Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Sulu, Chekov and Uhura Fans Rejoice!
Although I love Kirk, Spock and McCoy, it's nice to see Sulu, Chekov and Uhura get to play major roles in a story. This quality reminds me of another Trek Novel, Uhura's Song. I thoroughly enjoyed Rough Trails, L.A. Graf writes so vividly that you practically feel yourself choking on olivium dust right along with the characters! It would have been nice if Graf had...
Published on Nov. 9 2000 by Victoria Mcswain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story bad writing
I gotta admit the first chapter or so bored me to death. But the story gets really good. I love the actual story format, but I don't like the way the writer wrote the story. What really threw me off is you have to really pay attention to the book when reading it, not distractions, because you'll miss key parts. ITs alomst like the writer put in detail in a sentence that...
Published on Dec 30 2003 by visnovsky24


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Great story bad writing, Dec 30 2003
This review is from: Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I gotta admit the first chapter or so bored me to death. But the story gets really good. I love the actual story format, but I don't like the way the writer wrote the story. What really threw me off is you have to really pay attention to the book when reading it, not distractions, because you'll miss key parts. ITs alomst like the writer put in detail in a sentence that tells you why something happend, and it seems to be put in out of the blue. Also like Dian Carey, they start another scene/chapter expecting you to have followed along, just giving a little back story of what happend since the previous chapter, and that just sucks. Like one page they're in the air in a shuttle, and the beginning of the next chapter they're walking the ground and getting shot at, and not untill a page or so later does the author exaplin what happend. Other then that though the storyline was awesome really entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sulu, Chekov and Uhura Fans Rejoice!, Nov. 9 2000
By 
Victoria Mcswain "book worm" (Bryant, AR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Although I love Kirk, Spock and McCoy, it's nice to see Sulu, Chekov and Uhura get to play major roles in a story. This quality reminds me of another Trek Novel, Uhura's Song. I thoroughly enjoyed Rough Trails, L.A. Graf writes so vividly that you practically feel yourself choking on olivium dust right along with the characters! It would have been nice if Graf had played up the potential love interest for Chekov a bit more, but it was still a good story. I'm sure I'll enjoy reading it again someday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pseudo Trek, Aug. 19 2000
By 
This review is from: Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Poor story....poor character development. This reminds me of the Trek books 20 years ago that placed Star Trek characters in minor roles so the author could use his own created personas. Hated this book and the entire series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sci Fi authors might SEEM to live in the future..., Aug. 6 2000
By 
R. L. MILLER (FT LAUDERDALE FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
...but they really live in the present, and tend to imprint present-day issues on the time period they're writing about. This "New Earth" series is no exception--from the git-go, anti-government "individualists" have posed as much a problem to this new colony as "alien space invaders" or forces of nature. It's bad enough that in previous volumes they had to cross a battleground between two warring cultures on the way to the Promised Land, not to mention showing up just in time for a cataclysm right out of Niven's "Lucifer's Hammer"--now there are two groups from their own population who make war on the mainstream and each other--a survivalist group called the "Carsons" and a vigilante outfit called the "Peacemakers". One thing the three factions have in common--they can't ANY of 'em stand Starfleet! Remind you of anything you encounter on the Nightly News? One remark by a character is probably a bit of social commentary on the part of authors Graf and Carey--certain colonists who are resentful of the way the Federation "stifles" their freedom tend to forget that it also provides a safety net. If only we of the 21st Century could see beyond the ends of our own noses and realize that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written "minor" character story, July 21 2000
By 
Chuck Martin (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Rough Trails rebounds the New Earth series back into the running of quality Star Trek stories. Working through the trials of Uhura, Sulu, and especially Chekov--who *almost* gets a love interest--is especially rewarding as the characters work with their strengths and falter with their weaknesses in a plot with some well-thought-out twists and turns. In a way, it's just another story of human greed, where the perceptions of people are not always what they seem. But though the story itself is old (what story isn't?), this is a tale that will keep you turning pages (it did to me last night, as I read the last page, satisfied, at 2:30am). Who needs alien villians when humanity, even in the 23rd century, still has enough? Will human greed ever become sated? I have to say that I did not like the character Sedlak, who seemed totally out of place, merely a prop for the needs of the rest of the plot. Once out of the way, the story took interesting twists and turns, and right up until the end, you couldn't necesarily be sure who were the Good Guys and who were the Bad Guys. The last few pages took the book off on a totally unrelated tangent, seeming to set up potential plots for further down the series. Not only was this part out of place after what happened in this book, but characters explained potential causes, thereby ruining any future suspense. All in all, though, a well done story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Good Concept, needs better writers, July 19 2000
This review is from: Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
The New Earth Series was an awesome concept, but the implementation left something to be desired. I have dutifully slogged through the first 4 books of the series hoping they would improve...The characterization was good, but the plots were lame and the writing was horribly slow and pathetic. How many times do I need to be reminded what causes Gamma Night and how long the blackout lasts? Where in the series was it explained how the Kauld suddenly stopped being on the verge of death? AND...Oh my GOD, the world's in danger and we need to evacuate everybody...No, we can save the world, but we need every ship, so we won't have any ships to evacuate the planet. Tired. Get this one from the library, so you can return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Great Characterization, July 18 2000
This review is from: Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Finally, after a great many years, They are realeasing Star Trek Novels with good characterization that aren't all about Kirk. This book"s focus is on how Sulu, Chekov, and Uhurah deal with a hostile planet with no support from the Enterprise. While many of the elements in this book are similer to the other books written by L.A. Graf, This one fits in well with the mini-universe that is "New Earth".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rough Trails and rough reading, July 11 2000
By 
C. Daniel Lucas (Cary, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm not a big reader of Star Trek books and am not familiar with L.A. Graf, but Rough Trails was disappointing, at best. 1.) I'm just not really interested in Sulu, Chekov or Uhura. To me they are accessory players and character development of the three these long 360 pages was minimal. 2.) L.A. Graf seemed more interested in words and not the story. How many times did he/she describe olivium dust and olivium dust storms? How many times must we be reminded that the Star Trek crew is intrigued by a bullet-shooting rifle? I got it the first time...okay? 3.) The western theme was fun but compomised by the fact that it's been done before and the fact that L.A. Graf didn't use it to the extreme. If you're doing the stereotypical western, where were the big shoot-outs? stampedes? bar maids? gruff but honest sheriff? 4.) Gwen Thee was a pretty good character, and the fact that Chekov didn't bed down with her was fun. But, L.A. Graf should've had her die at the end. It could've added some dimension to Chekov and the actual ending (a cook-out? jeez...) would not have been so sappy. This book would've been great at 200 pages. I feel I read 160 pages of needless writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rough Trials, Rough Reading!, July 11 2000
This review is from: Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Rough Trials was... OKAY. Lets not give it too much credit though. One thing thats great about this particular book is that it finally gives the minor characters the spotlight and puts the dynamic trio, Kirk, Spock, McCoy, a back seat in this book. First Uhura finally gets to do more than sit in the back of the Bridge and repeat the computer. She has a large role in this book. Janice Rand is also out and about, tracking down the lost Enterprise Away Team. Checkov and Sulu are there too. Now what went wrong you may say? I didn't really get into the book until page 200. Its slow. Its grueling at the beginning and you say 'darn, you finally have a book where the meek inherit Belle Terre and its boring and slow at the beginning'. If the author put Janice Rand in this book, he should have also put Christine Chapel in it SOMEWHERE... Im sure if the Enterprise was going on some desperate misson 6 months away from the Federation that Doctor Chapel would come along too. The entire first half of the book is your classic Trek story: Shuttle crash and Checkov is lost, Sulu, Uhura, Rand, Scotty all search for him. Then Sulu AND Checkov are lost. Then the colonist take Scotty and Rand hostage when the flood of a centurey is about to happen. COME ON! Anyways, its okay as I said. I don't think you'll miss too much if you accidently skip this book and read the others which are more... interesting in my own opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable..Nice to see the secondary crew out, July 10 2000
This review is from: Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book focuses on the secondary crew..Scotty, Uhura, Sulu, Chekov, and gives all of them a nice chance to shine. The plot does seem recycled, but it's a nice diversion from the "got to save the planet" theme of the other two books. Now we just have to save a part...lol
I have to say...I'm really enjoying this new take from Pocket, instead of just a bunch of monthly books, an arch from each. Very nice. Keeps me coming back for more now rather than..nice..another Star Trek book. Good book start the series at Book 1 though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc056c768)

This product

Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3)
Rough Trails (Star Trek: New Earth, Book 3) by L.A. Graf (Mass Market Paperback - 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews