Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compassionate Witness, April 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Farewells: A Reporter's Journey from Refugee Camp to the Arab Spring (Hardcover)
If ever you might consider an individual both called by destiny and responding in Freedom to that call..Nahlah Ayed would be such a one. Her ability to both be a witness and a participant in the events in her life and the life of the Middle East is both objective and passionate. She has the gift of piercing through the veils of a situation and revealing the human heart of the matter..with tremendous clarity..thus able in a way to see things as they are with empathy..judging yet non-judgemental. Her writing has both the conciseness of the seasoned reporter under time restrictions having to cut to the chase without trivialising an event or a life. Yet her writing is not dry but leads you in deeply to the story..and as she says "the people are the story". I thank her for the writing of this book. Her insights and experiences are a gift to anyone trying to make understand more both the refugee, the weight of history, and the longing for emancipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A journalist writes of the Arab Spring and its background and history., May 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Farewells: A Reporter's Journey from Refugee Camp to the Arab Spring (Hardcover)
Nahlah Ayed is a Canadian, of Palestinian ethnicity. She begins the book with her early, comfortable life in Canada and then details her traumatizing move to a refugee camp in Jordan when she was a child. Her family lived in Jordan for seven long unhappy years before they returned to the security and safety of Canada. Nahlah became a TV journalist. With her fluency in Arabic, it was natural for her to cover the Middle East. She recalls various conflicts she saw, in which she was sometimes an accidental participant, with the cool eye of the professional. With her unusual background and understanding, she writes not just of the problems and overall disfunction of the region, be it Beirut or Baghdad, but captures the age old sadness. The dictators and autocratic monarchs have kept the people enslaved and finally, in the age of social media, they are beginning to rebel. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thousand Farewells, Sept. 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Farewells: A Reporter's Journey from Refugee Camp to the Arab Spring (Hardcover)
A well-written, honest description of the key issues in the Middle East, and of the difficulties journalists face in covering the region. Ayed is a fine reporter, and as her book shows, a conscientious, decent human being. I've reported from the region myself, and her work is bang-on. Shukraan, Nahlah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening ., Feb. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Farewells: A Reporter's Journey from Refugee Camp to the Arab Spring (Hardcover)
After seeing Nahlah on the CBC evening news so many times over the years reporting on stories in the middle east , hearing she
had written a book about her life i knew i would have to read it . I come from a " wasp " background ( white anglo saxon / protestant ) and Nahlah --Arab / Palestinian , you couldn't get 2 more different people if you tried . Yet i could easily relate to some of her feelings in her book which i found to be open , raw & honest and caused in me deep emotional reactions and new understanding
of just how difficult life in some countries really is , and just how truly fortunate i am to be where i am .
Thank you Nahlah * a thousand times * for sharing your life with us ( the world ) , i'm sure this couldn't have been easy to write for you .
Yes i would recommend this to friend-s- and already have .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thousand farewells: a reporters journey from refugee camp to, March 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Farewells: A Reporter's Journey from Refugee Camp to the Arab Spring (Hardcover)
Her honsety about her early life- about being taken back to Jordan having already settled in Canada makes this a moving story. I do have some issues with her "jumping" around and wondering what happened just prior to the events being described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Thousand Farewells, Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a first-hand account of the unsettling period in the Middle East vividly described by Nahlah Ayed, a CBC foreign correspondent. She witnessed the oppression and loss sufferred by ordinary Arabs from 1976 to the Arab Spring uprisings in Egypt and Libya in 2012. This records another step in the ongoing evolution of the human race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars aniversary present, Feb. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Farewells: A Reporter's Journey from Refugee Camp to the Arab Spring (Hardcover)
I plan to give this book to my husband as a present for our upcoming wedding anniversary. It arrived safely wrapped in a timely fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Aug. 24 2014
By 
daisymae (Windsor, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Farewells: A Reporter's Journey from Refugee Camp to the Arab Spring (Hardcover)
Good book by an excellent reporter. Gives a good insight into today's problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Thousand Farewells: A Reporter's Journey from Refugee Camp to the Arab Spring
CDN$ 32.00 CDN$ 20.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews