Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical romance
In 1775 Boston, two individuals, unaware of one another, observe runaway Katie Armstrong pick the pocket of a British soldier. Dandy Ethan Harding thinks the thief is quite good at her trade. Amoral Viscount Lowden feels he can blackmail the robber into spying for him. Lowden learns that Katie is an indentured servant who spent time in Newgate. He provides Katie a...
Published on Feb. 21 2000 by Harriet Klausner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Romance Author Goes Formulaic....
Guhrke's work is getting steadily less original and decidedly more within the standard romance formula. As I got further and further into this novel, my interest kept waning because I felt I could exactly chart the course of events in the story: Hero spy and heroine counter spy, during American Revolution, work at cross purposes and then same purposes while they fall...
Published on June 10 2000 by carol irvin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical romance, Feb. 21 2000
By 
This review is from: The Charade (Mass Market Paperback)
In 1775 Boston, two individuals, unaware of one another, observe runaway Katie Armstrong pick the pocket of a British soldier. Dandy Ethan Harding thinks the thief is quite good at her trade. Amoral Viscount Lowden feels he can blackmail the robber into spying for him. Lowden learns that Katie is an indentured servant who spent time in Newgate. He provides Katie a choice of being returned to her vicious Virginia owner or learning the true identity of John Smith, master spy for the Sons of Liberty.

Through a perfectly done ploy, Katie works for a tavern owner where anti-British activity occurs even though John Smith objects. As Katie and John spend time together, they fall in love. She soon realizes that the dandy Ethan and her beloved John are the same person. She also cares for the friends and family of her kind employer. If she turns in John or his associates, Kate will have destroyed her heart. If she does not, she will be dead.

THE CHARADE is an exciting Revolutionary War romance filled with a taste of Boston on the final days before the fighting began. John-Ethan is an American Scarlet Pimpernel. Katie is an intriguing character who learns that reaching out and caring for others and being cared for by others are human needs. The support cast, including real historical figures, provides extra insight to the era. Laura Lee Guhrke triumphantly makes 1775 Boston seem vividly bustling with life and energy.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another Romance Author Goes Formulaic...., June 10 2000
This review is from: The Charade (Mass Market Paperback)
Guhrke's work is getting steadily less original and decidedly more within the standard romance formula. As I got further and further into this novel, my interest kept waning because I felt I could exactly chart the course of events in the story: Hero spy and heroine counter spy, during American Revolution, work at cross purposes and then same purposes while they fall in love. Guhrke's earlier work, especially CONOR'S WAY, and secondly, BREATHLESS, were a lot more original. Unfortunately, many romance readers buy the formula romance again and again without any boredom factor setting in to ruin it for them. I wish I were one of them but, alas, the formula is really grating upon me at this point. Guhrke's a good writer but needs a better mouse trap IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!, March 11 2000
This review is from: The Charade (Mass Market Paperback)
This was really a good book. One of those you just don't want to put down until it's finished! I thought Katie was a wonderful character, not too perfect or refined, but still capable of having a sensitive level. The attraction between her and "John" was marvelous. Seeing the transformation of Katie from a hardened street thief to someone who really cared about "John" was special. I liked the love scenes, very romantic but not overly graphic. (Some things are better left to the imagination.) And even though there was the fairly typical misunderstanding between the two lovers, they weren't kept apart for very long. I was happy about that. I'm now looking for other books by this author. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific find, July 16 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Charade (Mass Market Paperback)
I came across this book and decided to buy it. I loved the cover it looked like a nice summer read. I know this is a cliche but I couldn't put it down. Once I started it I was hooked. It was very quick getting into this book and I loved every page. The characters were fun and the story line was interesting. I read it in less than 48 hours that is how engrossed I was. I highly recommed it to anyone looking for something good to read. Very enjoyable.. like I said a perfect summer read. Enjoy! I can't wait until her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Reader From Gettysburg, Pennsylvania USA- 04/00, April 13 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Charade (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent! I had started sometime in the past summer with BREATHLESS, which I found humorous, but not interesting. I do not like contemporary romances, and being from the northeastern U.S., could not visualize the small town in which the athor wrote of. THE CHARADE, was a complete difference. I loved it because the characters show a strong inner-conflict, as well as outer. Very exciting! A MUST READ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm..., June 6 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Charade (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read several Guhrke novels, and I find her inconsistant. One book will be great. One will be so-so. This book just never captured my imagination the way I hoped it would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Charade
The Charade by Laura Lee Guhrke (Mass Market Paperback - March 1 2000)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews