Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down!
This is a frightening story of a man who would not stop at anything to harm the people in his life, especially women. I have read many real life murder stories and this one stands out for the lengths the criminal goes to destroy other peoples' lives, it is unbelievable to see how he manages to take advantage of very smart, successful above average women, he bends them to...
Published 4 months ago by Maria M Mckay

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where did Neverland say she "deserved" what she got!
It is stated accurately that it is hard to feel real sorry for her, and that she(Cheryl) is not "innocent"! What she did to her sorority sister was absolutely horrid in it's own right! (not murder, but absolutely horrible!) She obviosly "new" the kind of man Brad was by this point(Brilliant lawyer remember!!) He's willing to fool around on his pregnant...
Published on Feb. 2 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down!, March 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a frightening story of a man who would not stop at anything to harm the people in his life, especially women. I have read many real life murder stories and this one stands out for the lengths the criminal goes to destroy other peoples' lives, it is unbelievable to see how he manages to take advantage of very smart, successful above average women, he bends them to do his will without them even knowing.

The way the story is told made it very difficult for me to put the book down, I even woke up in the middle of the night to read it. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT HAPPENS TO A DREAM DEFERRED?, Sept. 3 2000
By 
BeatleBangs1964 (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead By Sunset (Mass Market Paperback)
Brad Cunningham was truly a killer Casanova. Married several times and the father of several children, he finally got caught when he married Cheryl Keeton.
Brilliant and a successful lawyer, Cheryl was beguiled by the intelligent man of natual charm and quick wit. Three sons were born of their union, each one described as being highly intelligent like their mother.
Cheryl adored the boys and would do anything and everything for them. She also accepted Brad's older children wholeheartedly. Unfortuately for all, Cheryl's sons never really got to know this because she was killed when they were quite small.
Cheryl's dream of a happy life as Brad's wife ended with her death. Brad's dream of continuing to maintain a certain lifestyle at the expense of others would soon become a dream deferred.
Cocky and confident that he had pulled off the untraceable murder, Brad set to work finding yet another willing wife. That cockiness was to prove his undoing when he served as his own counsel during his 1994 trial.
Brad got what he deserved which is life behind bars. As for his hapless children and former wives, one can only hope and pray that their lives have worked out despite their many hardships caused by this killer Casanova.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where did Neverland say she "deserved" what she got!, Feb. 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead By Sunset (Mass Market Paperback)
It is stated accurately that it is hard to feel real sorry for her, and that she(Cheryl) is not "innocent"! What she did to her sorority sister was absolutely horrid in it's own right! (not murder, but absolutely horrible!) She obviosly "new" the kind of man Brad was by this point(Brilliant lawyer remember!!) He's willing to fool around on his pregnant wife, and she's married also! So Mrs Brilliant decides she wants out of her marriage to go to Mr. Charming (Apparently $ucce$$ful Brad) This is definitly the way brilliant , successful people handle their problems...yeah right! Do you really feel sorry for the Mr Macho that get's bit by a poisons snake that he was playing around with??? No! I do feel sorry for Dr. Gordon and feel she was rather heroic, the kids as always were the real victims as usual...but Cheryl...C'mon, didn't she trap herself in her own web? Neverland, happily married with kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review, Feb. 17 2007
Responding to the reviewer who said she doesn't know why Cheryl went to the gas station alone that night when she knew she was in danger, there can be only one answer: Her twisted, sociopathic monster "husband" threatened to kill her children if she didn't do just that. Cheryl was an intelligent woman who knew the danger she was in and whose only protection/recourse was the ominous letter she left before leaving that night. And what decent, loving mother wouldn't have risked her own safety for the safety, even the very lives, of her kids? Here, too, one sees that no matter what sins the mother may have been guilty of prior to her marriage to this murderer, she certainly knew what side she was on after looking true evil straight in the eye. And, no question, this good mother's compassion, courage and love were proven beyond a reasonable doubt by her final and incomprehesible sacrifice, all of which shine forever from the grave. Bradley Cunningham deserves never to go free and deserved the death penalty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dead By Susent: Perfect Husband, Perfect Killer? by Ann Rule, Feb. 1 2004
By A Customer
I found the book to be quite riveting but I also found the insane review -- below -- riveting. The Neverland reader feels that the non-innocent "babe" basically got what she deserved -- well, thank god we don't all live in Neverland!
Successful losers!, January 11, 2004
Reviewer: A reader from Neverland
I'm supposed to feel real sorry for a lady that stole her sorority sisters husband before they were married one year and the wife was pregnant!! Yeah, she's a real innocent babe! Most people that get treated for snake bites in the U.S. were fooling around with the snake to begin with...what did she expect! Ann Rule even attempts to justify her possible sleeping around because her husband was gone so often and she was so lonely and longing for closeness...yes, that's how "brilliant" people deal with marriage problems! --This text refers to the Mass Market Paperback edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Successful losers!, Jan. 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead By Sunset (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm supposed to feel real sorry for a lady that stole her sorority sisters husband before they were married one year and the wife was pregnant!! Yeah, she's a real innocent babe! Most people that get treated for snake bites in the U.S. were fooling around with the snake to begin with...what did she expect! Ann Rule even attempts to justify her possible sleeping around because her husband was gone so often and she was so lonely and longing for closeness...yes, that's how "brilliant" people deal with marriage problems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars TOOOOO CONFUSING, Oct. 21 2003
By 
M. Marino "EMS#1" (Mineola, new york United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead By Sunset (Mass Market Paperback)
this is my first Ann Rule book that i just got done reading..I dont know if it is just me but i had a hard time keeping up with the different wives and children..trying to remember all those names really made me nuts..i got into the first 50 pages but after that it got a little boring....i think she try to put tooo much info into this book...oh well....i will try to read another book of hers and see what happens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Evil, July 15 2003
By 
This review is from: Dead By Sunset (Mass Market Paperback)
Bradley Cunningham was pure evil! He should have gotten the death penalty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, to be able to STRANGLE Bradley Cunningham, Feb. 1 2003
By 
Terry M. Callen (Gloucester City, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead By Sunset (Mass Market Paperback)
First of all, what did women SEE in him? His last two wives, Cheryl (who he cold-bloodedly murdered) and Sara were successful career women: an attorney and a physician, respectively. My daughter refers to him as "Pumpkin Head." There is nothing even remotely handsome about him. Ecccch!
That said, I would like to say he is a sexist jackass who deserves everything he gets. I really, truly hope he gets "Dahmered" in prison before his (undeserved) new trial. This is an evil, evil person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ..and if you think your man is no good, read this!, Sept. 7 2002
By 
lazza (Fort Lauderdale, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead By Sunset (Mass Market Paperback)
Ann Rule, the American true crime diva, has published plenty of books over the past 20+ years. Unfortunately the quality of this material has varied, largely depending on the personal (emotional) interest she has on the subject matter. Fortunately in Dead by Sunset, a story about a handsome and charming monster named Brad Cunningham, the author is clearly caught up in all aspects of a horrific crime (a wife/mother/attorney is bashed to a pulp). She in fact dedicates the book to the victim and all abused women.
Dead by Sunset's strengths are not in the unravelling of the crime (..we know early on who does it) or in the analysis of the criminal trials (..actually this is the weak part of the book). It is Ann Rule's in-depth analysis of the women who completely fall for an intelligent, sex-on-legs Romeo who really seems to hate women. Brad Cunningham is truly a vile person. But upon reading the book one has to wonder how is that several wives and mistresses could be fooled into loving him? Ann Rule never attempts at answering this question. Yet we certainly see the repurcussions of loving Mr Wrong.
Bottom line: while the momentum sputters slightly towards the end, one has to be impressed with Ann Rule's attention to detail and writing talents. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead By Sunset
Dead By Sunset by Ann Rule (Mass Market Paperback - April 1 1996)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews