Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read
I originally read the first book in the Stephanie Plum series because it was a Christmas gift and love the book so much I needed to get this, the second of the series. This book was so good, a definite page turner and when I was finished it left me feeling like I couldn't start the third fast enough. Janet Evanovich is a writer who grabs your attention immediately and...
Published 23 months ago by Alyssa

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Two for the Dough
Two for the Dough is the second installment in the Stephanie Plum series. This book is once again set in the burg of Trenton, NJ. This time around Stephanie is chasing bail jumper Kenny Mancuso (who is also Joe Morelli's distant cousin). In what should be an easy catch and easy money for Stephanie turns into three hundred pages of comedy, mystery, and lust.
Two...
Published on Sept. 16 2003 by K. Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, May 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I originally read the first book in the Stephanie Plum series because it was a Christmas gift and love the book so much I needed to get this, the second of the series. This book was so good, a definite page turner and when I was finished it left me feeling like I couldn't start the third fast enough. Janet Evanovich is a writer who grabs your attention immediately and before you know it you on the last page wishing for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, Aug. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Always that sexy, funny, thrilling suspence!
I laugh from beginning to end!
Can't wait to read the other ones and I am wondering why this is not already a TV serie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series!!, April 17 2011
By 
Christiana Vanier "hot to trot" (Calgary, AB, CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is such a great series!! First Janet Evanovich books I've read and I am thoroughly enjoying; have purchased all up to #16 as well as the between-the-numbers novels. Highly recommend for a light, funny read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plum redeemed, June 16 2004
By 
Roger Long "longrush" (Port Clinton, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
After being so disappointed with the first book of the Stephanie Plum series, I thought it unlikely that I'd try a second book. I'm glad I did. The first book was just irritating, but Ms. Plum is redeemed by the second.
The plot moooooves. It's funny in the right places. The jeopardy is always present, always real. We know, of course, that somehow Plum will get Mancuso, bad as he is, but no matter. That is a flaw of all series crime novels: the reader knows the hero will prevail. Otherwise, there wouldn't be a next book.
But the plot isn't what fascinated me here. It was the atmosphere. It was the cast of characters. Trenton, NJ is not exactly a tourist Mecca, and the author doesn't try to burnish the city's reputation. It's cold. It's dirty. It's dangerous. A good portion of the book takes place in sundry funeral parlors, not exactly places we like to visit in the best of cities. But the author makes it real--I almost wrote "come alive," but that would be tacky. As for characters, they are all good, from Plum to her grandmother. While the reader probably wouldn't care to socialize with most of those who populate this tale, it is undeniable that they are realistic. Characters and atmosphere: they are what make or break any work of fiction, and they certainly make this an enjoyable turn.
I look forward to catching up with book three, if only to follow the further saga of Plum's Grandma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wise, witty, and oh-so New Joisey!, June 7 2004
By 
Jenny Hanniver "medieval_student" (Philadelphia, PA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
Everyone loves Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum mysteries, but for one like me who's lived in New Joisey, both north and south, and actually WORKED in Trenton (no kidding, there are a few jobs), these books have me collapsing in hysterical laughter. New Jersey really is like this, with all the endearing and irritating ethnic barbie-babbitry and hypocrisy Evanovich so beautifully evokes. (I note she lives out of state these days. So do I.)
If I had to rate the series, I'd choose this one as best or perhaps second-best, so far, although all are superb. Lula and Grandma Mazur, two of Evanovich's best characters, really come alive in this one. Stephanie is still Everywoman in La-La Land while Joe sizzles, Ranger looms dangerously, Stephanie's father and mother remain completely and hilariously in character, Spiro is nicely smarmy, and Mancuso is a REALLY BAD GUY. Highly recommended!
Stephanie reminds me of another bewildered and exploited tracer of lost persons who also possesses a wisecracking mouth, a convoluted love life, and an eccentric and hilarious family, who makes dead-on observations and is so much "at home" in the 'hood that the narrative gives us a complete sense of belonging -- namely, Marcus Didius Falco in Lindsey Davis's fabulous Roman series. And folks, that's high praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great author, great visualization and a great read!, May 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Audio Cassette)
My first of future books I read from Evanovitch. I was quite thrilled and now eager to read more of this woman's sense of humour.
Absolutely a smashing read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Even more funny than One...., April 26 2004
By 
Cynthia K. Robertson (beverly, new jersey USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
If you thought that Janet Evanovich's One for the Money was hysterical, Two for the Dough will have you in stitches! We get to learn a bit more about bounty hunter, Stephanie Plum. In trying to capture Kenny Mancuso while trying to track down a truckload of stolen caskets, Stephanie stumbles onto something much more serious and even life threatening. Many scenes take place in a funeral home in Trenton, and the antics of Grandma Mazur will have you wetting your pants. No corpse is safe when she's around!
Many of the regular characters become more fleshed out including Vinnie, Connie, Ranger, and especially heartthrob cop Joe Morelli. The best character in the bunch is Lula-a prostitute introduced in book one who now wants to join Stephanie as a bounty hunter. Think 200+ pound African American in spandex miniskirts. The two of them working together is a blast. Stephanie is also becoming a little more savvy in her job and now sports a stun-gun. But she still has much to learn, which makes the story funny and maybe a little more realistic (no James Bond-types to be found here).
I read the book first, and then listened to the audio version. One thing that is really annoying with many audio books (this one included) is that so many of the readers mispronounce so many words-especially names of places. Also, this book was only made available in the abridged version. But even so, Evanovich will have you coming back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Response to Literature, April 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
Stephanie Plum is on the move again in Two for the Dough by Janet Evanovich. When she finds out she has to bring on a dangerous criminal who as just killed his best friend after shooting him in the knee with a powerful gun. When Stephanie found out who she was dealing with she new she would have to contact Morelli because Morelli was related to Kenny, the murderer. Kenny was well known for his illegal actions. This was another way fro Stephanie to make money for bringing Kenny in.
When Stephanie is on the case she meets Kenny's girlfriend named Julia who is denying his man slaughter. Julia is telling Kenny about Stephanie looking for him and how she is going to take him to jail. The part that confused me the most is when the truck had been robbed and Stephanie and Morelli where changing names left and right. I couldn't understand who they were talking about. They were saying that Kenny had killed so many different people that I didn't know who Kenny really murdered." There were two homicide detectives o the scene" (Evanovich 15). I could not tell if the detectives had killed the victim or if it was Moogey. What Stephanie did not know was that Morelli was related to Kenney until she went with Joe to the Morelli house hold when Joe found out that Leo, Joe's cousin's car was stolen by Kenney.
Leo and Kenney were close cousins who were there for one another. Well now Leo can not stand Kenney after he stole his car and now Leo might have to show up in court for the two victims that were killed. And now Joe and Stephanie have to make sure that they find Kenney and they have to find Kenney before Leo does. If Leo finds Kenney before Joe and Stephanie does then Kenney could be in some serious trouble.
Now it has been a couple of weeks since they have been looking for Kenney and when Joe and Stephanie hear that there has been some weapons for the army stolen they new that it was Kenney because he had just got out of the army and was a good soldier. Then as Stephanie hears how her Grandma has been abused by someone and she has been cut on her hand very bad Stephanie had to check it out. When she got to the hospital her Grandma told her that it was Kenney and how he was after her next. Well now Stephanie was scared and she decided to move in her parents again because she does not want another Ramirez on her case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner, April 14 2004
By 
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
Loved the first one a lot. In fact I laughed out loud several times, something that a book can rarely invoke. The story is an easy read but the circumstances, the family, Grandma and Joe all combine for a real pleasure. I will say this with every book review by this author: Why hasn't Hollywood pick up on this new heroine? You have to wonder why some of the film selecters are still being paid seven figures to bring us forgettable films that lose money on a regular basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She's Baaaaaack! And Packing!, April 12 2004
This review is from: Two for the Dough (Mass Market Paperback)
Again, another winner in the Plum series. The second book and not the least lesser than the first. This baby packs punch and Stephanie means business. More trash-talking and pistol-packing and action to make us smile and Grandma Mazur thrown in for good measure.

This time Stephanie has got a stun gun, defense sprays, and a .38 Smith & Wesson, plus her ever handy 'huge' bag of goodies...with the gum at the bottom and maybe a tampon or two...you know, for emergencies...lol.
Deciding this bounty hunter business wasn't all the bad and paid pretty good, she embarks on another job, this time to catch none other than Joe Morelli's questionable cousin Kenny Mancuso. Fresh out of the Army and suspiciously wealthy beyond the norm, Kenny is on the run after shooting his former best friend at a gas station.
Joe, a vice cop and former bounty hunted from the first book is now helping Stephanie catch the 'bad guys'. He's got some...shall we say 'questionable' ethics and some problem with his ego and not to mention his 'grabby' hands, but she needs him. He's also got this nasty habit of following her around nonstop and horning in on her investigations.
With some extra help from gorgeous Joe and hot as sin Ranger, also a bounty hunter, Stephanie is on the trail of the shooter but finds herself walking into a strange web of lies and a tale far more frightening than she imagined. Grandma Mazur ready and willing to help her granddaughter and funeral happy, thinks she too is a bounty hunter. But as the corpses start to build, Stephanie and Grandma have stirred a nasty and vicious enemy they cannot afford to make.
Alas Stephanie must trust Joe again and let him help...

Tracy Talley~@
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2fa2ca8)

This product

Two for the Dough
Two for the Dough by Janet Evanovich (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 30 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews