the West can learn from more traditional societies so that life can be extended, made healthier, and focus on the iradication of poverty.
This book, punctuated with 32 pages of photographs, will be of prime interest to geographers, historians, anthropologists, social workers, and of lesser interest to politicians, public policy enthusiasts, and scholars from other related disciplines. For the average "every-day reader", the book will hold interest if prepared to drill down and grind it out.
David Heming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brief Summary and Review, Jan. 7 2013
This review is from: The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies? (Hardcover)
*A full executive summary of this book is available at newbooksinbrief dot com.

The main argument: The onset of agriculture and farming some 11,000 years ago (termed the Neolithic Revolution), is arguably the most significant turning point in the history of our species. Agriculture induced a major population explosion, which then led to urbanization; labor specialization; social stratification; and formalized governance—thus ultimately bringing us to civilization as we know it today. Prior to the Neolithic Revolution—and extending back time out of mind—human beings lived in a far different way. Specifically, our ancestors lived in small, largely egalitarian tribes of no more than 50 to 100 individuals, and hunted and foraged for their food.

The transition from our traditional hunting and gathering lifestyle, to early farming (and herding), to civilization as we know it now (which, on an evolutionary time-scale, occurred but yesterday) has certainly brought with it some very impressive benefits. Indeed, many of us today enjoy comforts and opportunities the likes of which our more traditional ancestors would never have dreamed of. However, it cannot be said that the transition from traditional to modern has left us without any difficulties. Indeed, some would go so far as to say that the problems that civilization has introduced outweigh the benefits that it has brought; and even the most unromantic among us are likely to agree that our experiment in civilization has not been an unmitigated success.

This then brings us to the problem of solving the difficulties that civilization has left us with. Now, when it comes to solving our problems, it is without a doubt the spirit of our age to look ever forward for solutions—by which I mean we tend to look for new technologies and hitherto untested arrangements to help us out of our current predicaments. However, when we consider that our traditional lifestyle served us well for millennia on end, and that it was under this lifestyle wherein we underwent much of the biological and psychological evolution that lives with us to this day, we can begin to see how it may be fruitful to look back at this traditional lifestyle for possible solutions to the problems we now face. (This idea is not new; indeed, the ‘state of nature’ has traditionally been of great interest to philosophers—for it has been thought that understanding how we lived by nature may serve as a guide to help us design the most fitting political communities given our present circumstances).

Also of interest here—and deeply connected to the more practical goal mentioned above—is that investigating our traditional way of life promises to shed light on our underlying human nature in a way that is not possible when we look at ourselves through the obscuring artifice of civilization. It is these things that we stand to gain by learning about traditional societies, and it is this very project that geographer Jared Diamond takes up in his new book The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies?

Diamond is certainly not one to deny that civilization has brought with it many important benefits over our traditional way of life (the most important of which, according to the author, being that state governments are much more effective at ending the cycles of violence that tend to plague traditional societies). However, Diamond does contend that there are many areas wherein traditional practices represent an improvement over how we do things in the modern world, and that these practices could (and should) be incorporated into our modern way of life (both at the personal and societal level). Specifically, we could afford to learn a thing or two from traditional societies when it comes to conflict resolution (how to re-establish and mend relationships); raising children (that it really does take a whole village to raise a child); treating the elderly (that they are deserving of respect, and are still capable of contributing to the community in many important ways); approaching risk (with extensive caution); communicating (in a face to face way, and with multiple languages); and in diet and exercise (favoring natural foods, reducing salt, and sugar intake, and adopting a more active lifestyle).

In the course of his exploration of traditional societies, Diamond also delves into why and how our ancestors transitioned from traditional societies to civilizations (with a focus on such areas as social, economic and political stratification, and also religion).

Diamond has made a career out of studying the traditional societies of Papua New Guinea, and is therefore a very credible authority on the subject matter at hand. What's more, his wealth of experience has left him with a trove of interesting and illuminating anecdotes to draw from, and these are on full display here. Finally, I felt that the author always maintained a very sober and balanced view with regards to the benefits and drawbacks of both traditional and modern societies. I would have liked to have seen certain topics discussed more, and others less, but this is mere personal preference. Altogether a very good book. A full executive summary of this book is available at newbooksinbrief dot com; a podcast discussion of the book is also available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, but not without flaws, Jan. 19 2013
By 
A. Volk (Canada) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (#1 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies? (Hardcover)
Diamond's newest book proposes that we examine how humans lived in our evolutionary past to better understand how and why we live today and whether that fits with our evolved predispositions. That's not a new proposition. Evolutionary psychology has been gathering steam for a couple of decades now, with plenty of great books out there about how evolution has shaped our behaviors. Diamond's book is different in that it proposes to focus largely on cultural institutions or beliefs such as justice, trade, parenting, and religion.

The good parts of the book that I fully agree is that Diamond argues we are products of our evolutionary past and understanding that is vital to optimizing our current cultural and personal development. He offers many fascinating examples of how our current and past cultures are both similar and different. Much of his argument revolves around the simple fact that we lived in much tighter and less inter-bound groups than we do now. This means that strangers are a relatively new phenomenon, as are some aspects of our good behavior (e.g., we rarely fight with strangers). But we also have some aspects to learn from past cultures, such as having a village raise a child rather than isolated parents, or include mediation and victim compensation as larger part of our criminal and civil justice systems. Diamond's reviews of religion are more mixed, but they do point out its near-universality and common role of uniting many communities. Overall, Diamond believes it is crucial for us not to emulate all aspects of traditional societies, but to at least know of them, and understand how they can or can't apply to our modern societies. Diamond encourages us to not forget these fading lessons as traditional societies continue to fade away (including their languages).

The bad part is that he mixes together farming societies with hunter-gatherers in discussing our evolutionary past. From an evolutionary perspective, agriculturalist societies such as the Yanomamo or Dani are not likely to be typical of our evolutionary past. They are not much more ancient than other ancient cultures such as the Ancient Greeks or Egyptians (nor are the Greenland Norse he occasionally cites). Thus, from an evolutionary perspective, they are likely to play only a modest role in our evolution. So for example, because they have fixed patches of food resources that provide more calories than hunting, they posses resources that can both be fought over as well as allow for the extra calories and time required to devote time for hunting. Hunter-gatherers like the !Kung or Hadza don't show as much or as formal violence. Thus Diamond's examples might not really be of traditional societies, but rather quasi-traditional societies (with my caveat that most modern-hunter gatherer societies exist in marginal areas and those don't necessarily tell us about ancient h-g's that existed in prime real estate areas). There's a few other things I'd quibble over. For example, in emphasizing the lethality of ancient warfare (it was deadly because it was potentially constant) he states the lack of a clear war leader prevented it from being more lethal through things such as volley fire. I've read accounts of the Dani (Diamond's favorite group to talk about). They have formal battles with few casualties in large part because as one (or a few) man/men moves towards the enemy group, the enemy responds with individual arrow or spear fire that is easily dodged. Whereas a simultaneous barrage would be lethal. Diamond think's it's a lack of leadership castes that prevent this. I don't. It's almost beyond imagination to think that in a truly lethal contest volley fire would not be invented. It's obvious that three people shooting at once are harder to dodge than each shooting 10 seconds apart. Instead, I agree with the theory that these contests smack of honor-bound displays of courage meant to intimidate and promote personal prestige as much, or more, than they are meant to cause casualties to the enemy (update: apparently the Yanomamo do just that- shoot arrows in volleys when they conduct raids).

But, overall, this is a fascinating read about traditional societies and what they offer to teach us about ourselves and our modern societies. The book is less likely to be revealing for experienced readers or researches in the field of evolutionary psychology or anthropology, but it still has enough stories and anecdotes to be entertaining. For people unfamiliar with these fields, it's an excellent introduction into why studying our ancient past is a vital endeavour. It's an old saying that those who don't study history are doomed to repeat it, but Diamond further offers that those who study history have the chance to not just avoid mistakes, but to better our future. Combined witha call for preserving that living history as much as we can, it's not an entirely new sentiment in itself, but it is one that's always worth repeating and exploring. A solid four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of my favourite authors does it again, March 15 2013
By 
David Keay (Ottawa ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies? (Hardcover)
Jared Diamond not only writes well but has a lot of insight in the world of human geography. He does a good job of keeping the reader engaged and interested in a subject that could be tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If we would have known, March 25 2014
By 
Jean-pierre Petits "Night Seeker" (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies? (Hardcover)
Jared Diamond who spent his long life exploring the New Guinea people living in an isolated immense island put on the paper all the questions we never dared to dig and analyse. What is society and what is the challenge of a society trapped in primitive living conditions. In amazing parallel he draws comparisons, analyses and conclusions that are mind boggling. We are not so far after all of each other. One cannot rush reading that book I read only a few paragraphs a daily savouring their density and ramifications and slowly led to the conclusion that no man is primitive only its imposed geographical living conditions are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating look at our world, Feb. 8 2014
This review is from: The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies? (Hardcover)
When I first read Jared Diamond’s Guns, Germs and Steel I was delighted to discover his original, yet accessible, take on the historical processes which formed much of our present-day world. The World Until Yesterday uses the same easy to follow, conversational tone that allows Diamond to educate and entertain those of us who are perhaps not history buffs nor anthropologists. His book compares our modern, Western societies with those of so-called traditional societies, such as the Dani and Fayu tribes in New Guinea, Piraha Indians in South America, !Kung tribes in Africa, and so on.
These groups are literally the last original people on Earth. Their lack of contact with outsiders for millennia allowed them to maintain the same ways of life they’ve led virtually since the Stone Age. Diamond’s time spent in the mountains and jungles of New Guinea, as well as the research of many other scientists, allows the reader a firsthand glimpse at traditions and beliefs that we might have thought were long gone from our world.
Beyond unveiling these groups that we might consider quant and backwards compared to our advanced civilization, Diamond attempts to draw lessons from their methods of child-rearing, dispute resolution, political organization and so on, in order to see what can be applied to our own world. Some aspects of traditional ways of life would be so foreign to most people in Western countries, especially those of us who live in large urban centers, that any lessons to be learned are theoretical at best. Some, such as those concerning our eating habits, reveal changes that individuals could easily apply in the “modern” world, and in fact may make some readers wonder how it is we’ve gotten so used to putting poison into our bodies and think it’s food.
Diamond, to his credit, doesn’t romanticize the tribesmen he has spent so much time studying. He admits that their lives can be short and violent, subject to flood or famine, and with little access to basic medical care that we’ve come to take for granted. On the other hand, the book attempts to answer the question: “how did we get here from there?” in a volume that is not weighed down by statistics or scientific jargon. The end result will allow the interested reader to feel a little bit more informed about our world, without feeling like he’s ploughing through somebody’s doctoral thesis. This can only be a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Realism vs. Sentimentality, Feb. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Haven't finished reading the book yet, but it is an excellent read and totally to the point of my studies into the fundamental commonalities in human beings underpinning our cultural and personality differences - towards a deeper understanding of conflict resolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A most thought provoking book, Nov. 16 2013
By 
bookweasel (Calgary AB) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies? (Hardcover)
What I drew from this book was the need for assessment and balance in how we live. Sure we have progressed materially, in safety and in comfort but we have forgotten how to eat, how to socialize, how to raise our children and several other of life's important aspects.

This book is more accessible to the average reader than Diamond's earlier works (though perhaps not as thorough or erudite). Several of the chapters are page turners and there are lots of aha moments. On a sad note, we seem to have lost our common sense. On a personal note, more evidence with which to make fun of the idiots who are vegans.

Not Diamond's best book but perhaps his most generally interesting and readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Guns Germs and Steel..., July 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies? (Hardcover)
I did enjoy reading this book but it was too soft. Simply expected a little more from Diamond.

Lucie Lacroix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Value for Describing Traditional Society than for Prescribing Improvements for Today's Society, Feb. 7 2013
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies? (Hardcover)
"But you must continue in the things which you have learned ...." -- 2 Timothy 3:14 (NKJV)

I enjoyed reading The World Until Yesterday because it describes practices in some traditional societies that I was unfamiliar with. Twenty-five of these societies (and much more of the text) are from New Guinea, a place I'm not likely to visit. Geography professor Jared Diamond mostly draws on descriptions and observations by Westerners who spent limited amounts of time with the traditional societies, sometimes expanded by comments from those who remember practices before interaction with today's typical societies occurred. He addresses these topics:

1. How friends, enemies, strangers, and traders were viewed ... particularly in terms of geographical boundaries.

2. Some ways that small-scale conflicts were resolved.

3. A war between related peoples is recounted.

4. A contrast is drawn between "limited" war and international war.

5. Child-rearing methods are characterized.

6. The role of aged people is related.

7. Ways of identifying and responding to signs of danger are detailed.

8. The sources of religious sentiments are theorized.

9. The advantages of knowing many languages are spelled out.

10. The consequences of changing diet and exercise from what traditional societies have practiced.

While you don't need to know my views on Professor Diamond's conclusions, I suspect that you will find many of them scanty and others may not sit well with you. While almost everyone will agree that eating lots of salt and sugar and not exercising are bad practices, most everything else is much more controversial. I suspect that the flaw is in book's research design. Professor Diamond probably needed to draw on more perspectives from other scientific disciplines to make his conclusions.

Certainly, there's food for thought and discussion here. Just don't rush to judgment ... or to change too many things without more investigation and testing.

I do recommend the book for those who would like a better sense of what life has been like for people who lived independently of the global strip mall that seems to be reducing so many differences among people and cultures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies?
CDN$ 38.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews