Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Insight to Canadian Leaders
I found Cook's book on the leadership roles of Borden and King during the two World Wars to be very insightful and informative and an easy read. The history is well developed and an entertaining read and should be of interest to all Canadians as it gives a glimpse of the stresses our leaders faced during the wars and tells the story of Canada becoming a nation in its own...
Published on Dec 12 2012 by Douglas Goss

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good history yet....
Tim Cook has written a number of excellent books on the First World War. This one is good and it is informative, written in his usual clear prose yet the title is a little misleading. King and Borden were certainly wartime leaders but "Warlords" - I don't think so. The book is good but not the best of Tim Cook's efforts which are typical excellent. I was a little...
Published 10 months ago by Paul M.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Insight to Canadian Leaders, Dec 12 2012
By 
Douglas Goss (McAdam, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Warlords: Borden, Mackenzie King and Canada's World Wars (Hardcover)
I found Cook's book on the leadership roles of Borden and King during the two World Wars to be very insightful and informative and an easy read. The history is well developed and an entertaining read and should be of interest to all Canadians as it gives a glimpse of the stresses our leaders faced during the wars and tells the story of Canada becoming a nation in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insights into two important Canadians, April 4 2013
By 
Matthew (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Warlords: Borden, Mackenzie King and Canada's World Wars (Hardcover)
This dual biography of Canada's two wartime prime ministers provides a refreshing look at the lives and political careers of Sir Robert Borden and William Lyon Mackenzie King. Tim Cook is one of our country's top historians and the authority on Canada in the First World War. He is also a master of narrative history, with this book following his much-acclaimed biography of Sir Sam Hughes and Sir Arthur Currie, The Madman and the Butcher.

In Warlords, Cook reminds us of the important role played by two men in leading a young country through two traumatic global wars. Borden, Cook points out, has often been overlooked by historians and the Canadian public and, when he is remembered, vilified for his handling of the conscription crisis. Some of this criticism may be unwarranted, though, as there was no blueprint for Borden to follow.

King, argues Cook, has not been overlooked, but rather misunderstood. His scandalous private journals have been used to turn him into a kind of caricature, but Cook reminds us that he was a real man, doing the best he could to keep the country together during another battle over conscription (and learning some lessons from Borden).

This book is highly recommended for anyone interested in Canadian history, either of the world wars, or political leadership. Despite the vast amounts of research Warlords contains, it is written in a very accessible, lively style. Borden and King both come alive in the pages, and even those familiar with King's diaries will likely find something to be shocked or amused by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Canadian Political Aspect Regarding Two World Wars, March 1 2013
By 
Patrick Sullivan (Kingston, Ont. Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Warlords: Borden, Mackenzie King and Canada's World Wars (Hardcover)
This book covers all the political ground, regarding Canada in both World Wars. Sir Robert Borden was the Conservative leader in the First World War. Mackenzie King was the Liberal Prime Minister during World War II. Both men took on very different leadership roles, during the conflicts.

Borden enacted conscription and lost the political support of Quebec. Borden was committed to full Canadian support of the British Empire, and the war with Germany. King on the other hand, attempted to avoid conscription during WWII. He realized his political success, rested with the voting population of Quebec. Many of King`s political decisions throughout his career, were weighed heavily on Quebec`s potential reaction to any given policy.

Warlords will appeal to anyone with an interest in Canadian history. The issues were much different, then what we deal with today. But the political landscape, will be very familiar to most Canadians. The Liberal and Conservative parties controlled parliament. The CCF, Progressives, and Social Credit, also had political influence.

Cook has certainly spent some time researching the material. I had no idea, how many thousand of pages King wrote out in his diary. Throughout my childhood, I had listened to a lot of political stories about Mackenzie King. Most of my older relatives, considered Mackenzie King the political benchmark of Canadian politics. Yes, he had a rather strange side to his character. But he also had a very sharp political acumen. There is a reason, King was Canada`s longest serving Prime Minister. Cook explains the thinking process King went through, to help prosecute the Canadian war effort.

This book is in a smooth easy to read format. It is recommended to anyone, with an interest in Canadian politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contrasting leaders, Feb. 26 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Warlords: Borden, Mackenzie King and Canada's World Wars (Hardcover)
Well researched and well written, Tim Cook presents a balanced view of both former prime ministers within the context of their time. This book is recommended for anyone interested in the history of Canada and its leaders, its focus is on the wartime leaders themselves, the difficulty of their decisions and some insight into the long term consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good history yet...., Feb. 14 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Warlords: Borden, Mackenzie King and Canada's World Wars (Hardcover)
Tim Cook has written a number of excellent books on the First World War. This one is good and it is informative, written in his usual clear prose yet the title is a little misleading. King and Borden were certainly wartime leaders but "Warlords" - I don't think so. The book is good but not the best of Tim Cook's efforts which are typical excellent. I was a little disappointed in this book after reading Cook's other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Canada's war leadership across 2 generations, Sept. 28 2013
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Warlords: Borden, Mackenzie King and Canada's World Wars (Hardcover)
It is more common to look at Canada's war leadership in isolation, either with the First or Second World War. Here Tim Cook looks at both Borden and King's leadership across time. Comparison is almost impossible - Borden was facing something no Canadian prime minister had faced before while King had Borden's mistakes to learn from. Cook writes an entertaining and easy-to-read historical overview, pulling together a broad range of material quite well. I don't think he's on quite as strong footing here as with his Canadian military histories of WWI but his strong writing skills are still pretty evident.

Anyone with an interest in Canadian history and politics will find this book worth a read for a unique perspective and analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 28 2014
By 
D. H. Burney (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Warlords: Borden, Mackenzie King and Canada's World Wars (Hardcover)
Could have been a bit more critical of the fact that Canada's voice in WWII never matched its commitment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warlords: Borden, Mackenzie King and Canada's World Wars
Warlords: Borden, Mackenzie King and Canada's World Wars by Tim Cook (Hardcover - Sept. 25 2012)
CDN$ 34.00 CDN$ 21.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews