Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Plum redeemed
After being so disappointed with the first book of the Stephanie Plum series, I thought it unlikely that I'd try a second book. I'm glad I did. The first book was just irritating, but Ms. Plum is redeemed by the second.
The plot moooooves. It's funny in the right places. The jeopardy is always present, always real. We know, of course, that somehow Plum will get...
Published on June 16 2004 by Roger Long

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Two for the Dough
Two for the Dough is the second installment in the Stephanie Plum series. This book is once again set in the burg of Trenton, NJ. This time around Stephanie is chasing bail jumper Kenny Mancuso (who is also Joe Morelli's distant cousin). In what should be an easy catch and easy money for Stephanie turns into three hundred pages of comedy, mystery, and lust.
Two...
Published on Sept. 16 2003 by K. Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Plum redeemed, June 16 2004
By 
Roger Long "longrush" (Port Clinton, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
After being so disappointed with the first book of the Stephanie Plum series, I thought it unlikely that I'd try a second book. I'm glad I did. The first book was just irritating, but Ms. Plum is redeemed by the second.
The plot moooooves. It's funny in the right places. The jeopardy is always present, always real. We know, of course, that somehow Plum will get Mancuso, bad as he is, but no matter. That is a flaw of all series crime novels: the reader knows the hero will prevail. Otherwise, there wouldn't be a next book.
But the plot isn't what fascinated me here. It was the atmosphere. It was the cast of characters. Trenton, NJ is not exactly a tourist Mecca, and the author doesn't try to burnish the city's reputation. It's cold. It's dirty. It's dangerous. A good portion of the book takes place in sundry funeral parlors, not exactly places we like to visit in the best of cities. But the author makes it real--I almost wrote "come alive," but that would be tacky. As for characters, they are all good, from Plum to her grandmother. While the reader probably wouldn't care to socialize with most of those who populate this tale, it is undeniable that they are realistic. Characters and atmosphere: they are what make or break any work of fiction, and they certainly make this an enjoyable turn.
I look forward to catching up with book three, if only to follow the further saga of Plum's Grandma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wise, witty, and oh-so New Joisey!, June 7 2004
By 
Jenny Hanniver "medieval_student" (Philadelphia, PA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
Everyone loves Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum mysteries, but for one like me who's lived in New Joisey, both north and south, and actually WORKED in Trenton (no kidding, there are a few jobs), these books have me collapsing in hysterical laughter. New Jersey really is like this, with all the endearing and irritating ethnic barbie-babbitry and hypocrisy Evanovich so beautifully evokes. (I note she lives out of state these days. So do I.)
If I had to rate the series, I'd choose this one as best or perhaps second-best, so far, although all are superb. Lula and Grandma Mazur, two of Evanovich's best characters, really come alive in this one. Stephanie is still Everywoman in La-La Land while Joe sizzles, Ranger looms dangerously, Stephanie's father and mother remain completely and hilariously in character, Spiro is nicely smarmy, and Mancuso is a REALLY BAD GUY. Highly recommended!
Stephanie reminds me of another bewildered and exploited tracer of lost persons who also possesses a wisecracking mouth, a convoluted love life, and an eccentric and hilarious family, who makes dead-on observations and is so much "at home" in the 'hood that the narrative gives us a complete sense of belonging -- namely, Marcus Didius Falco in Lindsey Davis's fabulous Roman series. And folks, that's high praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Even more funny than One...., April 26 2004
By 
Cynthia K. Robertson (beverly, new jersey USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
If you thought that Janet Evanovich's One for the Money was hysterical, Two for the Dough will have you in stitches! We get to learn a bit more about bounty hunter, Stephanie Plum. In trying to capture Kenny Mancuso while trying to track down a truckload of stolen caskets, Stephanie stumbles onto something much more serious and even life threatening. Many scenes take place in a funeral home in Trenton, and the antics of Grandma Mazur will have you wetting your pants. No corpse is safe when she's around!
Many of the regular characters become more fleshed out including Vinnie, Connie, Ranger, and especially heartthrob cop Joe Morelli. The best character in the bunch is Lula-a prostitute introduced in book one who now wants to join Stephanie as a bounty hunter. Think 200+ pound African American in spandex miniskirts. The two of them working together is a blast. Stephanie is also becoming a little more savvy in her job and now sports a stun-gun. But she still has much to learn, which makes the story funny and maybe a little more realistic (no James Bond-types to be found here).
I read the book first, and then listened to the audio version. One thing that is really annoying with many audio books (this one included) is that so many of the readers mispronounce so many words-especially names of places. Also, this book was only made available in the abridged version. But even so, Evanovich will have you coming back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Response to Literature, April 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
Stephanie Plum is on the move again in Two for the Dough by Janet Evanovich. When she finds out she has to bring on a dangerous criminal who as just killed his best friend after shooting him in the knee with a powerful gun. When Stephanie found out who she was dealing with she new she would have to contact Morelli because Morelli was related to Kenny, the murderer. Kenny was well known for his illegal actions. This was another way fro Stephanie to make money for bringing Kenny in.
When Stephanie is on the case she meets Kenny's girlfriend named Julia who is denying his man slaughter. Julia is telling Kenny about Stephanie looking for him and how she is going to take him to jail. The part that confused me the most is when the truck had been robbed and Stephanie and Morelli where changing names left and right. I couldn't understand who they were talking about. They were saying that Kenny had killed so many different people that I didn't know who Kenny really murdered." There were two homicide detectives o the scene" (Evanovich 15). I could not tell if the detectives had killed the victim or if it was Moogey. What Stephanie did not know was that Morelli was related to Kenney until she went with Joe to the Morelli house hold when Joe found out that Leo, Joe's cousin's car was stolen by Kenney.
Leo and Kenney were close cousins who were there for one another. Well now Leo can not stand Kenney after he stole his car and now Leo might have to show up in court for the two victims that were killed. And now Joe and Stephanie have to make sure that they find Kenney and they have to find Kenney before Leo does. If Leo finds Kenney before Joe and Stephanie does then Kenney could be in some serious trouble.
Now it has been a couple of weeks since they have been looking for Kenney and when Joe and Stephanie hear that there has been some weapons for the army stolen they new that it was Kenney because he had just got out of the army and was a good soldier. Then as Stephanie hears how her Grandma has been abused by someone and she has been cut on her hand very bad Stephanie had to check it out. When she got to the hospital her Grandma told her that it was Kenney and how he was after her next. Well now Stephanie was scared and she decided to move in her parents again because she does not want another Ramirez on her case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She's Baaaaaack! And Packing!, April 12 2004
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
Again, another winner in the Plum series. The second book and not the least lesser than the first. This baby packs punch and Stephanie means business. More trash-talking and pistol-packing and action to make us smile and Grandma Mazur thrown in for good measure.

This time Stephanie has got a stun gun, defense sprays, and a .38 Smith & Wesson, plus her ever handy 'huge' bag of goodies...with the gum at the bottom and maybe a tampon or two...you know, for emergencies...lol.
Deciding this bounty hunter business wasn't all the bad and paid pretty good, she embarks on another job, this time to catch none other than Joe Morelli's questionable cousin Kenny Mancuso. Fresh out of the Army and suspiciously wealthy beyond the norm, Kenny is on the run after shooting his former best friend at a gas station.
Joe, a vice cop and former bounty hunted from the first book is now helping Stephanie catch the 'bad guys'. He's got some...shall we say 'questionable' ethics and some problem with his ego and not to mention his 'grabby' hands, but she needs him. He's also got this nasty habit of following her around nonstop and horning in on her investigations.
With some extra help from gorgeous Joe and hot as sin Ranger, also a bounty hunter, Stephanie is on the trail of the shooter but finds herself walking into a strange web of lies and a tale far more frightening than she imagined. Grandma Mazur ready and willing to help her granddaughter and funeral happy, thinks she too is a bounty hunter. But as the corpses start to build, Stephanie and Grandma have stirred a nasty and vicious enemy they cannot afford to make.
Alas Stephanie must trust Joe again and let him help...

Tracy Talley~@
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funeral homes never sounded like so much fun, Dec 13 2003
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
Janet Evanovich knows how to write. You probably wonder why I need to put that? Well, it's because the Stephanie Plum series is so addictive. You pick up one and devour it and are on to the next one. Before long you are complaining about the fact that the newest installment isn't out yet and you are preordering 6 months in advance just in hopes you'll get it quicker.
This book is book 2 in the series of course and it's a wild ride. Stephanie is not only looking for Kenny Mancuso(nut job #1), but ends up being babysitter/guard to Spiro Stepson of Grandma Mazur's favorite mortician at Stiva's Funeral Home. That alone should tell you, you are in for laughs.
Add in the hormones gone haywire while Stephanie is in the vicinity of Joe Morelli and the tactful way she always deals with him and you are ready for a fun time.
These books keep me coming back for more. Janet makes the characters come to life. You are either laughing your head off or women are swooning over the two men in Stephanies life Joe Morelli and Ranger aka Ricardo Carlos Manoso.
Grab your kit kats and tasty cakes to settle in for a fun ride you'll want to share with family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Way to go for TWO FOR THE DOUGH!, Nov. 16 2003
By 
Ratmammy "The Ratmammy" (Ratmammy's Town, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
TWO FOR THE DOUGH by Janet Evanovich
Stephanie Plum deals with dead bodies and mortuaries in TWO FOR THE DOUGH, the second book in the series created by Janet Evanovich. In this sequel to ONE FOR THE MONEY, Stephanie cruises the town of Trenton with Grandmother Mazur in tow, as she seeks out the mortuaries all over town in search of clues to missing person Kenny Mancuso, who is accused of having shot a gas attendant in the knees.
Kenny is Stephanie's latest missing person in her new job as bounty hunter. Kenny also happens to be a distant cousin of Joe Morelli, a vice cop that Stephanie has known "intimately" since childhood, and who creates all sorts of conflicting feelings within her. As in the first book, Morelli helps Stephanie through this case. In this sequel, however, Grandmother Mazur comes along for the ride, Stephanie's mother tries to set her up with Spiro the mortician, and at one point her mother thinks that Morelli is Stephanie's boyfriend.
I'm really enjoying these books by Janet Evanovich. These are beach reads, not meant for serious reading. I find myself chuckling as I read these books, following the crazy antics of Stephanie Plum as she tries her best to retrieve these missing criminals. Her fear of guns always comes into play, and this time around Grandmother Mazur plays a big role as her sidekick. (Grandmother Mazur is not afraid to use her gun)!
I give this book another big recommendation. Expect nothing more than a few laughs and fun times, and you'll want to read the rest of the series. For those looking for more seriously written legal thrillers, stick with Grisham and Patterson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie collects body parts, Sept. 25 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
Author Janet Evanovich has made the protagonist of her Stephanie Plum series one of the most endearing fictional characters I've come across. Should Hollywood make any of the books into a film, the lead role is made for Sandra Bullock.
In TWO FOR THE DOUGH, novice bounty hunter Stephanie is on the hunt for Kenny Mancuso, who's jumped bail after being charged with shooting a service station attendant in the knee. As the plot unfolds, Plum becomes involved in the investigation of a weapons theft from an Army arsenal, and is mailed various body parts carved from corpses on slabs at a local mortuary. All to the continuing discomfiture of her family, who just wants her to find a nice man and get married. Or at least a job that pays steady.
Admittedly, the plots of the Plum novels are rudimentary. Almost amateurish even. But they serve as the skeleton structures upon which Evanovich constructs the superbly hilarious misadventures of her klutzy heroine. Not since Sophie Kinsella's Shopaholic series with Becky Bloomwood have I been so amused.
A major attraction of the series is the cast of ongoing, supporting characters. Foremost is Joe Morelli, a plain-clothes cop on the Trenton (NJ) PD, and Plum's reluctant ally in her pursuit of the bad guys. Joe and Stephanie would be lovers except that she finds him so infuriating, and the fact that she manages to trash Joe's cars. Another is her maternal grandmother, Grandma Mazur, a feisty old lady who see's herself as Clint Eastwood and her granddaughter's sometimes partner. In that hypothetical film of Stephanie's exploits, Mazur would be played by Dorothy's Mom in TV's GOLDEN GIRLS, Sophia.
The first book in the series having established what is apparently a pattern, I expect Stephanie to experience continuing car problems and ridiculous predicaments. In this second volume, Plum's Jeep is stolen, and she inherits the use of a powder blue, 1953 Buick in mint condition - a veritable tank with which she proceeds to wreak destruction on cars around her. And whereas in the first installment she's handcuffed naked to her own shower curtain rod by her quarry, in TWO FOR THE DOUGH she collapses a rickety fire escape, plunging butt-first into a pile of dog poop. According to the helpful Joe, a very large and sick dog.
Stephanie has a pet hamster named Rex, stores her .38 in a cookie jar, and, during extended surveillances, takes pottie breaks at M&D's. She obsesses about her weight, but Kit-Kat bars are de rigueur munchies for stakeout duty. During stressful moments, her mind can wander to consideration of a sexy pair of purple pumps, and the necessary additions to her wardrobe that such would require. How can you not love this woman? I've taken the plunge and put the next six episodes on my Wish List.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Second Plum is All the Sweeter, Sept. 24 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Arlington, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
This second novel in the Stephanie Plum series (the first being "One for the Money") starts out pretty much where the first left off. Our heroine, Stephanie, a ballsy but very inexperienced bond collector has been assigned what should be a simple case: Kenny Mancuso has skipped bail after blowing the kneecaps off his old friend Moogey Bues; get him back to jail. Unfortunately not only does Kenny not want to be found, it appears he is pyschotic and involved in a very deadly trade.
The villain of the first novel, Joe Morelli, who deflowered Stephanie in her teens and who she helped show was innocent in "One for the Money" is assigned to this case - though as a vice squad officer it's not clear why, and Morelli isn't helping. This partnership is flaky at best - with Morelli constantly trying to get into Plum's heart (a.k.a. her pants!), this time by playing nice with Mom, things are going to get out of hand. In one of the funniest episodes in the book Stephanie leaves Morelli just wearing his underwear in the middle of the road; she thinks better of this and goes back to give him his gun!
One of the biggest delights in this book is the development of Grandma Mazur who is the one member of her family who supports Stephanie in her job. Grandma Mazur is a cross between Dirty Harry and Sophia from The Golden Girls. One of her favorite activities are the public viewings at the funeral homes which is very handy since it seems that Kenny Mancuso has had shady dealings with a mortician, Spiro Stiva. Grandma is a bit accident prone - something that both helps Stephanie out, unexpectedly, and provides great comedy.
Stephanie is still learning her trade - "by making mistakes" she tells us. In this second book she is starting to get the hang of things but is still lucking out more often than not. I look forward to seeing how her character develops through the Plum novels. I think this novel would be a good enough introduction to Stephanie Plum but I would recommend reading the first novel if you haven't already done so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Two for the Dough, Sept. 16 2003
By 
K. Morgan (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
Two for the Dough is the second installment in the Stephanie Plum series. This book is once again set in the burg of Trenton, NJ. This time around Stephanie is chasing bail jumper Kenny Mancuso (who is also Joe Morelli's distant cousin). In what should be an easy catch and easy money for Stephanie turns into three hundred pages of comedy, mystery, and lust.
Two for the Dough is pretty much the same as One for the Money. Stephanie is lusting after Joe Morelli in a love/hate relationship. They are partners in trying to find the bad guy while still not trusting each other and working against the other. Ranger, the likeable bounty hunter from the first Plum novel makes brief appearances in this book. Grandma Mazur is getting herself into all sorts of mischief, which makes the book good to read. It is so fun to read about her and the trouble she can get herself and Stephanie into. This book also has Lula from the first novel in it. She is back and has changed for the better. There are of course new characters to this book. There is Spiro Stiva, the mortician; Moogey Bues, the mechanic; and of course the most evil of characters Kenny Mancuso--weapons smuggler, and possible murderer.
Two for the Dough is a light, entertaining read. The language is very crude at times as is the humor. This is a book about your not-everday bounty hunter and family and friends/foes. Stephanie gets herself into scrapes that are pretty much along the lines of the first Plum book. I gave this book three stars because it didn't seem to have much originality other than the missing weapons storyline. This book just seemed like more of what was already in the first book. I am planning on reading all of the books in this series and hoping that they aren't all the same! This is an OK read for a rainy day or if you need a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two for the Dough
Two for the Dough by Janet Evanovich (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 30 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews