march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 10, 2015
The title says it all. Stay moving, stay active, stay alive longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2015
This book was suggested to me by a fellow runner long distance runner.

For some time now I had been trying to penetrate the massive amount of health information out there that is constantly vying for our attention. Some of it is true. Some of it is false. Most of it you scratch your head and ask yourself where do you begin to challenge it?

This is a book about the journey that most middle aged athletic people want to make but don't have the time. This book explodes a lot of myths. But the troubling part is that the truth is really, really simple. If you want to be 'healthy' then you need to lift weights, do HIIT, eat fruits, vegetables and some meat.

The really, really troubling message this book leaves you with is that if you are in your forties, then you need to eat healthy, work out and learn to eat half the amount of food you currently eat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
I am sure there will be many people that find it difficult to accept when he debunks magic processes and things to take. I found it refreshing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2013
Dry, witty, informative???? Caulfield is a lawyer. He is not a biochemist, a scientist, or a doctor. His biggest concern is his weight, which puts a teenage spin on the whole dissertation. It's frightening to me that he believes what he thinks, that "obesity causes inactivity; inactivity does not cause obesity", (Really?) and that by choking back a bottle of homeopathic sleeping pills with no results, casts a grave shadow on alternative medicine. Where is the 'science' in this book? This is the contribution by the Canada Research Chair in Health Law and Policy? Scary.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
Great book, well written, a lot of research was done, and it shows. He keeps things simple and straighforward. Would recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
This is a very interesting book if you are into fitness and healthy eatting but beware scientific research about exercise may shock your beliefs ! I am part of a non-profit weight loss group called TOPS (See TOPS.org), and have presented some of this book's finding and they were quite shocked to learn that exercise does not make you lose weight. However, it helps for maintenance and mostly for many health benefits. Bottom line; read it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2013
I can't recommend this book highly enough. So much useful information, and very well written. I use info I learned from the chapters on diet, food and exercise every day. A must-read for people who want the facts on health.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2013
This was a interesting examination of the hype surrounding basic health related recommendations and behaviours. The author included personal experience and a sound examination of the science behind healthy diet, exercise, genetics, alternative medicine and the pharmaceutical industry. The take home message is that there are simple health related behaviours that we should all follow (e.g., high intensity exercise, no junk food and lots of fruits and veg). He goes on to demonstrate that, although the message is simple, actually doing this is difficult. There is no magic or easy way to quickly and permanently lose weight. It takes hard and persistent work. Although this may not be what we want to hear, the simplicity of the message means we can ignore the mixed messages that tell us to do a certain program or use a particular supplement or weight loss 'cure'.

By taking a simple approach to healthy living based on sound scientific evidence, I now feel I can better ignore the hype around weight loss, exercise programs and so on. Instead, I can focus my time and efforts (and money) on actually doing the work of healthy living. The message that this is very hard work and most of us fail was difficult to take at first. However, I think that it has helped me come to the point of accepting I have to be persistent about diet and exercise and understand that there will be times that they are not the best. This is not a reason to give up.

Although this book is science based, the author has made it a good read for the average person by providing good explanations as well as his (often humorous) personal experience related to each section of the book
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
There is no shortage of health based books that preach the mantra "exercise more, eat less". This book is no exception. What sets this book apart from all others is the blend of science with style and candour. Professor Caulfield takes on the health industry with a ruthlessly empirical approach. While keeping an open mind he puts theories to the test (using himself as a guinea pig) and reports the facts. No recommendation is made until the scientific evidence supports the conclusion. To convey his message, Professor Caulfield employs a self-effacing, intimate and humorous style. There are some surprising revelations, a hint of conspiracy and even a few cliff-hangers, making this book read more like a spy novel than a fitness manual. Professor Caulfield confirms what you likely already know: that there are no quick fixes. He makes it clear, though, that if you are broken, you can be fixed and you hold the key to the cure. A very worthy read, indeed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2013
The book is O.K.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse