Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dear Sir....
When I think of Canadian author Will Ferguson, it is his travel memoirs that immediately spring to mind. That and his rich sense of humour (He has won The Leacock Medal for Humour numerous times.)

419 takes us in a completely different direction....

We've all received them. In fact Barrister Salvadore Gallarto sent me one this morning. Can I help...
Published on April 30 2012 by Luanne Ollivier

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 419 A Novel
I found this book disapointing. I was looking forward to it , having lived for years in Lagos, but could not connect with it in the way I expected. Has some of the flavour if Nigeria but could have a lot more
Published 21 months ago by Eithne Shankar


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 419 A Novel, Feb. 6 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 419: A Novel (Hardcover)
I found this book disapointing. I was looking forward to it , having lived for years in Lagos, but could not connect with it in the way I expected. Has some of the flavour if Nigeria but could have a lot more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Internet Fraud, Dec 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 419: A Novel (Hardcover)
This is a story about Internet fraud and while I know this does happen I found it a bit 'over the top' at some points. The story of Nigeria however, is very interesting which tended to put my feelings of the over dramatic parts in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent read. It is fiction, Oct. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 419: A Novel (Hardcover)
This is an excellent read. It is fiction, but based on the scams that go around all the time, catching people here and there. In this story, a young woman seeks revenge after her father has been scammed, or 419'd as they call it. She travels to Nigeria to meet with the source of the scammers and it becomes an "edge of your seat" experience. Will Ferguson has done an excellent job in engaging the reader to feel the fear and unjustness of the situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Thriller in the Rough, July 26 2012
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 419: A Novel (Hardcover)
The Canadian humourist and high-adventure novelist Will Ferguson has written a gripping tale about a Canadian elderly man who gets caught up in the Nigerian 419 e-mail scam and the efforts of his daughter to recover his money. The reader is introduced to the complex and seamy world of consumer fraud in a way that literally boggles the imagination. While we might be able to appreciate the extent of the victim's credulity in signing over his and his wife's life savings to fraudsters, unseen and thousands of miles away, the extent to which this elaborate con is hatched and sprung is hard to fathom as to who the perpetrators are. To uncover that mystery, Ferguson has the daughter engaged in some major personal sleuthing, involving the Internet, to bring the thieves to justice. As the story shows, this is no small feat. Much of what Laura accomplishes to right a terrible wrong is done with the grudging help of the police and friends. There are stretches in the story where the description of this personal detective work seems to be cut short. Suddenly there is Laura in the middle of the Niger delta, courting extreme danger but with a fool-proof plan to confront the scammers. Such gaps are excusable because Ferguson is anxiously trying to get his character from Alberta to Nigeria through an international maze of corruption and ineptitude. What really made this novel worth the read was Ferguson's efforts to present another side to the big hunt for the bad boys. Interlarded with Laura's high-powered adventure is a running account of how a young man (Nmandi) and his extended family eke out an impoverished life amidst the oil platforms of the Delta. It is in this crime-infested environment that the 419 scam thrives in an attempt to get money to move up the social ladder and get out of this hell-hole. Being able to bring these two important threads together is the main strength of this book. Laura learns to truly see her need for justice through the eyes of those who have succeeded in ripping her and her family off. What she discovers is that con artists are not limited to Africa and a 419 scam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it was a good read and the author tied it altogether beautifully, Oct. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 419 (Kindle Edition)
It was a little difficult keeping the characters straight and wondering how it was all going to tie up, and the names were
mind boggling, however, it was a good read and the author tied it altogether beautifully, but sadly! It was challenging
indeed, but I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could not put this book down. An intrigue of ..., Oct. 11 2014
This review is from: 419: A Novel (Hardcover)
Could not put this book down. An intrigue of several characters which takes us to another continent. This book certainly makes the reader realize that we are now globally connected, whether we chose to be or not. This is a definite recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Easy Read, Aug. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 419: A Novel (Hardcover)
Well written. I like Will Ferguson's work. This book provides some insight into how Nigerian 419 scams are run and the impact on people's lives. Recommend it to those who both like a story and want to know more about these types of scams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gripping towards the end, Aug. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 419 (Kindle Edition)
It was kind of hard to follow at first as the story jumped back and forth between the key characters and it is not till 3/4 way through that it comes together but then very gripping till the end. I would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... of the world no matter how much we would like to., July 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 419 (Kindle Edition)
I can see why it won a prize and it gives a warning that we can not cure all the ills of the world no matter how much we would like to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great insight into 419, April 21 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 419 (Kindle Edition)
I truly enjoyed this book and have recommended it to family and friends. I receive many email messages from Nigeria and now know just how dangerous they can be. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

419: A Novel
419: A Novel by Will Ferguson (Hardcover - March 27 2012)
CDN$ 32.00 CDN$ 20.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews