boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Pets summer All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars16
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 1, 2008
This book asks and answers the necessary question ie. why does the US act in the interests of a narrowly defined group of Israelis and Americans instead of the long term national interests of both? It is not a re-reading of the history of the Palestian/Israeli conflict nor should it be. By keeping a tight focus on US internal political process and the playing out of influence by political groups; it does an excellent job of answering the question. Detractors hate this book because it is clear, factual and persuasive. People who have given negative reviews, do so not based on weighing the arguments in the book but instead try to judge the morality of the Israeli position versus other players. That is not what the book is about.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2008
This book, on a subject that is infrequently discussed, and seldom without passion, is very well written and researched. The annotations are impeccable.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2008
First off, Mr. Critical Thinker, you completely missed the point of the book. It has absolutely nothing to do with Arab states or Iran.
The whole purpose of this book is to bring to light an issue which has been vexing American politics for over 30 years, and that is Zionist domination in Congress.

While I can't defend Iran's bellicose belligerency against Israel, let me remind you that Iran hasn't initiated a war in over 3 centuries - Israel just had a vicious war with Lebanon, having violated human rights in the process and killed almost a thousand civilians in the process...all the while blanketed by diplomatic immunity from the US.

I also can't stress enough how outrageous it is that Israel still gets to build illegal settlements and continue its forceful occupation of Gaza and most parts of the West Bank.

Rebuttal aside, I think most people know very well what this book is about, and I think it's cowardly and shameful of some people who seek to discredit the scholarship of two brilliant professors whose educational backgrounds are flawless. The book doesn't take positions on subjects that aren't already known to the general public: The Israel Lobby is well known to be an extremely effective interest group that has profound influence on Middle East policy in the US. The only thing this book does is that it expands on the issue and cites a lot different people and situations where the AIPAC has pressures the US into subverting to its will.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is remotely interested in learning more about politics in the Middle East.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2009
I've just finished reading the original paper and I will be buying the book on the strength of what I've read so far. I've always wondered why Israel enjoys such privileged support from the USA and I plan to read as much as I can on the subject from both sides. It's clear to me that the authors have no agenda here. Unfortunately, I can't say the same thing about some of the book's detractors (read CriticalThinker's other reviews and you'll see what I mean). I'm neither an antisemite nor a self-hating jew. But that, I guess,depends on your own definitions of those particular epithets. If you're interested in the subject this is certainly worthy of shelf space: even if you don't agree with its contents. Be your own judge and weigh both sides of the argument.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2009
I've been wondering for a long time why the US is so blatantly in favor of Israel, not only in the context of the Middle Eastern conflicts, but in general. This books confirms beyond any doubt what I was already suspecting but could never confirm due to the lack of dialogue Mr Mersheimer mentions in his book. I take my hat off to his courage of speaking up and sticking to his position, despite the lobby's repeated attempts to silence and discredit him after the first article was published. I highly recommend it to anyone who wonders how the US managed to aliente itself from the rest of the world. You can hardly be impartial when you only get to hear one side of the story.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2009
Anyone wondering why US presidential candidates jostle to compete for the title of "Israel's best friend" must read this long overdue analysis. While the authors make abundantly clear that the activities of the Israel lobby are legal and legitimate, they meticulously demonstrate how these have contributed to policies that are ultimately contrary to America's best interest. From supporting the disastrous invasion of Iraq to leading the sabre-rattling over Iran to obstructing a negotiated Israeli-Palestinian settlement, the formidable clout of what should more accurately be described as the "Likud lobby" has helped push policies that are as transparently one sided as they are counter-productive. For example, while Washington pledges support for a two-state solution, it continues to provide Israel with massive economic aid used to expand Jewish settlements that abort the birth of a viable Palestinian state and effectively kill any prospect for a negotiiated settlement.
Predictably, some critics will trot out the tediously familiar "anti-Semite" card to deflect the issue. Through abuse and overuse, that term is simply no longer enough to hide that elephant in the room that Israel's apologists want to convince us doesn't exist.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2012
I truly enjoyed this book...very revealing and corageous...I couldn't have imagined the power of the Israeli lobby in the USA and how they have negatively influenced US foreign policy...when watching the latest GOP debates and how Newt Gingrich has stated that the Palestinian people were "invented", one can easily see how they have power and influence over American public opinion and policy makers. The book is a must read. I highly recommend it
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2016
If you want to know just how Israel controls the Middle East, all you have to do is read the first 75 pages of this book.
I have book-marked nearly every page for reviewing the succinct, precise, and annotated comments that reveal just how the Israel lobby controls the comments and activities in the United States (and sometimes Europe and Canada) of every person or organization that says or does that might possibly be connected with Israel. You will be amazed.
I wrote a recent letter to the editor of a small town newspaper regarding the murder of a Palestian activist (a knifing incident at a control point) by an Israel military. I made no anti-Semitic comment in the letter; but within a week a Jewish group member of "Truth in Reporting" took me to task in a reply to the same newspaper for making an anti-Semitic accusation.
The two writers of the book have revealed the methods used by Jewish groups to control thought and mind of Americans. This should be on your must read list of books.
Buy a Video to go along with this book: THE OCCUPATION OF THE AMERICAN MIND, which explains how Israel controls the public relations efforts in the US through its control of the American Congrees and Senate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2014
This is a well researched and evidence based document produced by two imminent scholars in the field. And we could not realistically suspect any anti-Israel biais.
Very measured and prudent interpretation and conclusions
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2015
This book is very interesting. However, they could of worked harder on making it more readable to general folks. The prose is also extremely dry. Kind of a letdown in this sense.

It is not that eye-opening since most folks probably over-estimate the power of this lobby, but we are all aware of it. The Israel lobby is hurtful to both the Israel and the USA...this short sentence can save you of an extremely dry read.

I wouldn't recommend this book to read for fun. This is high level IR reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse